Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday October 24, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Paperwork] No trouble this time, man.

T.I. Review

Latest News Headlines
Lou Dog Named Assistant Director of NORML Los Angeles


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
 
LOU DOG FROM KOTTONMOUTH KINGS NAMED
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF NORML LOS ANGELES
 
Lou Dog, from Suburban Noize recording group the Kottonmouth Kings, has been named the new assistant director for the Los Angeles chapter of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML).
 
"I am proud of the appointment and I am prepared to continue lending my energy and resources towards the advancement of the cause," commented Lou Dog.
 
The Kottonmouth Kings have been on the frontlines fighting for the legalization of marijuana for over a decade. The group has been acknowledged for their never-ending commitment to spreading awareness and understanding about the plant, marijuana.
The group had previously helped organize a demonstration at the U.S. Federal Building, alongside other pro-cannabis organizations, to protest the federal prosecution of pot users under the federal Controlled Substances Act. The event attracted national media attention and challenged the Bush Administration’s “War on Drugs”.
 
The Kottonmouth Kings recently released their new album, “Hidden Stash 4:20”, through Suburban Noize Records. The group is embarking on a series of dates with 311 in November, before they hit the studio to record their upcoming new studio effort, “Long Live The Kings”.
 
Since being founded in 1970, NORML has provided a voice for those Americans who oppose marijuana prohibition and favor an end to the practice of arresting marijuana smokers. A nonprofit public-interest advocacy group, NORML represents the interests of the tens of millions of Americans who smoke marijuana responsibly. Today NORML continues to lead the fight to reform state and federal marijuana laws, whether by voter initiative or through the elected legislatures. NORML serves as an informational resource to the national media on marijuana-related stories, providing a perspective to offset the anti-marijuana propaganda from the government.
 
CATCH KOTTONMOUTH KINGS LIVE:
 
Nov 13 - Loveland, CO @ Budweiser Event Center w/ 311    
Nov 14 - Council Bluffs, IA @ Mid America Center w/ 311    
Nov 15 - Kansas City, MO @ Uptown Theater w/ 311    
Nov 17 - Des Moines, IA @ Val Air Ballroom
Nov 18 - Chicago, IL @ Aragon Ballroom w/ 311    
Nov 19 - Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore w/ 311
Persian Gulf HipHop Tour: DJ Skribble, Naughty by Nature & More


DJ Skribble, Naughty By Nature and The Wonder TwinZ are traveling to the Persian Gulf to perform for the U.S. Military Troops. We will be stationed on various U.S. Military bases across the Persian Gulf as we trek across the desert asking one simple question...

YOU DOWN WIT O.P.P.???

USO TOUR - PERSIAN GULF
NOV. 3 -- NOV. 10, 2009

 

ABOUT THE U.S.O.:

Since before the United States entered World War II, the USO (United Service Organizations) has been the bridge between the American public and the U.S. military. In times of peace and war, the USO has consistently delivered its special brand of comfort, morale and recreational services to the military. The USO, a congressionally chartered, private, nonprofit organization, relies on the generosity of individuals and corporations to support USO activities.

Today, the USO delivers its programs and services at more than 130 locations around the world. In recent years, the USO opened centers in Kuwait, Qatar and Afghanistan to support service members participating in Operations Enduring and Iraqi Freedom, as well as centers in Vicenza, Italy, and at the Dallas/Fort Worth, Raleigh/Durham and Denver International Airports.

Military personnel and family members visited USO centers more than 5.3 million times last year. Services include free Internet and e-mail access, libraries and reading rooms, housing assistance, family crisis counseling, support groups, game rooms and nursery facilities.

 

New Fashawn Live Performance, Tour Dates


Fashawn posted a new live performance of the Boy Meets World cuts “Intro” and “Freedom” on his YouTube channel.  The footage was taken from his album release show in hometown Fresno, California, and as you can see, the crowd was pumped to be celebrating the release of the up and comer’s Exile-produced Boy Meets World. 

 

Watch Fashawn perform “Intro + Freedom” from Boy Meets World Release Show:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XY4YS8T4Jxk

 

BUY Boy Meets World:

iTunes, Amazon, Rhapsody

 

Fashawn, not content to sit back and relax now that his album is out, will also be heading out on a West coast tour with Legendary Music’s The Grouch next month.  Check out the full schedule below.

 

Tour Dates:

Dec. 2, 2009 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

Dec. 3, 2009 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird

Dec. 4, 2009 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theater

Dec. 5, 2009 – Santa Fe, NM @ Fusion Nightclub

Dec. 6, 2009 – Scottsdale, AZ @ Chasers

Dec. 7, 2009 – San Diego, CA @ Belly Up

Dec. 8, 2009 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones

Dec. 9, 2009 – San Luis Opispo, CA @ Downtown Brew

Dec. 10, 2009 – San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s

Dec. 11, 2009 – San Jose, CA @ Avalon

Dec. 12, 2009 – Sacramento, CA @ Empire Events Center

Dec. 13, 2009 – Arcata, CA @ Humbrew

Dec. 14, 2009 – Eugene, OR @ WOW Hall

Dec. 15, 2009 – Portland, OR @ Backspace

Dec. 16, 2009 – Seattle, WA @ Nectar Lounge

Dec. 18, 2009 – Reno, NV @ The Underground

Dec. 19, 2009 – South Lake Tahoe @ Bar 24Online Contact:

For More Information:

http://www.myspace.com/fashawn

http://twitter.com/FaShaWn

Hip-Hop Supergroup Trinity Pays Tribute to DJ Roc Raida


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

MP3: Hip-Hop Super Group Trinity Pays Homage To DJ Roc Raida With New Single      11.03.2009
AG, Sadat X & DJ Jab Release First Single As Group, Album Dropping In 2010


For those wondering where hip-hop's next super group is, Trinity has come to quell all inquiries. The triumvirate consists of AG, Sadat X, and DJ Jab and delivering raw, uncut hip-hop is priority number one on their list. After making their first performance appearance as a group at the recent Audible Treats CMJ '09 Showcase, Trinity is gearing up for an album release in 2010 via Fat Beats Records. In the meantime, the trio has come together to release their first single ever as a group, and with that single they chose to pay homage to the late, great DJ Roc Raida with "Roc Raida Tribute."

The song is compromised of two different break beats, bringing forth classic hip-hop nostalgia fitting for one of the game's most respected DJ's ever. AG and Sadat X flow effortlessly over the golden age inspired beat and reminisce on Roc Raida and his unparalleled talents. Lines like, "And his name is Roc / International so his name won't stop, " and "They thought we had a bandstand and grand slam / Even Japan fans loved his hands" show the love that AG, Sadat X, and fans worldwide have for Roc Raida.

In a recent video all three members spoke about their personal relationship with Roc Raida and how the monumental DJ inspired them. AG had this to say about Roc's talent, "Roc Raida was our only DJ. And I say only because anytime we went on the road Roc was always our DJ. To see him eventually win the world championship, it's like damn I know him – my DJ is the best DJ in the world." Sadat spoke on how, besides all the accolades and respect, Roc was a humble man at the end of the day, "You wouldn't know he was so nice, he never blew his own horn... He never bragged about himself, just a very humble person, a family man... just a good dude."

Be on the lookout for more info on Trinity and their upcoming album being released in 2010 via Fat Beats Records.

"Roc Raida Tribute": http://media.audibletreats.com/Trinity-Roc_Raida_Tribute.mp3 .

Roc Raida conversation video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DU2ViMUoBcA .

The Background:

The group Trinity is comprised of emcees AG (Showbiz & AG), Sadat X (Brand Nubian) and DJ Jab (Fat Beats Records Owner). All three individuals have left their own imprint in the hip-hop world and by joining forces, Trinity is gearing up to bring forth the sounds of old and bring back the boom-bap hip-hop that is missing in today's musical landscape. AG is the emcee for the critically acclaimed underground group, Showbiz & AG hailing from the Bronx, NY. Sadat X is part of the famed alternative hip-hop group Brand Nubian and is well known for his politically charged lyrics and poignant delivery. DJ Jab aka Joseph Abajian is the owner of Fat Beats Records and is responsible for developing yesterday's and today's most well respected underground hip-hop artists. Together, Trinity is set to take the industry by storm and leave their mark in the game.

Like what you hear? Keep up with Trinity and other artists like Freddie Foxxx, Ill Bill, and Black Milk on the Fat Beats Blog where you can learn about upcoming performances, releases, and in-store appearances.

Also, check out this video on the history of Fat Beats Records, bringing you fresh, independent hip hop since 1994.

Streams:

"Roc Raida Tribute"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Trinity-Roc_Raida_Tribute.mp3 *

Roc Raida Conversation Video
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DU2ViMUoBcA *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/trinity *

MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/showandag *
* http://www.myspace.com/sadatx *
* http://www.myspace.com/fatbeatsrecords *

J-Zone Hangs w/ Senior Citizens, Shows Off Tape Collection


From J-Zone:

What it is. I know its been a minute with the entry updates, but with high school basketball season around the corner, I've been preoccupied with work. Posts will be more sporadic than in the summer, but I'll still pop up periodically over the winter months to talk bad about something (or celebrate something that the masses fail to see the genius of), because that's how a curmudgeon does.

Folks with short attention spans and Spot Book reading levels have been requesting some video footage instead of those long and boring articles I write that people skim through anyway. So I called up some people (shouts out to Richard Ross and Tzarizm) to film some silly shorts for the blog.

The first is a video interview I did with my Grandmother Evil E  (who has appeared on some of my album covers) for her 86th birthday. She offers some long life tips worth jotting down, unless you don't like Vaseline.

The second is a homage to my cassette tape collection, and why I won't be caught post mortem with an iPod...and damn sure not on an elliptical machine at the gym with one.

P.S. I don't care about baseball, but "Go Phillies". I know I'm from NY and all, but any team that has a pitcher with a jheri curl (Pedro Martinez) is one I will cheer for. Plus, what he did to Don Zimmer was incredible. Pedro Martinez is a model citizen, and the only person I follow or respect in baseball today. Go Phillies...

P.P.S...Re: The attached picture with my Grandmother...I tweaked my wrist messing with that damn bench press, FYI. Save the perverted jokes and the pimp slap references, please.

Enjoy

Jay

--
http://www.danteross.com/blogs/jzone
http://www.myspace.com/jzoneoldmaid

"Why do folks in the hood want credit for sh*t they're SUPPOSED to do? "Yo man, I pay my child support, I show up to work on time." You're supposed to, d*ck." - J-Zone

J-Zone at the Senior Center 

Neosonic Productions - The Scenic Route (Deluxe)


From K-Murdock:

Scenic Route DeluxeHere's #2 of the 3 repackaged deluxe editions of our prior albums.  This time, its arguably the album that really made people open their eyes and ears to what we do musically- "The Scenic Route", which went on to score "2007 Album of the Year" acclaim in the UK's biggest hip-hop magazine, "Hip-Hop Connection".

This deluxe edition features all the original vocal tracks as well as the instrumentals and some new artwork!

K
PURCHASE LINKS:


--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
Brand New Music From DJ Bless, Wordsmith & Jim Snooka


DJ Bless

(feat. Jim Snooka)

"Help"

Produced By DJ Bless

Preview // Download

 

DJ Bless

(feat. Wordsmith)

"Heavy Metal Mics"

Produced By DJ Bless

 

Preview // Download

Timbaland f/ Drake - Say Something (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Timbaland f/ Drake
Title: Say Something
Label: Blackground/Interscope Records
 
This is a rumored first single off "Shock Value 2," but about 15 different songs from this proposed album are floating around the internet right now so it's hard to say for sure. The one thing that makes this a realistic candidate is that Timbaland actually raps on it, otherwise it would make more sense for this one to be a Drake cutting room floor track. Drake steals the show at the end with his "I'm addicted to this life, it's hard to quit" steelo, but the track is surprisingly understated from the normally banging and cutting edge Timbaland.

Swollen Members f/ Talib Kweli - Cross Fire (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Swollen Members f/ Talib Kweli
Title: Cross Fire
Label: Suburban Noize
 
The best from Brooklyn meet the best from Vancouver? The only thing I can say is that it should have happened sooner. "Blacksmith, roll another blunt for these actors/Cause I'ma put the Fear in the Factor and clap ya!" Production by Metty the Dert Merchant and Rob the Viking is as gully as anything from previous SM records, and the only downside of this track is that it's only 2:44 long. As an introduction to Armed to the Teeth though it's ridiculously effective.

Hip-Hop Shop #54 - 6 New Tracks in Store


Hip-Hop Shop 54 has six new tracks in store including songs by Muneshine, Web and Termanology among others! If you would like to sponsor Hip-Hop Shop please send an e-mail to dj.flash@rapreviews.com for more information. Hip-Hop Shop features podsafe music, so distribute the show and tell your friends to check us out every week at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Muneshine f/ Dminor - Today's Special
* God-Des & She - Respect My Fresh
* Web - The Fly
* ProlifiCal f/ Big Pooh - Samurai Rhymes
* The Needle - Even Less Lows
* Termanology - Words I Feel
* Dan-e-o - Break it Down


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 21st, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out the 5 rappers to follow on Tumblr article, Akrobatik's "Built to Last," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #296, MarQ Spekt and Blockhead's "JustPlayWitIt," Saigon's "G.S.N.T.3. - The Troubled Times of Brian Carenard," Smoke DZA & 183rd's "Ringside EP," T.I.'s "Paperwork" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Hell Can Wait," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 14, 2014 and Ray West & O.C.'s "Ray's Cafe." Please note the Vince Staples review is the debut of new staffer Clara Wang. Big up Clara!!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: A-Hi - "Oh My". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive