Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday October 25, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Paperwork] No trouble this time, man.

T.I. Review

Latest News Headlines
Jamal "Shyne" Barrow Speaks


Rap's most wanted emcee for the past decade Shyne made his first public words since being released from an upstate New York correctional facility where he served close to a ten year bid. Speaking to students at his one time school in Belize City, Wesley College, Shyne says he no longer glorifies the gangsta lifestyle that landed him in jail and his career in jeopardy.

"In life, you are what you are and this is what I am I don't want to be like Michael Jordan. I want to be like Moses or King David or King Solomon. Those are the guys I aspire to be like. I didn't want to be like the kingpin on my block; I wanted to be like the guy who parted the sea, that's why I chose that name."

The rapper known as Moses says fans shouldn't worry about the direction of his music as it will be as pure as ever

"I make music about life. One of the greatest musicians was Bob Marley. There was nothing misogynistic about him. But his music, he talked about some harsh realities some time. He was tough. I would like to make that type of contribution, that kind of Marvin Gaye contribution, you dig? But at the same time we curse, at the same time life is violent, life is troublesome sometimes — so don't expect my music to be sanitized. I am just going to talk about what's going on in the world."

Source: UDub News

New Music From DMC, Studdahman, Most Hifi, Huggy & More


DMC : "I AM A KING" - CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD THIS SONG

Studdahman presents...
JsOuL : "I WANT YOU MORE" - CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD THIS SONG

Most Hifi : "ACTION !!"
feat. Mista Chuck & Huggy - CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD THIS SONG

Huggy : "CAN'T SEEM 2 FORGET" - CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD THIS SONG

Koffee : "IT'S ON" - CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD THIS SONG

Heet Mob : "GET IT RIGHT" - CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD THIS SONG

MISTACHUCK : "I RAP BLACK"
feat. Heet Mob, Jahi & DJ Johnny Juice - CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD THIS SONG

Kyle Jason : "KEEP ON MOVIN' (STRONG)" - CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD THIS SONG

 

Bekay/Alchemist Remix Contest



RemixBanner  

Think you can outdo The Alchemist? Then download the acapella to Bekay’s “I Am” and remix it for a chance to appear on the iTunes edition of The Hunger Pains Remix EP. Click on the link below to download the original, acapella and contest rules/itinerary  & prizes.  

Download | zshare:
Diamond District - "Gully" / Freestyle Video


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

MP3/Video: Diamond District - "Gully" / Freestyle Video      11.04.2009
Oddisee, YU, and X.O. Reveal The Birth Of Diamond District


The Song & Video:

Celebrating their recent release, the members of DMV's luminary hip-hop trio Diamond District take fans back to their birth, re-introducing the track "Gully" off of emcee/producer Oddisee's album Foot in the Door. This percussive, up-tempo track marks the first time that Oddissee, YU, and X.O. ever came together to create the signature sound that now defines this dynamic threesome. Oddissee's grooving drum track and dragging, behind-the-beat melody underlie the three emcees as they take turns spitting their respective verses, creating the effortless chemistry that now is Diamond District. This track, released in 2006, was the beginning; the cornerstone to this group's development. YU's lyric says it all. "In a cocoon like a butterfly, before the wings, never thinking like a peasant, I was born a king."

In addition to "Gully," Diamond District recently recorded a video with all three showing their lyrical dexterity a cappella style, like true emcees do. XO and YU set off the cipher with strong deliveries and tongue twisting punch lines while Oddisee ends the session off with a scorcher, "I doubt they'll ever cross over to the rap game so they rootin' for me yellin' cuz get a plaque mang, done and I don't even want the rap fame, it's a by-product when you always give a track flames, One."

Check out "Gully" and all other tracks off Diamond District's newest release, In The Ruff, available now on CD and digital download via Mello Music Group.

"Gully": http://media.audibletreats.com/Diamond_District-Gully.mp3 .
Freestyle Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxX6vz7xyf0 .

The Background:

The group Diamond District is comprised of emcee/producer Oddisee, and emcees X.O. and YU. Greatly influenced by their surroundings and love for 90's east coast hip-hop, Diamond District is on a mission to bring back the sounds of old with a new twist and represent for the DMV. X.O. who was born & raised in the North West quarter of D.C. defines what it is to be a black male raised in the district. With lyrics that depict street life and harsh surroundings, X.O. has a way of philosophizing that raw, gutter reality of DC life that is rarely looked at or spoken about when we discuss our nation's capitol. Oddisee defines the experience of growing up in black middle class Maryland. Bordering the poverty that his and many other families fled to escape, they found out over time that the troubles of the inner city came along with them. Oddisee’s soulful, haunting samples over bass-heavy beat breaks create the perfect instrumentals for Diamond District to match the street savvy, politically conscious lyrics that capture the dynamic of being from the DMV. Y.U., having been raised in the district, Maryland & Virginia, brings that extra variety to the group and shows that D.C. culture has a huge influence beyond its 10 mile radius. Being that YU has lived in all areas of the DMV, his lyrics and stories compliment the rest of the group and define what it means to be from the DMV. In The Ruff, is available now via Mello Music Group.

About Mello Music Group:

Like Lao Tzu in hip-hop, Mello Music Group provides music for the soul, from the heart of American culture, opening the realm of the intelligent hip-hop experience through melodic evocations, beats that corroborate the truth, and voices that roar above the rising void and impose order on the terrible & triumphant moments of everyday life. This is the compelling sound of Mello Music Group. Industry newcomer Michael Tolle founded MMG in 2007 and is acting Director of Operations. MMG will be releasing projects from Oddisee, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Kenn Starr, Finale, Trek Life, Dudley Perkins, Sareem Poems, and YU in 2010. http://www.myspace.com/mellomusicgroup .

Streams:

"Gully":
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Diamond_District-Gully.mp3 *

Diamond District Freestyle Video:
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxX6vz7xyf0 *

"Something For Y'all":
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Diamond_District-Something_For_Yall.mp3 *

Nodfactor Interview:
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9jd5MgZRD0 *

"Hologram"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Diamond_District-Hologram.mp3 *

Diamond Exchange Mixtape:
* http://www.zshare.net/download/6698815408afb719 *

O.C. & A.G. Team Up to Release Long-Awaited New Album


From Tonia at The Orchard:

DIGGIN’ IN THE CRATES (D.I.T.C.) MCS, O.C. & A.G., TEAM UP TO RELEASE LONG AWAITED ALBUM

New collabo LP, OASIS, featuring production from fellow D.I.T.C. members Show & Lord Finesse, set to drop Nov. 24th on  Nature Sounds / D.I.T.C. Records


Release Date:

November 24th, 2009

Legendary New York MCs, O.C. & A.G. return from a brief hiatus to quench the thirst of hip-hop fans worldwide.  The album, refreshingly titled, OASIS, is executive produced by Show (of Showbiz & AG fame) and features stellar production by Show, Lord Finesse, E. Blaze, and Statik Selektah.  O & A, longtime friends and crewmates, first collaborated together on the classic track “Weed & Drinks” and ever since then talked about doing a whole album together.

“It was organic cause the chemistry was also so crazy,” explains OC. “The whole process was really pure and from the heart and hip-hop fans are gonna love it!” says AG about their new album.

Born in Brooklyn and raised in Queens, O.C grew up across the street from another lyrical legend, Pharoahe Monch of Organized Konfusion.  That neighbor spawned O.C’s recording debut, which was in 1991 on Organized Konfusion’s classic “Fudge Pudge.”  O.C. was tour when he first ran into D.I.T.C. members Lord Finesse & Buckwild.  After the tour, Buckwild and O.C worked on a demo that would eventually become the Wild Pitch Records classic, Word…Life which contained the classic lyrical assault Time’s Up, later featured on Eminem’s biopic, 8 Mile.

Andre the Giant, better known as A.G., began his rise to acclaim the day Lord Finesse showed up at his school to challenge any lyricist that dared to battle. AG stood up to Finesse line for line and Finesse couldn’t help but take notice of the hungry rapper.  While in the studio contributing to Lord Finesse’s upcoming LP Funky Technician,  AG met Showbiz for the first time. The bond was instant and the newly formed duo began their career by selling the self-financed Soul Clap EP out of the trunk of Show’s Acura Legend coupe. Their first LP, “Runaway Slave", put the spotlight back on the Bronx and heavily influenced the whole modern East Coast style of rap. Their sound was a combination of mobster influence, thoughtful lyricism, and amazing production that became synonomous with the D.I.T.C crew.

With a combined 10+ albums under their belt, it’s amazing how the guys stay relevant after all these years. A.G. explains, “For me, it’s the passion, when you’re passionate about something, you stay inspired, through the good and the bad”. When speaking about the significance of the album title OASIS, O.C adds, “It’s 2009 and both AG and myself have something new and fresh to offer. Fans have been searching for something like this for a long time and finally here it is.”

Tracklist w/ producers:

1. Oasis – Produced by Statik Selektah
2. Keep It Going - Produced by E Blaze
3. Give It Back - Produced by Lord Finesse
4. Alpha Males - Produced by Lord Finesse
5. Young With Style - Produced by Show and KC
6. Every Day Life - Produced by E Blaze
7. Think About It - Produced by E Blaze
8. Against The Wall - Produced by E Blaze
9. Put It In The Box - Produced by E Blaze
10. Boom Bap - Produced by Show
11. Reality Is - Produced by E Blaze
12. Contagious - Produced by E Blaze
13. Supreme Squad - Produced by Show
14. God's Gift - Produced by E Blaze
15. Get Away - Produced by Lord Finesse
16. 2 For The Money – Produced by Show
17. Pain – Produced by E Blaze

Lou Dog Named Assistant Director of NORML Los Angeles


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
 
LOU DOG FROM KOTTONMOUTH KINGS NAMED
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF NORML LOS ANGELES
 
Lou Dog, from Suburban Noize recording group the Kottonmouth Kings, has been named the new assistant director for the Los Angeles chapter of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML).
 
"I am proud of the appointment and I am prepared to continue lending my energy and resources towards the advancement of the cause," commented Lou Dog.
 
The Kottonmouth Kings have been on the frontlines fighting for the legalization of marijuana for over a decade. The group has been acknowledged for their never-ending commitment to spreading awareness and understanding about the plant, marijuana.
The group had previously helped organize a demonstration at the U.S. Federal Building, alongside other pro-cannabis organizations, to protest the federal prosecution of pot users under the federal Controlled Substances Act. The event attracted national media attention and challenged the Bush Administration’s “War on Drugs”.
 
The Kottonmouth Kings recently released their new album, “Hidden Stash 4:20”, through Suburban Noize Records. The group is embarking on a series of dates with 311 in November, before they hit the studio to record their upcoming new studio effort, “Long Live The Kings”.
 
Since being founded in 1970, NORML has provided a voice for those Americans who oppose marijuana prohibition and favor an end to the practice of arresting marijuana smokers. A nonprofit public-interest advocacy group, NORML represents the interests of the tens of millions of Americans who smoke marijuana responsibly. Today NORML continues to lead the fight to reform state and federal marijuana laws, whether by voter initiative or through the elected legislatures. NORML serves as an informational resource to the national media on marijuana-related stories, providing a perspective to offset the anti-marijuana propaganda from the government.
 
CATCH KOTTONMOUTH KINGS LIVE:
 
Nov 13 - Loveland, CO @ Budweiser Event Center w/ 311    
Nov 14 - Council Bluffs, IA @ Mid America Center w/ 311    
Nov 15 - Kansas City, MO @ Uptown Theater w/ 311    
Nov 17 - Des Moines, IA @ Val Air Ballroom
Nov 18 - Chicago, IL @ Aragon Ballroom w/ 311    
Nov 19 - Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore w/ 311
Persian Gulf HipHop Tour: DJ Skribble, Naughty by Nature & More


DJ Skribble, Naughty By Nature and The Wonder TwinZ are traveling to the Persian Gulf to perform for the U.S. Military Troops. We will be stationed on various U.S. Military bases across the Persian Gulf as we trek across the desert asking one simple question...

YOU DOWN WIT O.P.P.???

USO TOUR - PERSIAN GULF
NOV. 3 -- NOV. 10, 2009

 

ABOUT THE U.S.O.:

Since before the United States entered World War II, the USO (United Service Organizations) has been the bridge between the American public and the U.S. military. In times of peace and war, the USO has consistently delivered its special brand of comfort, morale and recreational services to the military. The USO, a congressionally chartered, private, nonprofit organization, relies on the generosity of individuals and corporations to support USO activities.

Today, the USO delivers its programs and services at more than 130 locations around the world. In recent years, the USO opened centers in Kuwait, Qatar and Afghanistan to support service members participating in Operations Enduring and Iraqi Freedom, as well as centers in Vicenza, Italy, and at the Dallas/Fort Worth, Raleigh/Durham and Denver International Airports.

Military personnel and family members visited USO centers more than 5.3 million times last year. Services include free Internet and e-mail access, libraries and reading rooms, housing assistance, family crisis counseling, support groups, game rooms and nursery facilities.

 

New Fashawn Live Performance, Tour Dates


Fashawn posted a new live performance of the Boy Meets World cuts “Intro” and “Freedom” on his YouTube channel.  The footage was taken from his album release show in hometown Fresno, California, and as you can see, the crowd was pumped to be celebrating the release of the up and comer’s Exile-produced Boy Meets World. 

 

Watch Fashawn perform “Intro + Freedom” from Boy Meets World Release Show:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XY4YS8T4Jxk

 

BUY Boy Meets World:

iTunes, Amazon, Rhapsody

 

Fashawn, not content to sit back and relax now that his album is out, will also be heading out on a West coast tour with Legendary Music’s The Grouch next month.  Check out the full schedule below.

 

Tour Dates:

Dec. 2, 2009 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

Dec. 3, 2009 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird

Dec. 4, 2009 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theater

Dec. 5, 2009 – Santa Fe, NM @ Fusion Nightclub

Dec. 6, 2009 – Scottsdale, AZ @ Chasers

Dec. 7, 2009 – San Diego, CA @ Belly Up

Dec. 8, 2009 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones

Dec. 9, 2009 – San Luis Opispo, CA @ Downtown Brew

Dec. 10, 2009 – San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s

Dec. 11, 2009 – San Jose, CA @ Avalon

Dec. 12, 2009 – Sacramento, CA @ Empire Events Center

Dec. 13, 2009 – Arcata, CA @ Humbrew

Dec. 14, 2009 – Eugene, OR @ WOW Hall

Dec. 15, 2009 – Portland, OR @ Backspace

Dec. 16, 2009 – Seattle, WA @ Nectar Lounge

Dec. 18, 2009 – Reno, NV @ The Underground

Dec. 19, 2009 – South Lake Tahoe @ Bar 24Online Contact:

For More Information:

http://www.myspace.com/fashawn

http://twitter.com/FaShaWn

Hip-Hop Supergroup Trinity Pays Tribute to DJ Roc Raida


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

MP3: Hip-Hop Super Group Trinity Pays Homage To DJ Roc Raida With New Single      11.03.2009
AG, Sadat X & DJ Jab Release First Single As Group, Album Dropping In 2010


For those wondering where hip-hop's next super group is, Trinity has come to quell all inquiries. The triumvirate consists of AG, Sadat X, and DJ Jab and delivering raw, uncut hip-hop is priority number one on their list. After making their first performance appearance as a group at the recent Audible Treats CMJ '09 Showcase, Trinity is gearing up for an album release in 2010 via Fat Beats Records. In the meantime, the trio has come together to release their first single ever as a group, and with that single they chose to pay homage to the late, great DJ Roc Raida with "Roc Raida Tribute."

The song is compromised of two different break beats, bringing forth classic hip-hop nostalgia fitting for one of the game's most respected DJ's ever. AG and Sadat X flow effortlessly over the golden age inspired beat and reminisce on Roc Raida and his unparalleled talents. Lines like, "And his name is Roc / International so his name won't stop, " and "They thought we had a bandstand and grand slam / Even Japan fans loved his hands" show the love that AG, Sadat X, and fans worldwide have for Roc Raida.

In a recent video all three members spoke about their personal relationship with Roc Raida and how the monumental DJ inspired them. AG had this to say about Roc's talent, "Roc Raida was our only DJ. And I say only because anytime we went on the road Roc was always our DJ. To see him eventually win the world championship, it's like damn I know him – my DJ is the best DJ in the world." Sadat spoke on how, besides all the accolades and respect, Roc was a humble man at the end of the day, "You wouldn't know he was so nice, he never blew his own horn... He never bragged about himself, just a very humble person, a family man... just a good dude."

Be on the lookout for more info on Trinity and their upcoming album being released in 2010 via Fat Beats Records.

"Roc Raida Tribute": http://media.audibletreats.com/Trinity-Roc_Raida_Tribute.mp3 .

Roc Raida conversation video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DU2ViMUoBcA .

The Background:

The group Trinity is comprised of emcees AG (Showbiz & AG), Sadat X (Brand Nubian) and DJ Jab (Fat Beats Records Owner). All three individuals have left their own imprint in the hip-hop world and by joining forces, Trinity is gearing up to bring forth the sounds of old and bring back the boom-bap hip-hop that is missing in today's musical landscape. AG is the emcee for the critically acclaimed underground group, Showbiz & AG hailing from the Bronx, NY. Sadat X is part of the famed alternative hip-hop group Brand Nubian and is well known for his politically charged lyrics and poignant delivery. DJ Jab aka Joseph Abajian is the owner of Fat Beats Records and is responsible for developing yesterday's and today's most well respected underground hip-hop artists. Together, Trinity is set to take the industry by storm and leave their mark in the game.

Like what you hear? Keep up with Trinity and other artists like Freddie Foxxx, Ill Bill, and Black Milk on the Fat Beats Blog where you can learn about upcoming performances, releases, and in-store appearances.

Also, check out this video on the history of Fat Beats Records, bringing you fresh, independent hip hop since 1994.

Streams:

"Roc Raida Tribute"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Trinity-Roc_Raida_Tribute.mp3 *

Roc Raida Conversation Video
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DU2ViMUoBcA *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/trinity *

MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/showandag *
* http://www.myspace.com/sadatx *
* http://www.myspace.com/fatbeatsrecords *

J-Zone Hangs w/ Senior Citizens, Shows Off Tape Collection


From J-Zone:

What it is. I know its been a minute with the entry updates, but with high school basketball season around the corner, I've been preoccupied with work. Posts will be more sporadic than in the summer, but I'll still pop up periodically over the winter months to talk bad about something (or celebrate something that the masses fail to see the genius of), because that's how a curmudgeon does.

Folks with short attention spans and Spot Book reading levels have been requesting some video footage instead of those long and boring articles I write that people skim through anyway. So I called up some people (shouts out to Richard Ross and Tzarizm) to film some silly shorts for the blog.

The first is a video interview I did with my Grandmother Evil E  (who has appeared on some of my album covers) for her 86th birthday. She offers some long life tips worth jotting down, unless you don't like Vaseline.

The second is a homage to my cassette tape collection, and why I won't be caught post mortem with an iPod...and damn sure not on an elliptical machine at the gym with one.

P.S. I don't care about baseball, but "Go Phillies". I know I'm from NY and all, but any team that has a pitcher with a jheri curl (Pedro Martinez) is one I will cheer for. Plus, what he did to Don Zimmer was incredible. Pedro Martinez is a model citizen, and the only person I follow or respect in baseball today. Go Phillies...

P.P.S...Re: The attached picture with my Grandmother...I tweaked my wrist messing with that damn bench press, FYI. Save the perverted jokes and the pimp slap references, please.

Enjoy

Jay

--
http://www.danteross.com/blogs/jzone
http://www.myspace.com/jzoneoldmaid

"Why do folks in the hood want credit for sh*t they're SUPPOSED to do? "Yo man, I pay my child support, I show up to work on time." You're supposed to, d*ck." - J-Zone

J-Zone at the Senior Center 


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 21st, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out the 5 rappers to follow on Tumblr article, Akrobatik's "Built to Last," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #296, MarQ Spekt and Blockhead's "JustPlayWitIt," Saigon's "G.S.N.T.3. - The Troubled Times of Brian Carenard," Smoke DZA & 183rd's "Ringside EP," T.I.'s "Paperwork" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Hell Can Wait," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 14, 2014 and Ray West & O.C.'s "Ray's Cafe." Please note the Vince Staples review is the debut of new staffer Clara Wang. Big up Clara!!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: A-Hi - "Oh My". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive