Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday September 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
Detroit Rapper FINALE to Release A Pipe Dream and A Promise


From Audible Treats:

Detroit Rapper FINALE Releases Debut Album A Pipe Dream and A Promise      02.02.2009
Solo Emcee’s Release Features Production from Nottz, Black Milk, J Dilla, Flying Lotus, and more


(Feb 2, 2009 - Brooklyn, NY) Finale, part of the new vanguard of Detroit emcees, will release his debut album A Pipe Dream and a Promise on April 7th, 2009 via Interdependent Media. A former automotive engineer, Finale has experienced firsthand what embodies the spirit of a city that is steeped in such a rich musical and motor history. Using his experiences as his muse, Finale delves into deeply personal issues on A Pipe Dream and a Promise where his "pipe dream" of a rap career takes fruition and the "promises" he has made to himself and others finally become realities. To promote the album, Interdependent Media will soon reveal an online video game reminiscent of Super Mario Brothers starring Finale that will allow fans to win a free Finale remix track by completing the game. Interdependent Media will also be giving away limited edition coloring books featuring Finale and other iM artists.

A Pipe Dream and A Promise pulses with the evolving Detroit hip-hop sound; a multi-layered blend of hard-hitting beats, abstract electronic instrumentals, and illustrative lyrics that tell the personal story of a man's journey in a city on the cusp of a simultaneous economic breakdown and musical resurgence. Featuring production from J Dilla, Black Milk, Flying Lotus, Notzz, and Oddisee, the album showcases the work of a variety of exceptionally talented producers, with each offering a different musical foundation for Finale to showcase his lyrical onslaught.

Speaking about the title of the album, Finale says, "That's my definition of hip-hop. There are two sides to hip-hop or any dream that you follow. It starts as a dream that everyone says is a pipe dream. They deter you from your dreams. But as artists we promise ourselves we are going to follow our dreams."

Before making his entrance into hip-hop, Finale worked as an automotive engineer promising to one day follow his dream of becoming a rapper. Making the rounds at local Detroit open mics and emcee battles, Finale began to mingle with local talents like Guilty Simpson and One.Be.Lo. After emailing some joints back and forth with J Dilla, Finale finally met him backstage at the DEMF (Detroit Electronic Music Festival), where Dilla introduced him to Madlib, saying that he was one of the best in the game. “It was an honor and definitely a defining moment," says Finale. After realizing his passion and talent for hip-hop, Finale decided to finally quit his day job, follow his true passion, and make music a full-time career.

About Interdependent Media
Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2009, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Finale, Canibus, K'naan, Truthlive, and Tanya Morgan. www.imculture.com .

Streams:

"Motor Music" produced by Black Milk
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Finale-Motor_Music.mp3 *

Illogic Gets Lyrical with Diabolical Fun


From TygerEye.net and Dove:

Illogic Gets Lyrical with Diabolical Fun
New Album March 24 on Weightless Recordings

 
Columbus, OH -- What do you get when you mix classicly energetic lyricism with the street-savvy edge of MC's in 2009? Ohio mic wrecker Illogic may very well know the answer to that question... or rather, he might be the answer.
 
On March 24, Illogic will unleash his third full-length album entitled Diabolical Fun on Weightless Recordings. His new single "Let's Go" has already captivated fans and critics alike with aggressively enthusiastic bars of pure Hip Hop, and Illogic is set to re-establish himself as a force to be reckoned with in the independent underground and beyond.
 
As a native of Columbus, Ohio, Illogic spent years developing his his gift for witty lyrics and naturally dynamic performance abilities. The young MC released his debut album Unforeseen Shadows in 1999  to critical acclaim, and shared the stage with emerging Midwest talent like Common, Atmosphere, Eyedea, One Be Lo and Royce Da 5'9".
 
By 2003, he had released the Got Lyrics? EP and his sophomore album, Celestial Clockwork. Everything was amazing business-wise for Illogic, but behind the scenes, something wasn't sitting right with the budding rap star. Without much explanation, Illogic disappeared from the public eye at what seemed to be the peak of his career.
 
“Once Celestial Clockwork dropped, the ball was rolling,” Illogic explains. “The album was well received along with my stage show. I was touring heavily with many prominent underground acts, yet on top of all of this I was married with two children and a third on the way. The toll that this took on my family life was immeasurable by any stretch of the imagination, because music and being on tour was my job. Missing the birth of my third son was my wake-up call. I then knew it was time to slow down and get my priorities in order. I had to find myself for the first time.”
 
Rejuvenated after nearly a four-year hiatus, Illogic flexed his mic skills in 2008 with the EP One Bar Left. He began performing spot dates again, and has recorded several projects, including two full-length albums, all waiting to be heard after the release of Diabolical Fun.
 
Produced in its entirety by Ill Poetic, known best for his creative Budden/Portishead & NIN/Outkast mash-ups, Diabolical Fun is an intense, enjoyable rhymefest for Illogic. The hype delivery on the single "Let's Go" is just a taste of the rap vet's intention to share his renewed excitement with the world.
 

“My previous works were denser, darker and in some ways depressing, because that is where I was in my life at that time and that is the music I needed to make for that time,” Illogic expresses. “I’m at a different place in my life now, and my music has to reflect that, so Diabolical Fun is brighter, a little more fun, and definitely more performance-geared. For once I know I’m ready for all that is ahead of me, and I am thankful for all that is behind me.”
For more information on Illogic, go to www.tygereye.net/illogic, www.myspace.com/illogicone and www.weightless.net .
 
ABOUT ILLOGIC
 

“Illogic is complicated” - a simple statement of fact realized and accepted by the enigmatic artist whose life and career is anything but ‘simple’. Illogic stormed the scene in the early 2000’s with his seminal releases: Unforeseen Shadows, Got Lyrics and Celestial Clockwork. Unexpectedly, while 2003 shaped up to be a Cinderella year (a solid nationwide fan base; growing industry buzz surrounding upcoming projects), Illogic made the difficult decision to step away from the limelight, instead focusing on his marriage and growing family.

Fast forward to 2009; Illogic returns hungrier than ever to release Diabolical Fun (Weightless Recordings) on March 24, this time along with producer Ill Poetic, known for The World is Ours, Budden/Portishead & NIN/Outkast mash-ups.

Combining Illogic’s gift for one-of-a-kind wordplay and impeccable delivery with Ill Poetic’s knack for soulfully intense tracks, Diabolical Fun will quickly remind fans of why they fell in love with Illogic in the first place and grab the attention of those who have never heard of him before. The recently released EP One Bar Left has been garnering a healthy buzz in the online community, and serves as an appetizer for what’s to come.

Columbus, Ohio-based Illogic has always strived to take complex rhyme schemes and metaphoric storytelling to new levels of the art form. In 1999, the release of Unforeseen Shadows caught a ground swell of positive press and stellar reviews for Illogic and the then-indie upstart label Weightless Recordings. By the time 2003 rolled around, Illogic had released two other projects on Weightless Recordings - the Got Lyrics? EP (2001) and the long awaited full length follow up to Unforeseen, Celestial Clockwork (2003). Expectations for the new album were high, as fans had waited almost two additional years to see the release due to competing priorities at the label.

In Spring 2003, Illogic was named one of URB Magazine’s “Next 100”artists to check for, along with the likes of Little Brother, a then-widely unknown Kanye West, and others who have since “blown up.” When the album finally did release, early reviews were positive. However, Illogic’s career abruptly halted with seemingly no explanation.

“Once Celestial Clockwork dropped, the ball was rolling,” Illogic explains. “The album was well received along with my stage show. I was touring heavily with many prominent underground acts, yet on top of all of this I was married with two children and a third on the way. The toll that this took on my family life was immeasurable by any stretch of the imagination, because music and being on tour was my job. Missing the birth of my third son was my wake-up call. I then knew it was time to slow down and get my priorities in order. I had to find myself for the first time.”

After over four years without a major album release, a renewed sense of self, and a clear vision for the future, Illogic now more than ever seeks to shatter the glass ceiling of the underground and give the industry and masses what they so clearly need… a truly gifted emcee.

“The last few years have been some of my greatest,” says Illogic. “I feel like I am ready to receive the blessings waiting for me as I share this gift that I have been given. I am truly focused and ready to give the people something to talk about…something to believe in. I think music…the way we hear music, and the way we hear artists, are completely changing now. Fans are looking for something real, something tangible, and something they can relate too. I believe that as a society we are getting tired of the fantasy world that music has been centered on as of late. All we want is the truth, and I believe I have a truth yet to be heard - because I am truly yet to be heard. I believe I have unfinished business to attend to. I know God is not done using me and I will fulfill my purpose.”

Though out of the spotlight, Illogic continued to play spot dates periodically, recorded several compilations, EP’s, and has two other completed full length projects waiting to be heard in addition to Diabolical Fun. With nearly a decade of experience under his belt, Illogic has shared stages with the likes of Wyclef Jean, Rakim, Casual, Atmosphere, Eyedea, Brother Ali, The Roots, Common, One Be Lo, Royce Da 5’9” and many other nationally recognized acts. If you have not had the pleasure of hearing material from him in the past, in the words of Spike Lee’s classic School Daze: “WAKE UP”!

In a time when the music industry is slowly freeing itself from the shackles of one-hit wonders rhyming about their chains, rims and clothes, Illogic offers substance, word play and just plain…well…ill logic. Listen Closely!

“My previous works were denser, darker and in some ways depressing, because that is where I was in my life at that time and that is the music I needed to make for that time,” Illogic expresses. “I’m at a different place in my life now and my music has to reflect that, so Diabolical Fun is brighter, a little more fun, and definitely more performance-geared. For once I know I’m ready for all that is ahead of me, and I am thankful for all that is behind me.”

Count Bass D February Touring Schedule


From DominationRec.com:

Count Bass D - February tour dates

Count Bass D hits the road once again for the month of February. Below are the dates, cities and venues he will be performing at.

Feb 03 Denver, CO - The Walnut Room
Feb 04 Boulder, CO - B Side Lounge
Feb 05 Breckenridge, CO - Three20south
Feb 06 Lincoln, NE - Box Awesome
Feb 09 Lawrence, KS - The Jackpot
Feb 10 Des Moines, IA - Vaudeville Mews Taco
Feb 11 Columbia, MO - The Blue Fugue
Feb 12 Saint Louis, MO - Atomic Cowboy
Feb 13 Chicago, IL - Subterranean
Feb 14 Milwaukee, WI - The Highbury
Feb 15 Osh Kosh, WI - Reptile Palace
Feb 18 Indianapolis, IN - The Jazz Kitchen
Feb 19 Ann Arbor, MI - The Blind Pig

Peace
Domination Recordings
* http://www.dominationrec.com *
* http://www.dominationrechiphop.blogspot.com *
* http://www.myspace.com/dominationrecordings *

It's Time for Indie Labels to Step it Up


For decades all the indie labels out there have essentially been the Little Mac’s of the industry and when it came to the big fight they had to dodge every jab thrown their way and wait for the Mike Tyson’s of the music world to blink so they could finally have a chance to get a punch in. Now, however, with major labels failing to adapt to the internet and budgets for big releases shrinking by the day, the indies finally have a real chance at a fair fight. This is why now is the time for indie labels to step it up. How can they do this? Well, I have a few ideas.

Read the full story at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/02/its-time-for-indie-labels-to-step-it-up.html

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #11!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "I have a real hot one for ya this week! ABX #11 features six new joints, including the latest from Homeboy Sandman. This week also marks The Adam B Experience debut of Senor Kaos, an emcee I'm sure you'll be hearing a lot from in the very near future. Feedback is welcome, just hit me up at AdamB@RapReviews.com. Enjoy the show!" If you've never checked out The Adam B Experience now is the time, and the show is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com - no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check it out at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Hip-Hop Shop #19 - Bam, Tha Connection, "Mass Appeal '09"


The Hip-Hop Shop is the precursor to Kayfabe 4 Dummies every Sunday night, a 30 minute show of hip-hop tracks and talk. Since this week's show occured during the Superbowl we pre-taped 30 minutes of music for your enjoyment including new tracks from Bam, Tha Connection, Shaya and a new track by Convinced remixing GangStarr into "Mass Appeal '09." Tune in every Sunday at 9:30 PM EST, 8:30 Central via blogtalkradio.com/angrymarks and if you miss the live show be sure to look for the replay here on RapReviews or via our sponsor thecancerandmrob.com. The shows are 100% podsafe so distribute to your friends and tell them to visit RapReviews.com. Enjoy!

Download Here (right click to save)

Big B Debuts New Song Criminals Online


From James at Kerosene Media:

For Immediate Release: Big B Debuts New Song 'Criminals' Online

Skratch N Sniff Radio Offers Fans Chance To Win A Trip for Two To Las Vegas To Party With Big B, Carey Hart and Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo


Las Vegas heavyweight Big B has posted the new track “Criminals” online at www.myspace.com/HooliganBigB from his upcoming new album “American Underdog”, which is slated for release March 24th through Suburban Noize.

With his forth studio effort, "American Underdog", Big B has taken his sound ventured out on a musical expedition into uncharted territory. Working with the production team of J&A Productions (Dumbluck, OPM), Big B has elevated his sound to the next level by using his tested formula but also embracing the eclectic contemporary alt-rock of artists like Everlast and Citizen Cope. The album has already started to pick-up radio support with the lead single “Sinner” featuring Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo picking up early spins at KIWR in Omaha, KCXX in Riverside, WJRR in Orlando; WCCC and X107.5 XTreme Radio in Las Vegas amongst others.

"American Underdog" is the follow-up to “More To Hate”, which debuted at #17 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart and produced the surprise hit single “White Trash Life”. The song would go on to become one of the most requested tracks on Sirius Satellite Radio's FACTION and give Big B some of the biggest success of his career.

Big B has partnered with Skratch N Sniff Radio to offer fans a chance to win a trip for two to Las Vegas to attend an advance listening party of “American Underdog” alongside Hart & Huntington’s Carey Hart and Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo. For details please visit www.snsmix.com .

Big B will joining Kottonmouth Kings and La Coka Nostra on the Bring Tha Noize Tour alongside Blaze Ya’ Dead Homie and Potluck.

BIG B ON BRING THA NOIZE TOUR 2009:

Feb 25 Petaluma, CA @ Phoenix Theater
Feb 26 Chico, CA @ Senator Theatre
Feb 27 Portland, OR @ Roseland
Feb 28 Seattle, WA @ Showbox
Mar 01 Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory
Mar 03 Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Mar 04 Billings, MT @ Shrine Auditorium
Mar 05 Rapid City, SD @ Rushmore Hall
Mar 06 Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Mar 07 St. Paul, MN @ Myth
Mar 08 Fargo, ND @ Playmakers
Mar 09 Sioux Falls, SD @ Ramkota Exhibit Hall
Mar 11 Chicago, IL @ House of Blues
Mar 12 Milwaukee, WI @ Eagles Club
Mar 13 Detroit, MI @ Clutch Cargos
Mar 14 Cincinnati, OH @ Bogarts
Mar 15 Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Mar 17 Mokena, IL @ Pearl Room
Mar 18 Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
Mar 19 Cheswick, PA @ Gravity Nightclub
Mar 20 Worcester, MA @ The Palladium
Mar 21 Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head
Mar 22 Philadelphia, PA @ Theater of Living Arts
Mar 23 New York, NY @ BB Kings
Mar 26 Fort Lauderdale, FL @ Revolution
Mar 27 Saint Petersburg, FL @ Jannus Landing
Mar 28 Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
Mar 29 Sauget, IL @ Pops
Mar 31 Tulsa, OK @ Cains Ballroom
Apr 01 Kansas City, MO @ Beaumont Club
Apr 02 Wichita, KS @ Cotillion Ballroom
Apr 03 Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
Apr 04 Magna, UT @ The Great Salt Air

###

* www.FeedBigB.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

New Biggie Smalls Backstage Clip from Rap Phenomenon


From Golddust Media:

Biggie Smalls: Rap Phenomenon is the first official Biggie documentary to offer exclusive footage of the rap legend.  Check the footage below for an exclusive backstage look from the greatest rapper of all time.  Biggie Smalls: Rap Phenomenon is OUT NOW on Gold Dust.  See more footage at http://www.biggiesmalls-rapphenomenon.com.


For more info, check out:
Aceyalone & The Lonely Ones In Stores March 31st


From SonyBMG.com:

AceyaloneIN-STORES MARCH 31st - Aceyalone & The Lonely Ones

About the record:

Drawing on the sounds of Phil Spector, 60s girl groups, the J.B.s and a slew of raw, dirty funk for sonic inspiration, Aceyalone & The Lonely ones is a tribute album to the doo-wop, blues and funk genres that have been so inspiring to the MC.

The second in a series of genre-specific releases, Aceyalone & The Lonely Ones is a follow up to his 2007 Lightning Strikes, an ode to his love for Jamaican music.

Full big-band sound is coupled with finger snaps, falsetto choruses and Rickenbacker guitar that is a look more towards Motown & the Wall of Sound than today’s by-the-numbers beats.

Along with producer Bionik, each song was painstakingly produced to re-create the sound and feel of a long-gone era and augmented with modern flourishes. The result is an album that simultaneously looks forward and back for inspiration.

CLICK BELOW TO LISTEN TO A COOL ASS TRACK AND GET A FEEL FOR THE ALBUM

* http://www.myspace.com/aceyalone *

Artist:               Aceyalone
Title:                Aceyalone & The Lonely Ones
Sel.#                DCN-69
Barcode#         850717001803
Series              CD11
In-Stores          March 31st (Just in Time For Spring Love)

Loud.com Rap + Producer Finalists Episodes LIVE


From Loud.com:

Loud.com Presents... The Finalists, Season 2

New York, NY (January 28, 2009) - Loud.com, what's the word? Hope you had a great week and weekend. This newsletter comes after a few minor delays but not without the heavy, heavy news: THE RAP FINALISTS ARE DOWN TO THEIR LAST CHALLENGE AND THE PRODUCER FINALISTS HAVE BEGUN!!!

With Task #5: The Co-Sign in the books, Silent Knight was sent home. While he and his four remaining Finalists each killed their respective collabs, we had to let him go because he failed to turn in a full song. However, we extend our utmost appreciation for SK's participation in the contest and look forward to more music in the future. He had a big fan in Head of Radio & Promotions Jon Rifkind, and certainly made an impression on the rest of the staff.

That being said, Task #6: The Meeting is underway as we speak, with each Finalist here in NYC at the Loud.com/SRC Records building taking meetings with our A&R staff. Stay tuned until Friday when we release Episode 8 of The Finalists and show ya'll how it all went down. Maybe we'll even be... live? Stay tuned!! For now, be sure to check out our Loud.com Finalists Kyte Channel here with all the updates.

Now, don't think we forgot about the Loud.com Producers Finalists, either!! We had some great submissions this first round, and with some having a bit more slap than others, we had to eliminate three people: Jalyan Powers, JBatts14k and Oneil were all sent back to the boards. Head of Operations and A&R for SRC Records Jason Kpana speaks on the decision here. Stay tuned and see how the guys handle Task #2: Software Wizard! Expect to hear/see the creation of some dope sample-free beats, exclusively for Loud.com.

Now, a few other quick items of note:
***

Loud.com Finalists: Episode 7 – The Co-Sign

Charlie Hustle stopped through and talked about co-signs

    * Our Finalists locked in some incredible co-signs in only a week's time!
    * With extenuating circumstances prohibiting Silent Knight from submitting a track, it made a tough decision a little easier
    * Check out their collaborative efforts here

***

Loud.com Producer Finalists Episode 1 - Eliminations

VP of Operations and Head of A&R Talks the Finalists

    * The Producer Finalists each came with their Best Beat for Task #1
    * Three of our Top 10 were sent home... click through to see how it went down!

***

Steve Rifkind Battles Jamieson In Wall Smashing Contest

Steve negotiating the terms of the wall-smash

    * It started out with $100,000 offer to anyone that could knock him out...
    * It escalated into who could break a bone first...
    * And culminated in an age-old question: Is the headbutt mightier than the fist?

***

Loud.com Industry News Exclusives…

    * Lil Wayne + AT&T = Lame
    * Brand New Guest Blog: Sha Stimuli - Is It Me?
    * Industry News: Imeem Charging Money + Unlimited Downloads in France + Flickr Lawsuit

***

Good. Comedy. Period.

Katt Williams: Promo Cartoon - Poor Little Tink Tink

    * Check out a cartoon version of one of his sketches
    * "It's Pimpin, Pimpin" on CD is in-stores NOW!!! Be sure to check out the DVD version, too!
    * The outspoken comic is bringing his critically acclaimed brand of comedy to Warner Bros. Records


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive