Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday August 27, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Preparanoia] ALL CAPS when you spell the man's name.

LMNO Review

Latest News Headlines
Free Public Enemy MP3 From AstoundStereo 4D


GENAUDIO CHANGES THE WAY THE WORLD WILL LISTEN TO AUDIO WITH LAUNCH OF THE ASTOUNDSTEREO EXPANDER AT CES 2009

Company offers 10 Million free music downloads from emerging and platinum artists including Public Enemy processed with new AstoundStereo technology

GenAudio Inc., developer of AstoundSound™ 4D sound localization cue technology and finalist in the CES i-Stage competition, opened the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) 2009 by officially launching a consumer version of its AstoundStereo™ technology, the AstoundStereo Expander computer software, and announced the giveaway of 10 million free music downloads of various songs processed and re-mixed using GenAudio’s revolutionary professional audio software.  AstoundStereo can be experienced through as little as two audio channels, such as any headphones, home theater speakers or laptop speakers.

            The AstoundStereo Expander software processes audio files on the user’s desktop or laptop computer in real-time.  This enables the listener to hear their music, movies and video games in a new way, being completely immersed in the sound with elevation, intensive depth perception and widening of the stereo image, creating a four dimensional audio experience. Professional recording artists, record labels, video game development houses and major motion picture film studios have already embraced the technology.

Consumers who wish to experience digital audio in AstoundStereo, including movies, music and games, can now download a free 30-day trial of the new AstoundStereo Expander software for Mac or PC by logging onto www.astoundstereo.com . Consumers can then purchase the Expander for an introductory offer of $24.95.

            To demonstrate the capabilities of AstoundStereo technology, GenAudio has partnered with cutting edge artists Public Enemy and Kan’Nal as well as leading music download provider Hip Digital to give away 10 million free music downloads processed with AstoundStereo to provide a four-dimensional sound experience. These tracks and more are available from GenAudio at www.AstoundStereo.com/freetrack through March 5, 2009.

 “When people hear these songs, they will have a new appreciation for the way audio will be heard across the entire entertainment industry spectrum.” said Jerry Mahabub, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of GenAudio. “We are confident once people hear any of the free music tracks processed with AstoundStereo, they will want to apply this technology to their existing stereo audio content on their Mac or PC.  This will lead everyone to want AstoundStereo integrated into all of their audio devices, such as portable music players, DVD players, car stereos and many more.”

GenAudio and Universal Pictures recently partnered for the release of Hellboy II: The Golden Army for DVD and Blu-Ray™ Hi-Def, re-mastered for home theater.  The AstoundStereo technology was integrated into the 5.1 and 7.1 programming for both DVD and Blu-Ray Hi-Def releases enhancing the existing surround sound mixes. Reviews of the Hellboy II: The Golden Army DVD have described the film’s audio mix as masterful and deserving of the highest audio ratings. Most recently, GenAudio partnered with Lionsgate to bring the enhanced audio experience provided by AstoundStereo to the surround sound mix of the DVD and Blu-Ray Hi-Def versions of Bangkok Dangerous, released on January 6, 2009.  Both of these titles were re-mastered for home theater at MiCasa Multimedia.

About GenAudio

GenAudio, Inc. is headquartered in Englewood, CO.  GenAudio’s mission is to provide a true 4D sound solution for the entire entertainment industry — AstoundStereo, the next dimension in audio. AstoundStereo is a 4D software based sound solution that integrates seamlessly with consumer electronics and software applications, as well as provides professional audio production solutions through a minimum of two speakers or headphones. AstoundStereo is the most accurate and intense 4D sound localization cue technology available today.  The technology works with most consumers existing equipment and no special hardware or decoding devices are needed.

For more information visit: www.genaudioinc.com .
Havoc 'On a Mission' Featuring Prodigy


Courtesy of Koch Records.

HavocHavoc

"On A Mission" featuring Prodigy


Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/qtime/kochent/havoc/onamission.mov .

Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/wmedia/kochent/havoc/onamission.wvx .

Video for "Heart Of The Grind" off of the new album Hidden Files to be released on February 24th!

Directed by Clifton Bell & Firstborn.

* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PGxosZ6tFE *

Big B Debuts New Song "Criminals" Online


Press release from James at Kerosene Media.

For Immediate Release:
Big B Debuts New Song 'Criminals' Online

***
Skratch N Sniff Radio Offers Fans Chance To Win A Trip for Two To Las Vegas To Party With Big B, Carey Hart and Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo

Las Vegas heavyweight Big B has posted the new track “Criminals” online at www.myspace.com/HooliganBigB from his upcoming new album “American Underdog”, which is slated for release March 24th through Suburban Noize.

With his forth studio effort, "American Underdog", Big B has taken his sound ventured out on a musical expedition into uncharted territory. Working with the production team of J&A Productions (Dumbluck, OPM), Big B has elevated his sound to the next level by using his tested formula but also embracing the eclectic contemporary alt-rock of artists like Everlast and Citizen Cope. The album has already started to pick-up radio support with the lead single “Sinner” featuring Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo picking up early spins at KIWR in Omaha, KCXX in Riverside, WJRR in Orlando; WCCC and X107.5 XTreme Radio in Las Vegas amongst others.

"American Underdog" is the follow-up to “More To Hate”, which debuted at #17 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart and produced the surprise hit single “White Trash Life”. The song would go on to become one of the most requested tracks on Sirius Satellite Radio's FACTION and give Big B some of the biggest success of his career.

Big B has partnered with Skratch N Sniff Radio to offer fans a chance to win a trip for two to Las Vegas to attend an advance listening party of “American Underdog” alongside Hart & Huntington’s Carey Hart and Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo. For details please visit www.snsmix.com .

Big B will joining Kottonmouth Kings and La Coka Nostra on the Bring Tha Noize Tour alongside Blaze Ya’ Dead Homie and Potluck.

BIG B ON BRING THA NOIZE TOUR 2009:

Feb 25 Petaluma, CA @ Phoenix Theater
Feb 26 Chico, CA @ Senator Theatre
Feb 27 Portland, OR @ Roseland
Feb 28 Seattle, WA @ Showbox
Mar 01 Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory
Mar 03 Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Mar 04 Billings, MT @ Shrine Auditorium
Mar 05 Rapid City, SD @ Rushmore Hall
Mar 06 Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Mar 07 St. Paul, MN @ Myth
Mar 08 Fargo, ND @ Playmakers
Mar 09 Sioux Falls, SD @ Ramkota Exhibit Hall
Mar 11 Chicago, IL @ House of Blues
Mar 12 Milwaukee, WI @ Eagles Club
Mar 13 Detroit, MI @ Clutch Cargos
Mar 14 Cincinnati, OH @ Bogarts
Mar 15 Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Mar 17 Mokena, IL @ Pearl Room
Mar 18 Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
Mar 19 Cheswick, PA @ Gravity Nightclub
Mar 20 Worcester, MA @ The Palladium
Mar 21 Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head
Mar 22 Philadelphia, PA @ Theater of Living Arts
Mar 23 New York, NY @ BB Kings
Mar 26 Fort Lauderdale, FL @ Revolution
Mar 27 Saint Petersburg, FL @ Jannus Landing
Mar 28 Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
Mar 29 Sauget, IL @ Pops
Mar 31 Tulsa, OK @ Cains Ballroom
Apr 01 Kansas City, MO @ Beaumont Club
Apr 02 Wichita, KS @ Cotillion Ballroom
Apr 03 Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
Apr 04 Magna, UT @ The Great Salt Air

###

* www.FeedBigB.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

Catching up with pH10


Some music is meant to make you organize and protest. Some is meant to make you sit in deep contemplation. Then there’s the music that’s made so you can have a good freakin time. pH10 is all about making the latter and they do it better than almost anyone else out there. I originally found out about pH10 through RapReviews’ head honcho DJ Flash, who wanted me to interview them for the site (perhaps you caught it a few months ago). I was thrilled to discover pH10’s fantastic combination of Hip-Hop and Drum and Bass, but at the same time I was interviewing them for RR I couldn’t help but think they’d make a perfect Artist Of The Week. This week I reconnected with pH10’s Recone Helmut (pictured right w/ his pH10 partner SyBO) to make that happen.

Read the full interview at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/02/artist-of-week-ph10.html

Braille Tour Dates & Correctional Facility Performance


From Braille:

Hey hey -

Please excuse the consistent updates.  When it's close to release time I usually send 1 per week because there is so much going on.  So here are a few updates.

1. My trip to San Diego was really fresh.  I locked myself in Syntax studios for 14 plus hours a day and finished over half of my next record.  We even recorded guest appearances while I was in town - Surreal and Sojourn both dropped in to lay down their parts.  Sam Hart came in to sing a couple hooks and Shane was my engineer for all the sessions.  I had a good time working with Shane, he can get things done in Pro Tools much faster then I can.  It allowed me to just focus on being creative and he was able to execute all my ideas with precision, plus add in ideas of his own.

2. On Feb. 12th I had my first performance at a correctional facility for 2009.  It was an amazing experience and a confirmation that this is something I need to be doing.  I wrote a whole blog about it titled "The Vision: Act 1" which can be read at www.braillehiphop.com

3. The first leg of the "CloudNineteen" tour is officially booked and starts Feb. 25th.  Below is a press release on that.

The official Braille and S1 "CloudNineteen" tour.

On Feb. 25th Braille and S1 will be embarking on a month long tour visiting cities in Oregon, Washington, California, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas.  The duo will be celebrating their new record "CloudNineteen" and also putting their mission statement into action.  Over the course of 30 days they will be performing at an eclectic line up of venues and facilities.  One thing that makes this tour so unique is that the majority of the shows are free and catered towards an all ages audience.  Another bonus of the tour is that Braille and S1 will be handing out free copies of their new album "CloudNineteen" to everyone in attendance at their shows.  So far they have raised enough money to give away 5,000 units.  Both artists are very excited to connect with the younger generation and plant seeds in their lives.  Fans can expect a high energy show every night filled with new material and classic selections from their back catalogs.  You can view the entire tour route below including dates and addresses.  For more in-depth information about each event you can visit www.braillehiphop.com and stay in the loop or email Braillehiphop@hotmail.com

Feb. 25th - Calvary Fellowship in Mountlake Terrace, WA (all ages / free)
23302 56th avenue west
Feb. 26th - Bendistillery in Bend, OR (21+ / free)
850 nw brooks st
Feb. 27th - Chemawa Indian School in Salem, OR (day show, not open to public)
Feb. 27th - Berbatis Pan in Portland, OR (all ages / $8)
231 sw ankeny
Feb. 28th - Vera Project in Seattle, WA (all ages / $8)
1916 Fourth Ave
Mar. 1st - Vancouver, WA (all ages / free)
10800 ne 76th st.
Mar. 3rd - Bill Wilson Center in Santa Clara, CA (all ages / free) (early show)
3490 The Alameda
Mar. 4th - The Barn in Riverside, CA (all ages / free)
900 universtiy ave
Mar. 5th - Salvation Army in Compton, CA (all ages / free) (early show)
736 e. compton blvd.
Mar. 5th - Little Temple in Los Angeles, CA (21+ / $5)
4519 santa monica blvd.
Mar. 6th - Set It Off 3 in San Diego, CA (all ages / free)
3065 beyer blvd. Ste B-102
Mar. 7th - Salvation Army in Escondido, CA (all ages / free) (early show)
1301 las villas way
Mar. 7th - Saddleback Church in Lake Forest, CA (all ages / free)
1 Saddleback parkway (refinery building)
Mar. 8th - San Marcos, CA (TBA)
Mar. 10th - Stray Cats in Tempe, AZ (21+ / $5)
2433 west university drive
Mar. 11th - Arizona (TBA)
Mar. 12th - Dove in Flagstaff, AZ (all ages / $5)
2211 east 7th avenue
Mar. 13th - Open Aired in Winterhaven, CA (all ages / $5)
2103 Winterhaven Dr.
Mar. 15th - Victory Outreach in Albuquerque, NM (all ages / free)
913 sunset rd.
Mar. 18th - The Center in Irving, TX (all ages / free)
2901 west irving blvd

MAR 19th to 21st - SXSW in Austin, TX

Mar. 23rd - Fletcher Mission Center in Houston, TX (all ages / free)
1913 Fletcher Street

4. Feedback so far for the "CloudNineteen" album has been really encouraging.  I could throw a couple quotes here but I'd rather let people form their own opinions once they get a chance to hear it.  Pre-orders are currently up at www.360vinyl.com, www.accesshiphop.com, www.sphereofhiphopstore.com, www.qualityjunk.com, www.dabus-shop.com and www.ughh.com

5. I did an interview with Da South and they asked some interesting questions.  You can check that out at
http://www.dasouth.com/features/interviews/566-braille-hip-hops-chosen-vessel

Thanks for your time and I hope to see ya'll at a show in the near future.

If you need images to help promote any events or the music in general then you can download them from
www.hiphopismusic.com/uploads/Cloud19images.zip


Thank you, from Braille and the Hiphop Is Music team.
www.braillehiphop.com | www.hiphopismusic.com

Stoupe the Enemy of Mankind Preps 'Decalogue'


From Babygrande Records:

JEDI MIND TRICKS PRODUCER:
STOUPE PREPS LONG AWAITED
SOLO DEBUT "DECALOGUE"


For Immediate Release

Legendary Jedi Mind Tricks producer and beat brainchild Stoupe
The Enemy of Mankind preps the March 31st release of his debut
solo release: "Decalogue." For over a decade, and through 6 hit
underground albums, Stoupe has been creating sonic backdrops
for Vinnie Paz's unique brand of hardcore lyricism.

Now, Stoupe steps out on his own with "Decalogue," a modern
masterpiece. Crafted with an exacting eye towards maintaining
the balance that has made his production style instantly
recognizable the world over (and has inspired an entire sub-genre
of imitators and impersonators), Decalogue is the long-awaited
producer album from one of underground hip-hop's best. Pairing
up with the upper echelon of indie emcees from across the hip-hop
spectrum, such as Slaine (La Coka Nostra), M.O.P., Saigon,
Joell Ortiz, Outerspace, the Army of the Pharaohs fam & more,
Stoupe truly expands the scope of indie hip-hop with this album.
True fans of the underground sound stand up for this one!

Jedi Mind Tricks Presents...
Stoupe
"Decalogue"
In Stores March 31st, 2009
Babygrande Records

Mike Epps to Release 'Funny Business' DVD on April 7th


COMEDIAN MIKE EPPS TO RELEASE COMEDY DVD FUNNY BIDNESS ON APRIL 7TH, 2009

DEBUT CD, GREAT EPPSPECTATIONS, TO BE RELEASED ON MAY 19th, 2009


(New York, NY) – After years of making us laugh with his long-running standup comedy tours and film roles, Mike Epps is finally set to release his second comedy DVD, “Funny Bidness,” the long awaited follow up to his 2006 Platinum-selling “Inappropriate Behavior.”  The DVD is a fusion of Epps’ stand up material and his Man of the Street series across the country.

The DVD will be followed by Epp’s debut CD, Great Eppspectations.. The CD features Snoop Dogg, Kid Rock, T.I and Slim Thug. The album combines Epps’ off the wall humor with solid hip hop beats to create some of the funniest tracks around. The album is being released by E1 Music on May 19, 2009.  

The hilarious video for the first single, “Big Girls,” was recently added to BET and can be viewed here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxoCD7-k0f8 .

Epps also has two feature films to be released this year. First he will star in the Summit Films comedy “Next Day Air” alongside Mos Def and Donald Faison, due in theatres May 8, 2009. Then Epps will light up the screen again in “Janky Promoters,” the highly anticipated comedic reteaming of Epps and Ice Cube due out July 2009 for Dimension Films. The film was directed by long-time music video director Marcus Raboy whose has helmed the videos of such music stars as Sean Kingston, Sting, Mary J. Blige, Notorious B.I.G., Santana and countless others.

Epps first gained notoriety when he appeared in 1995 on the Def Comedy Jam tour and appeared on HBO’s Def Comedy Jam Broadcasts. Since then, Epps has cultivated a stellar film career and has appeared in such films as Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins, All About the Benjamins, Next Friday, Bait, How High, Friday After Next, Talk To Me, The Fighting Temptations, Resident Evil: Apocalypse, Roll Bounce, Something New, Guess Who, and The Honeymooners. Epps was also the voice of Sonny in Dr. Doolittle 2 and had a hilarious cameo in the 08 blockbuster Hancock.

In 2007, Epps’ one-hour comedy show Inappropriate Behavior aired on HBO and was one of the networks top rated specials of the year.

When Epps isn’t filming, he is busy touring the country performing his stand-up.

For more on Mike Epps, please visit www.myspace.com/eppisodes .
Zion I "DJ DJ" Remix Contest Is LIVE


From Stephen B. and k7.com:

Zion I "DJ DJ" Remix Contest Is LIVE

Party People,

Last week, Bay Area duo Zion I announced that they would be launching a remix contest for the track "DJ DJ" from The TakeOver (Feb. 17th, Gold Dust).  The time has come, and the contest is LIVE.  Using an innovative new widget, fans can download the stems, upload remixes which will stream anywhere the widget is placed, and vote on their favorites.  There's even a basic production interface for users who don't have professional remixing software. 

To get the components, see the widget, and hear some of the mixes that have already started coming in, go to http://remixwizard.mixmatchmusic.com/wizardgallery.  You can also see the rules and the widget at the group's myspace.

DETAILS:
Start remixing Feb. 12th
Deadline is March 12th

WHO WILL PICK THE WINNERS?
Zion I with input from fans' voting

PRIZES:

FIRST - Track featured on Myspace, played on radio set/podcast, etc.  Signed copies of rare vinyl/mixtapes etc.  1 signed Copy of The TakeOver. Copies of the Gold Dust Zion I catalog.

SECOND - 1 signed Copy of The TakeOver and Copies of the Gold Dust Zion I catalog and The TakeOver poster.

THIRD - 1 signed Copy of The TakeOver and The TakeOver poster.

...and if you haven't seen it yet, check the video below of the guys introducing the contest.

* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRF-DMjrBU4 *

For More Info, Check Out:
* http://www.myspace.com/zioni *
* http://remixwizard.mixmatchmusic.com/wizardgallery *
* http://www.zionicrew.com *
* http://www.zioni-thetakeover.com *
* http://www.golddust-media.com *

J-Kwon Releasing Hood Hop 2


Press release courtesy of Dove at TygerEye.net.

J-Kwon Releasing Hood Hop 2
Prepping New Label, Hood Hop Music
Digital Album Coming February 17 on Gracie/EMI

 
St. Louis, MO -- At just 22-years-old, St. Louis native J-Kwon looks as though he could be another emerging artist on the scene, but he's actually already a Hip Hop vet. After achieving chart-topping success in 2004 with the single "Tipsy" from his So So Def/Arista debut album Hood Hop, the teen star was on top of the world. He followed with a few star-studded appearances, and then seemed to vanish without much explanation.
 
Now in 2009, J-Kwon is back in the saddle with a new digital album entitled Hood Hop 2, which will be released February 17 in association with Gracie Productions and EMI. J-Kwon also has a new label, Hood Hop Music, and has been honing his own instrumental and production skills.
 
When he was barely a teen, J-Kwon left home to pursue his music dreams. At age 15, he signed with St. Louis production team Trakboyz for $1,000 advance, and was swiftly introduced to MeMphHiTz, L.A. Reid and Jermaine Dupri at Arista Records. After his debut album spawned the hit single "Tipsy," which rose to #2 on the Billboard Hot 100, everything seemed to be coming up roses for the young star. But when Arista folded, the Trackboyz' production deal was without a home.
 
“The experience was crazy, because it was what I had dreamed about,” explains J-Kwon. “I had dreams like making it to Saturday Night Live and Jay Leno - and I did that. Repping St. Louis was quite easy, because I had my friends and I was doing it. You’ve got Chingy, Nelly, then you’ve got J-Kwon. The city was on fire, and it was like a dice game - we were rolling too many 7's and 11's, and the industry turned that magnet off.”
 
J-Kwon turned his attention to building up Hood Hop Music, and recently teamed with Gracie Productions to put out the digital album Hood Hop 2. He still works with Jermaine Dupri and Trackboyz, and has dozens of completed songs awaiting release. When all is said and done, J-Kwon is confident in his own abilities, and envisions his creative endeavors without boundaries.
 
"J-Kwon is like a Black Rock & Roller who does whatever he feels like - we're not about to stress over music in '09," he states. "I want people to know that as an artist there isn't anything I won't do or try. Whoever wants a feature, let's get it. We don't know what J-Kwon would do - it's unorthodox. We'll figure it out as we go along."
 
For more information on J-Kwon, go to www.tygereye.net/jkwon and www.myspace.com/jkwon .
 
For more information on Gracie Productions, go to www.gracieprod.com .
 
Hood Hop 2 tracklist

1.   Welcome 2 Da HoodHop2
2.   Problemz - He Don't Want 'Em
3.   F**k What U Tell Me
4.   Rapper of da Year
5.   Jockin'
6.   Money
7.   Food 4 Thought
8.   I Told You
9.   Ain't Sh*t
10. Promotions f/ Gino Green
11. *Bonus Track* 4-Sho - I'm From St. Louis

ABOUT J-KWON

We often hear tales of people who strike out on their own at an early age, stars in their eyes and big dreams in tow. While very few people at any age actually achieve that time at the top, St. Louis native J-Kwon was a rare success. When he was just 17-years-old, he hit the top of the charts in 2004 with “Tipsy” from his debut album Hood Hop (So So Def/Arista).

Now 22, J-Kwon is back with an independent stride and even bigger goals as he digitally releases his new street albumHood Hop 2 on February 17, 2009 in association with Gracie Productions and EMI.

Unusually driven as a child, J-Kwon left home when he was only 13-years-old to pursue music. Family and friends didn’t believe in his vision, but fortunately there were people who did, namely Sean Caldwell. The budding music exec gave J-Kwon a place to stay as they began to build up the young rapper’s music catalog. Within two years, local production celebrities the Trackboyz heard J-Kwon’s song “Personality,” and the world opened up.

At the time, Trackboyz were already making hits for Nelly and Nappy Roots, and in their attempt to build up their production company, they signed J-Kwon for a $1,000 advance. From there, things moved quickly, as the Trackboyz introduced J-Kwon to the now-defunct Arista Records A&R MeMpHiTz (now at Jive). MeMph then arranged a showcase forAntonio “L.A.” Reid, Jermaine Dupri and their team of A&R executives.

After a rousing audition for the Arista team, Jermaine Dupri gave J-Kwon the opportunity to pour the last four years of his struggle into song for the world to hear, and at just 17-years-old, J-Kwon created Hood Hop. This 2004 debut release on So So Def/Arista featured production by the Track Boyz, Dupri and Bryan-Michael Cox, and hit#7 on the Billboard 200, while the lead single “Tipsy” hit #2 on theHot 100 chart and #4 in the U.K.

He followed promptly with the singles “You & Me” and “Hood Hop,” however neither had quite the reception with fans as “Tipsy,” which is still a mainstay club and radio track around the world to this day.

While J-Kwon went on to record the song “Get XXX’d” with Petey Pablo and Ebony Eyez for the XXX: State of the Union soundtrack, an EP remix of “Tipsy” with Chingy and Murphy Lee and appeared on Bow Wow’s popular “Fresh Asimiz” single in 2005, things behind the scenes were falling apart. Arista Records folded, and even through a series of negotiations, the Trackboyz and J-Kwon were left out in the cold.

“The experience was crazy, because it was what I had dreamed about,” explains J-Kwon. “I had dreams like wanting to make it to Saturday Night Live and Jay Leno - and I did that. Repping St. Louis was quite easy, because I had my friends and I was doing it. You’ve got Chingy, Nelly, then you’ve got J-Kwon. The city was on fire, and it was like a dice game - we were rolling too many 7’s and 11’s, and the industry turned that magnet off.”

Never one to allow setbacks to fade him, J-Kwon began to create new opportunities. Still on good terms with the great majority of his associates, including Jermaine Dupri and Trackboyz, the 22-year-old has already set out on his venture as an independent artist. He is working with a new manager, Keith Matthews of Skot Fre Music, and has now teamed with Gracie Productions and EMI to digitally release his new project, Hood Hop 2.

Working without limitations, J-Kwon has been developing his production skills as well. “I actually sit down with the MPC, the new Tritons, Blue Tube and plugins, I work it all. Then after I work with it, I pay someone to work it behind me, so we’re gonna make this extra nice.  I play the drums and piano too, I’m kind of nice. I’ll play the harmonica if they pay me enough,” J-Kwon laughs. “My brother was telling me ‘you just got an ear for it’ when it comes to the instruments, and maybe I need to start running with that. I mix records too, I’m an engineer.”

True to his entrepreneurial spirit, J-Kwon also launched Hood Hop Music, and has his own roster of fresh talent including Gino Green, Lou Kane and the group The Showoffs, which J-Kwon is actually a part of.  “I still work with the Trackboyz, I never really needed anybody but them. They’re hitmakers, and of course I do production by myself too. I’m just going to put out Hood Hop 2 right quick, and then spread myself out with everybody else. I’ll be following with Hood Hop 3, which is basically me and T-Black.”

J-Kwon’s journey thus far has been an amazing ride, and he’s really just getting started. In retrospect, he may have liked some things to go differently in his life, but he knows in the end that he’s a better man for his experiences.

“I didn’t get to graduate high school, and I can’t sit up here and say I never got to the point where I wanted to quit, because I have gotten to that point, I have been at that breakdown stage. I really work so hard for this, and people don’t know I put everything on the line just for my fans. I just work so hard for them - I transformed myself from the same type of ni**a from the south side of St. Louis toting guns and selling dope just so I could be out here for my fans. I really have a passion for music, and I want to give people what they need to be listening to. I don’t feel like anybody can do that better than me.”

New Releases From Tanya Morgan, K'Naan, Canibus & More


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

A Full Schedule in 2009 For Interdependent Media
Upcoming releases from Finale, Tanya Morgan, Truthlive, K'Naan, and Canibus


(Brooklyn, NY) With 2008 already a fading memory, there's a good chance you're going to need a fresh supply of music to hold you down in 2009. Interdependent Media has you covered with a full slate of brand new releases, including albums from Finale, Tanya Morgan, Truthlive, K'Naan, and Canibus.

First out of the gate, Detroit up-and-comer Finale is charged to set the rap world abuzz with his debut effort A Pipe Dream & A Promise. Dropping April 7, A Pipe Dream & A Promise finds Finale spitting vocal barbs over elite production from the likes of J Dilla, Black Milk, Nottz, Oddissee, and more. Following on Finale's heels is the much-anticipated sophomore LP, Brooklynati, from Tanya Morgan. Comprised of Brooklyn's Von Pea and Cincinnati's Donwill and Illyas, Tanya Morgan has received critical acclaim for their debut LP Moonlighting as well as 2008's The Bridge EP. Closing out the year are exciting new releases from Truthlive, K'Naan, and Canibus. Truthlive, the emcee work of iM founder Evan Phillips, will be releasing Patience, an album produced entirely by Jake One (50 Cent, De La Soul, Freeway), while Somalia-born K'Naan, set to release his major label debut Troubador on EMI in late February, will be releasing the live album The Dusty Foot On The Road, which documents recent performances from around the world including Paris, London, New York City, Edmonton, Brisbane, and Djibouti. Finally, iM will end the year with Canibus, one of the most ferocious emcees to touch a mic, who will make a triumphant return with The C Of Tranquility.

Interdependent Media is no ordinary record label, and iM's innovative and interactive marketing and promotion methods for 2009 continue to raise the bar. To help promote the new Finale album, iM will be releasing a Super Mario Bros. themed online video game, complete with an 8-bit version of the song “One Man Show,” produced by Black Milk. Featuring Finale as the Mario of the Hip-Hop world, players who beat the game will receive an exclusive remix track. The setup for Tanya Morgan's Brooklynati release will be driven by one of the most involved and intricate marketing campaigns ever for a hip-hop release; the virtual city of Brooklynati will become a reality. The city will have an extensive website, video newscasts, a Chamber of Commerce where fans can apply for and receive Brooklynati drivers licenses, menus to the local Chinese restaurant, and its very own fledgling record store. Finally, thanks to the amazing work of artist Jamar Nicholas, fans will have the opportunity to channel their inner-child with a brand new limited-edition coloring book featuring the label's entire roster - get those crayons ready!

About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2009, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Finale, Canibus, K'naan, Truthlive, and Tanya Morgan. For more information, please visit http://www.imculture.com .

Finale - "Real Hip-Hop Don't Die"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Ilyas-Real_Hip_Hop_Don't_Die.mp3 *

Tanya Morgan - "How Low"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Tanya_Morgan-How_Low.mp3 *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/TanyaMorgan/ *
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/Finale/ *

Label site:
* http://www.imculture.com/ *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 19th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Apathy's "Connecticut Casual," Adam Bernard's Billy Danze interview, DJ Halo's Subways & Sidewalks #23 featuring Nackt, an editorial on the Ferguson cops, FlamesYall's "RaglandTape," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #284, Le1f's "Hey," LMNO's "Preparanoia" (our featured review), Trey Songz' "Trigga" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 12, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Hilltop Hoods - "Walking Under Stars". RapReviews.com also recommends AMP SummerSlam Recap from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive