Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday July 31, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
Joe Budden "Halfway House" Album Available Today


From Andrea Longo and Amalgam Digital:

JOE BUDDEN’S “HALFWAY HOUSE” AVAILABLE TODAY…DIGITAL ONLY!!

October 28th, 2008

-Amalgam Digital is proud to present the digital-only release of Joe Budden’s “Halfway House”.  The album will be available exclusively on www.AmalgamDigital.com and iTunes.  In addition, if you purchase “Halfway House” on www.AmalgamDigital.com you will receive two bonus songs.

With twelve brand new songs, “Halfway House” will tide Joe Budden’s fans over until the release of his sophomore album, “Padded Room”, on February 24th, 2009.  Producers contributing to “Halfway House” include Scram Jones, The Klasixs, Blastah Beatz and more.  One of the highlights of the album is the Scram Jones produced posse cut “Slaughterhouse”, which features Joell Ortiz, Nino Bless, Crooked I, and one-time nemesis, Royce Da 5’9.

“Halfway House” is a must-have for any Joe Budden fan.  Before entering the “Padded Room” next year make sure to explore the “Halfway House”.  Amalgam Digital…the Revolution Will Be Downloaded!

* www.AmalgamDigital.com *
* www.myspace.com/AmalgamDigital *

Kottonmouth Kings Joins Forces With Motocross Daredevil Seth Enslow


From James Wright and Kerosene Media:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Kottonmouth Kings Joins Forces With Motocross Daredevil
Seth Enslow In “Where I’m Going” Video

***

Rip-hop hybrids the Kottonmouth Kings have posted the video for their new single “Where I’m Going” online at www.kottonmouthkings.com .The video was directed by Kevin Stokes deep in an old abandoned mine in the California desert and stars motocross daredevil Seth Enslow.

"Where I'm Going is a deeply introspective song about finding yourself, so we went out to the desert to an old ghost town that Brad X knew about,” says Kottonmouth Kings frontman Johnny Richter. “We were out there puffing before the sun came up and long after the sun went down.”

The Kottonmouth Kings “Where I’m Going” is one of the tracks recorded over a six month period at the group’s Burbank, CA based studio for the release of the group’s monumental tenth studio effort “The Green Album”. The album is the missing link between earth shattering hip-hop and rawkus punk-rock, but also mixes in stoney acoustic melodies to create an innovative style that can only be described as “rip-hop”. In a continued effort to raise awareness about environmental and social issues, a portion of the album’s proceeds will be made to the Surf Rider Foundation (an organization that preserves the nation's waves and beaches), the wounded soldiers of Ward 57 and Life Rolls On (an organization that aids young people whose lives have been affected by spinal cord injuries).

Kottonmouth Kings are about to embark on headlining tour in support of the album, which lands in stores on October 28th, alongside (Hed)pe, Big B, Dirtball and Short Dawg.

KOTTONMOUTH KINGS WITH (HED)PE, BIG B & DIRTBALL:

10/31 Tempe, AZ @ Marquee Theatre
11/01 Tucson, AZ @ Rialto theatre
11/03 Oklahoma City, OK @ Diamond Ballroom
11/04 Springfield, MO @ Remington's Downtown
11/05 Houston, TX @ House Of Blues
11/06 San Antonio, TX @ Scout Bar
11/07 McAllen, TX @ El Rey Theater
11/08 Dallas, TX @ Lakewood Theater
11/10 Boulder, CO @ Fox Theater
11/11 Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
11/12 Albuquerque, NM @ Sunshine Theatre
11/14 San Diego, CA @ House of Blues
11/15 Hollywood, CA @ Key Club *** NO HEDPE ***
11/16 Victorville, CA @ Karma
11/20 Sacramento, CA @ The Boardwalk
11/21 Reno, NV @ Grand Sierra Resort & Casino
11/22 Modesto, CA @ Fat Cat
11/29 New York, NY @ Webster Hall "Wonders Of Cannabis"
12/05 Bakersfield, CA @ The Dome
12/06 Fresno, CA @ Rainbow Ballroom
12/12 San Francisco, CA @ Slims
12/13 San Francisco, CA @ Slims
12/26 Anaheim, CA @ The Grove

###

* www.kottonmouthkings.com *
* www.suburbannoizerecords.com *

Q-Tip and The Cool Kids to Headline 2K Sports Bounce Tour


From Roni Moore and Decon Media:

Q-Tip and The Cool Kids to Headline 4th Annual 2K Sports Bounce Tour

New York, NY – October 27, 2008 – 2K Sports, announced today details for the 4th annual Bounce Tour, the latest addition to 2K Sports’ series of live events celebrating the convergence of music, sports and video game culture. The tour lineup consists of Q-Tip (from A Tribe Called Quest), who will be supported by his live band, DJ Scratch (from EPMD) and the popular duo The Cool Kids, who will also be performing new material and other banging hits. The Bounce Tour is scheduled to appear in 20 different cities across the country from Nov.5 – Dec.3.

“Q-Tip killed it last year on the 2K8 Bounce Tour and we’re honored to have him back on tour with us. He’s a legend in the game, and one of the most influential artists in hip-hop culture,” said Tim Rosa, director of brand and lifestyle marketing at 2K Sports. "We’re also excited to have The Cool Kids performing new material on the tour. Their music is unique and positive, their vibe is independent and authentic, and they roll with their own signature style, all of which reflect the same attributes we strive for with our games."

After the Bounce Tour in 2006,Q-Tip returns with another hip-hop pioneer, EPMD's DJ Scratch, to perform new tracks from his upcoming solo album, The Renaissance, along with other classics. The Cool Kids, who have already partnered with 2K Sports on a variety of efforts including recording an exclusive track titled “2K Pennies” and having playable in-game characters, will perform as the opening act on the tour. Fans can also now download the 2K Pennies track for free, at the 2K Sports website, http://www.2ksports.com/coolkids .

In addition to the live music performances, the Bounce Tour will provide fans with an exciting opportunity to play the latest games by 2K Sports, check out different visual vignettes of games displayed throughout the show, and receive exclusive gear and other exciting giveaways. To find out more information about the 4th annual Bounce Tour, and to find the nearest stop, please visit http://www.2ksports.com/bouncetour . The full schedule for the 4th annual Bounce Tour is below:

Wednesday, Nov. 5 Chicago, IL House of Blues
Friday, Nov. 7 Aspen, CO Belly Up
Saturday, Nov. 8 Denver, CO Cervantes Ballroom
Monday, Nov. 10 Portland, OR Roseland
Tuesday, Nov. 11 Seattle, WA Showbox SoDo
Thursday, Nov. 13 San Francisco, CA Mezzanine
Saturday, Nov. 15 Los Angeles, CA House of Blues
Sunday, Nov. 16 Las Vegas, CA House of Blues
Monday, Nov. 17 Phoenix, AZ Marquee
Wednesday, Nov. 19 Dallas, TX House of Blues
Thursday, Nov. 20 Austin, TX Stubb’s
Friday, Nov. 21 Houston, TX Warehouse Live
Saturday, Nov. 22 New Orleans, LA House of Blues
Monday, Nov. 24 Atlanta, GA Centerstage
Wednesday, Nov. 26 Ft. Lauderdale, FL Revolution
Friday, Nov. 28 Orlando, FL House of Blues
Saturday, Nov. 29 Charlotte, NC Amos Southend
Sunday, Nov. 30 Washington D.C. 930 Club
Tuesday, Dec. 2 New York, NY Nokia
Wednesday, Dec. 3 Philadelphia, PA Trocodero

Prodigy's New Project in Stores November 4th, 2008


Press release courtesy of Jackie O. and 4Sight Media:

For Immediate Release
 
Prodigy, Voxonic, and AAO Music To Release
H.N.I.C. Pt. 2: The Ultimate Collectors Edition
in-stores November 4, 2008.

Three Disc Set includes 19 track album with 8 new bonus songs featuring Havoc, Big Noyd, Cormega, Nyce, and Un Pacino

 
DVD Disc includes 18 music videos.
 
In the months leading up to his incarceration, Prodigy of Mobb Deep, recorded a prolific body of work some which have made their way onto mixtapes and others that have been touted as the next official Prodigy release.  Nearly 9 months into his 3½ year sentence, Voxonic in association with AAO Music, the exclusive recording home of Prodigy, has announced the next official Prodigy project;  H.N.I.C. Pt.2: The Ultimate Collectors Edition, an elaborately designed 3-Disc Collectors Edition encased in an embossed collectors tin designed by Prodigy himself.
 
 
The three disc set features the complete H.N.I.C. Pt. 2 album and eight exclusive new tracks: "Dirty New Yorker," featuring Havoc, "It's Nothing" featuring Big Noyd, "When I See You Remix," featuring Cormega, "Get Trapped" featuring Nyce and Un Pacino, "The Dough," "Represent Me," and "When I See You."  The second disc in the collectors' edition is a DVD collection of videos for every song from the album with a bonus video of "Sleep When I'm Dead;" the third disc features full commentary from Prodigy on the making of each song on H.N.I.C. Pt. 2 as told by Prodigy and the album's producers: Havoc, Sid Roams, Apex, Arie Deutsch, and Executive Producers The Alchemist and Steve Sola.  Also included in each collectors' tin is a "Free P" Promotional Bandanna.
 
Peter Kuys, Chairman of AAO Music/Reality, said in a statement today, "Prodigy is committed to a long term H.N.I.C. Pt 2 plan to brand his H.N.I.C. series of albums.  As a label, we're committed to maintaining his presence in the market and have embarked on several initiatives towards that purpose.  To date we've released the H.N.I.C. Pt. 2 audio album, a DVD Collection, and created deals with Sansa Player, and opportunities with Grand Theft Auto IV.  We're excited that Prodigy has chosen to release his next release with us and that he remains focused on H.N.I.C."
 
Arie Deutsch, President of Voxonic adds, "With the turn towards digital sales, innovative record labels are finding new ways to package music.  Prodigy was one of the first to make use of voice transfer technology through his use of Voxonic, a voice transformation technology.  Through his use of the software, H.N.I.C. Pt. 2 was translated and transformed in his voice from English into Spanish.  Some tracks have been released via YouTube, and the full album in Spanish will be released first quarter 2009."

Prodigy remains active digitally through HNIC2.com a social community for Prodigy/Mobb Deep Fans and his bi-monthly blogs on the site and for Vibe.com.  In fact, Prodigy was one of the first hip-hop artists to create an online community through his first site, infamousstores.com.  As usual with H.N.I.C. Pt.2: The Ultimate Collectors Edition, Prodigy is the first artist in hip-hop to move into the collector's tin area.  Voxonic and AAO Music are leading the way, creating new ways to give music lovers more for their money.
 
The Ultimate H.N.I.C. Collection Tin is the next official Prodigy album scheduled for street date of November 4, 2008.
 
About Voxonic Inc. 
 
Voxonic Music, a full fledged record label and division of New York-based Voxonic Inc. has developed some of the most innovative software since windows revolutionized the computer industry in the early nineties.  This exciting technology is able to convert any person's voice into any known language in the world. The applications are endless streaming from international business, politics, music, entertainment and the video game industry.
 
About AAO Music, Inc./Reality
 
2004 marked the launch of a new music label named REALITY.  REALITY was born out of a concept that music can, and should be made, for the sake of artistry and the love of music. Our concept cuts out much of the excessive glitz, glamour and expense and brings to market great music from talented, proven recording stars that is valued priced. REALITY artists are some of the most influential and successful artists in the world.  The REALITY label is founded on the premise of a direct relationship between the artist and the retail stores. This translates to more aggressive pricing, better in stock positions and more artist meet & greets which ultimately benefit the music buying customer.

Award Winning Iraqi-American Rapper Urges For 'Change'


Press release courtesy of VIG Productions:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
AWARD WINNING IRAQI-AMERICAN RAPPER URGES FOR 'CHANGE' WITH THE RELEASE OF HIS NEW MUSIC VIDEO


Controversial and award winning Iraqi-American rapper, Timz, is urging the public to "change the world, not the channel," with his new music video titled 'Do Something'

SAN DIEGO, CA, Oct.27 – Timz, an American born rapper of Chaldean and Iraqi descent—continues to make heads turn across the world with his latest explosive, eye-opening music video Do Something. The newest effort from Timz serves as a wake up call to those who have grown numb to the reality of life, and replaced it with the 'reality' of television. Timz's inspirational message to the public during these difficult times is simple - Change the world, not the channel.

Do Something picks up where Timz's previous video, Iraq, left off.  Iraq, winner of the Hollywood Film Festival's "Video of the Year" and nominee for the MTV Video Music Awards' "Video of the Year", got right in our faces and exposed the shocking and ugly truth of the Iraq war.  Media outlets across the world covered Timz and the video, but not all of the attention was how Timz would have liked it.   "My new video touches on a lot of the negative and unfair press I received following the release of the Iraq, many of which questioned my patriotism.  But it's the opposite. It's my love for America that inspires me to continue to speak out and ask for change," says Timz.

Do Something has struck a chord with viewers who see a surprising similarity to the theme of the video and the current political climate in which Barack Obama's loyalties and patriotism have been attacked and unfairly called into question. But like Senator Obama, Timz is not letting the fabrications and rumors to deter him from his goal; change.

Do Something appears on Timz's sophomore album, The World is Watching; set to release in 2009.

To watch the Do Something music video by Timz: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjon4Hy1XpA .

Throwback to Release "Ballin' Since Birth" on Nov. 4th


This press release courtesy of Todd Davis:

Affluent Records Announce the November 4th release of Ohio rapper
Throwback’s Ballin’ Since Birth


October 23rd 2008 -- Super-talented Mid-West emcee, Throwback, who hails from Youngstown, Ohio, has finally arrived! His highly anticipated solo debut, Ballin’ Since Birth, which contains superb production from one of the industry’s hottest beat-smiths; KaneBeatz [Lil’ Wayne, Flo Rida], as well as several equally gifted up‘n’comers; BeatCatererz, The Shah Bros, and Ozone of Toxiq Entertainment, is due out November, 4th 2008 on Affluent Records.

As an introduction to Ballin’ Since Birth, Throwback recently dropped a pair of widely popular, future hit singles; ‘Trouble’ and ‘Grabbin’ On My Necklace,’ which have been managing to create a huge buzz, and completely raising the stakes for his soon-to-be released project. Other notable tracks include; ‘U In Da Club,’ ‘Dreamin,’ and ‘Get This Dough.’ Stellar high profile cameos are courtesy of the legendary Sadat X, of Brand Nubian fame, Warner Bros. recording artist, Wiz Khalifa, and Affluent label-mate, Kenny Ali.

Throwback, whose catchy moniker derives from his large collection of sports jerseys, is definitely primed and ready for the big leagues. “Ballin’ Since Birth means so many things to me, but the reason for the title is because I have been ballin’ since birth, hypothetically speaking,” the self-proclaimed “Jewish King” states, before expounding, “I create fun music, point blank simple. When people hear my music or see me perform, they just want to dance and have fun. That’s what I aim for.”

In closing, the man born Jon Tepper, who cites Bon Jovi, Poison’s Bret Michaels, Run DMC, Lupe Fiasco, and Kanye West, as some of his biggest musical influences, is sounding very optimistic, and rightfully so. “Put it this way, I have my foot in the door (now). My shear motivation, dedication, and hustling mentality has been and will continue to be the key to my success or the key to the industry’s door, if you will.” Concluding, “Dreams do come true, life is a hustle, so grind and sooner or later your time will come. Sleep’s for when you’re dead -- Keep ballin’ people!” With that being said, expect a whole lot more to come from Mr. Throwback himself, and on this coming presidential election-day make sure and pick up a copy of his brand new opus, Ballin’ Since Birth!

* myspace.com/throwbackonthemic

DJ Vlad Names Loud.Com Round 7 Winner


From Loud.com:

New York, NY (October 21, 2008) - What's good, Loud.com?

Congratulations to Round 7 Producer Winner Anonymous Twist! DJ Vlad gave homie serious big ups, as duke flipped some large sounds to hold back two very game contenders in Matt Loopy and Rodney Smallz. Be on the look for an interview with him and Round 7 Rapper Winner Angel Da Kid soon. To get caught up with the rest of our Finalists, get over to the News Section and listen to audios of their interviews.

Speaking of DJ Vlad, we sat down with him in his office/studio and chopped it up on a number of topics. He got open about his move from Cali to NYC, winning at the Justos, producing, directing, beef, strippers and more. This is only Part 1 of 4, so be on the look each day this week for a new video. Yaddadamean?!

While the actual song won't be posted to Loud.com until Thursday, get a sneak peak at our 12" of The Week over at Camp Lo's page now! They dropped a remix of Q-Tip's "Gettin Up" exclusively on Loud.com, and will be debuting more new music in the coming weeks. If you haven't already, check out their latest single, "Lumdi." There's good information that a few remixes might be on their way!

Our exclusive Beats By Dre Contest is officially in full swing and taking submissions! Aftermath & Interscope Records, in association with Imeem.com, are giving any MC that enters the contest the opportunity to get their songs heard by an Aftermath A&R, as well as the chance to win Dr. Dre's new headphones. Find out more details on here.

A few other quick items of note:

EMCEES! Round 8 Voting IS COMPLETE!

* A winner will be announced October 28th
* Submissions for Round 9 Begin TODAY!
* You won't believe WHERE we found our winner, but the creativity was undeniable!!
* With only 2 Rounds left, NOW IS THE TIME to enter and earn a chance at $100,000 and a record deal from SRC/Universal Motown!!

***

PRODUCERS! Submissions for Round 8 are CLOSED!

* Voting begins today; a Round 8 winner will be announced on Nov 4th!
* Congrats to Anonymous Twist! His big, atmospheric sound captured the ear of DJ Vlad The Butcher and sent him over the top of two other worthy competitors
* With only two chances left to enter, now is the time to break out your best beats and GET INVOLVED!!!

EPMD Announce Plans For New Album


Thanks to our friends at udubnews.com we learned that legendary rap duo EPMD is set to release a brand new studio album this December titled "We Mean Business." Erick and Parish plan to unveil the first look at "Business" on the first single "Listen Up", hitting airwaves early November. Collaborators for "We Mean Business" include Keith Murray, Havoc, Raekwon and KRS-One. We will of course be bringing you a review of the album on or before the release date so stay tuned!
The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #4!


The Adam B Experience

The fourth episode of The Adam B Experience (ABX) was recorded after Adam B attended Sketch Tha Cataclysm's birthday party this past weekend. The show features new music from Sketch, d_Cyphernauts, Hired Gun and T-Weaponz among others. It's thirteen songs and one full hour of music you won't hear anywhere else. Feedback is not only welcome but encouraged so write to AdamB@RapReviews.com and let him know what you love so he can keep playing it. Enjoy the show and remember that The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com so no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check it out at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Donny Goines - True Hustle


Every artist wants it. Donnie Goines has it. The “it” in this case is buzz and I know Goines has it because I’d heard, or read, his name over two dozen times before I’d ever met the man. Whether it was emails, YouTube clips, or songs, everywhere I was turning there was something with Donny Goines’ name attached to it. A little over a month ago we finally bumped into each other at a show at The Knitting Factory. We spoke for a while about all things Hip-Hop and the hustle it takes to get on. The conversation was fantastic, which is why I decided to sit down with him again to let him share some of those words of wisdom with everyone. Along the way we also discussed his own career and how he’s worked his way to being such a talked about emcee.

Read the full interview at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/10/artist-of-week-donny-goines.html


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive