Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday October 31, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Run the Jewels 2] Don't cry.

Run the Jewels Review

Latest News Headlines
Neosonic Productions - Ink Is My Drink Deluxe Edition


More big news from K-Murdock:

Ink Is My Drink - Deluxe Edition 

Now available through all major digital music retailers is the repackaged DELUXE EDITION of our 2006 album, "Ink is My Drink".  This version features the original 12 songs and their respective instrumentals along with some cool new artwork!  I posted up the "IIMD" instros myself earlier this year for FREE, and i'm sure there are still circulating links to them out there on the internet, but for those who really wanna support indie artist like us, this is your best option as we are doing this without the help of Rawkus!  Stay tuned for the deluxe editions of both "The Scenic Route" and "A Mind on a Ship Through Time" as well.

K

PURCHASE LINKS:




--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
Swollen Members Leak 'Cross Fire' Featuring Talib Kweli


From Kerosene Media:

For Immediate Release
 
Swollen Members Leak 'Cross Fire' Featuring Talib Kweli, Krondon, Phil Da Agony & Tre Nyce

***
 
Swollen Members have leaked the track “Cross Fire,” featuring Talib Kweli, Krondon, Phil Da Agony and Tre Nyce, online at http://www.zshare.net/download/6754234555b1c801/ . The track appears on Swollen Members’ new album, “Armed To The Teeth”, which features guest appearances by Tech N9ne, Everlast and Slaine from La Coka Nostra, Glasses Malone, and Talib Kweli.
 
"When we found out there was a chance we could get Talib Kweli on a track we jumped at the opportunity," commented Prevail. "We linked up with Talib, as well as Krondon and Phil The Agony, when we recorded the track. We have the highest respect for all three of those artists and I think the track is a classic example of the lost art of the posse cut."
 
SWOLLEN MEMBERS TOUR DATES:
Oct 27 - Flagstaff, AZ @ Orpheum Theatre
Oct 30 - Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
Oct 31 - Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre
Nov 02 - Ft. Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
Nov 03 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
Nov 04 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Nov 05 - Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Nov 06 - Bend, OR @ Domino Room
Nov 07 - Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theater
Nov 08 - Seattle, WA @ Neumo's
Nov 09 – Nanaimo, BC@ Queens
Nov 10 – Victoria, BC @ Elements
Nov 11 – Whistler, BC@ Moe Joe’s
Nov 12 – Vancouver, BC@ The Red Room on Richards
Nov 13 – Kamloops, BC@ Chrome City Night Club
Nov 14 – Lethbridge, ALTA@ Blarney Stone
Nov 17 – Calgary, ALTA@ Back Alley
Nov 18 – Edmonton, ALTA@ U of Alberta
Nov 19 - Sylvan Lake, ALTA @ Chef Francisco
Nov 21 – Winnipeg, MB@ Pyramid
Nov 23 – Fort Frances, ONT@ Townshend Theatre
Nov 24 – Thunder Bay, ONT@ The Roxy
Nov 25 – Sault Ste Marie, ONT@ Canadian Nightclub
Nov 26 – Cobalt, ONT@ Cobalt Classic Theatre
Nov 28 – Ottawa, ONT @ Ritual Nightclub
Dec 02 – Toronto. ONT @ Lee’s Palace
Dec 03 – Waterloo, ONT @ Starlight
Dec 04 – St Catherines, ONT@ Mikado
 
###

* www.MySpace.com/SwollenMembers *

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #27!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "Do you know how many times I've referred to one of my podcasts as a classic? Zero, that's how many times. OK, so I didn't really count, but I'm assuming it's either zero, or a really really low number. It's not that I don't think each and every one of my podcasts are great, it's just that after five years of radio and now a year of doing podcasts I know the word classic should be reserved solely for the nights when absolutely every aspect of the show is "on." That being said, from the music to the mic breaks, this episode of The Adam B Experience is truly a classic. Enjoy! Hit me up with feedback at AdamB@RapReviews.com." The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com - no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check out ABX right here at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Hip-Hop Shop #53 - Brand New For You!


You won't hear a lot of talking from me on Hip-Hop Shop 53 this week, but that's because I'm letting the new songs and artists we debut do it for me! You'll hear from TYPE 4, Diamond District, Top Cat and Postal among others, plus we close the show with Saigon paying tribute to his mom (R.I.P.) If you would like to sponsor Hip-Hop Shop please send an e-mail to dj.flash@rapreviews.com for more information. Hip-Hop Shop features podsafe music, so distribute the show and tell your friends to check us out every week at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* TYPE 4 - Written in Red
* Diamond District - Hologram
* Top Cat f/ 4ize, Senor Kaos - You Can Find Me on Twitter (Remix)
* Brown Bag AllStars - What It's All About
* Armageddon (formerly of Terror Squad) - It's Over
* Postal - Royal Rumble
* Saigon - My Mommy

'How the Grouch Stole Christmas' Tour w/ Mister F.A.B.


From Kim Trick:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

This winter, The Grouch returns with his highly anticipated annual, “How the Grouch Stole Christmas Tour”.  After the overwhelming success of last year’s outing, The Grouch raises the bar by going outside his usual cast of characters, and enlisting a handful of the West Coast’s most promising talents.

This year, the buzz worthy and undeniably dope duo of Fashawn & Exile will kick in the door with the opening duties. Fans will then be treated to a verbal assault delivered by none other than the Bay Area’s own charismatic ambassador, Mistah F.A.B. The Grouch, assisted by DJ Fresh, will close the evening, making sure that every heart, mind, and ear in the building has been stolen! Stacked with goodies and en route to the next city, the tour vehicle may “lose” a few gifts, only to be found by following The Grouch on Twitter (@therealgrouch).

"HTGSC", in its third year, began humbly in the city of Oakland, CA as a one off show.  Word and demand spread and 2008 saw the first “How The Grouch Stole Christmas Tour”. Accompanied by fellow Living Legend, Eligh, along with Paul Dateh and The Bayliens, last year’s tour proved to be a success, leading to its annual occurrence.

The string of robberies is slated to begin on December 2, 2009 in Salt Lake City, UT and finally come to an end in snowy South Lake Tahoe on December 19, 2009.

Tour Dates

Dec. 2, 2009 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Dec. 3, 2009 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird
Dec. 4, 2009 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theater
Dec. 5, 2009 – Santa Fe, NM @ Fusion Nightclub
Dec. 6, 2009 – Scottsdale, AZ @ Chasers
Dec. 7, 2009 – San Diego, CA @ Belly Up
Dec. 8, 2009 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones
Dec. 9, 2009 – San Luis Opispo, CA @ Downtown Brew
Dec. 10, 2009 – San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s
Dec. 11, 2009 – San Jose, CA @ Avalon
Dec. 12, 2009 – Sacramento, CA @ Empire Events Center
Dec. 13, 2009 – Arcata, CA @ Humbrew
Dec. 14, 2009 – Eugene, OR @ WOW Hall
Dec. 15, 2009 – Portland, OR @ Backspace
Dec. 16, 2009 – Seattle, WA @ Nectar Lounge
Dec. 18, 2009 – Reno, NV @ The Underground
Dec. 19, 2009 – South Lake Tahoe @ Bar 24

* http://therealgrouch.com *
* http://legendarymusic.net *
* http://myspace.com/thegrouch *
* http://twittercom/therealgrouch *

Bekay - Hunger Pains Available November 10th, 2009


Press release from Coalmine Records:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
October 26th, 2009

    BEKAY – HUNGER PAINS AVAILABLE NOV. 10TH, 2009


Coalmine Records is pleased to announce the November 10th release of Hunger Pains, the most recent full-length album from Coalmine’s flagship artist, Bekay. This project skillfully fuses Bekay’s artistic talent, over a dynamic soundscape assembled by many of the most revered producers in today’s urban marketplace. Hunger Pains is a project that took quite some time to create and Bekay & Coalmine Records is excited for its long awaited release.

Over the past few years, Bekay has created a loyal, cult-like following in the underground hip-hop community by relentlessly recording, performing and grinding. Known for his complex imagery, shock value and clever wordplay, Bekay has established himself as a controversial figure in the hip-hop game. His music has received acclaim from across the globe from both media and fans alike. DJ’s worldwide strongly support his music that has resulted in four college chart-topping singles, including the acclaimed “Where Brooklyn At?” feat. the late Old Dirty Bastard.

Bekay, the former 106 & Park contestant and Rawkus 50 alumni joined forces with the burgeoning Brooklyn-based Coalmine Records to craft a body of work that will clearly be defined as Bekay’s benchmark release to date. Hunger Pains features the production talents from industry heavyweights such as hit-maker J.R. Rotem, The Alchemist, Illmind, DJ Babu, Shuko, Marco Polo, BeanOne & Street Orchestra, among others. To boot, Hunger Pains boasts an all-star supporting cast that includes guest appearances from the legendary Masta Ace, Dilated Peoples, Saigon, Heltah Skeltah, Insepectah Deck, R.A. The Rugged Man, Wordsworth & DJ Revolution.

Matt Diamond, C.E.O. of Coalmine Records makes the following statement regarding the release of Hunger Pains. “This album represents everything that Coalmine Records stands for; artist development, conceptually diverse music, top notch production and the appropriate features/cosigns. I have been actively involved in the development of this project and it has been a genuine labor of love. To finally see this release come to fruition is a milestone for Coalmine. Personally, I’m excited to see how people react to this album and how it will propel Bekay into the next phase of his career.”

As part of the marketing campaign for this release, Coalmine will be launching a full-scale radio campaign for the album’s three singles “Brooklyn Bridge” feat. Masta Ace (prod. by DJ Babu), “I Am” featuring DJ Revolution (prod. by The Alchemist) and “Bloodsport” (prod. by Shuko). The entire album will also be promoted to DJs & tastemakers worldwide and will be charted through CMJ. Hunger Pains presents two videos associated with the album’s release; one for “Brooklyn Bridge” that includes an intro snippet of the album’s lead single “I Am” and another video for “Bloodsport” which was filmed at the legendary Gleason’s Gym. Additionally, Coalmine & Bekay will be will be lending promotional support through the organizing of a listening session/press day, release party and tour throughout Bekay’s key market cities. Last, a full-scale online/print ad & p.r. campaign will run concurrently with the album’s release.

From start to finish, Hunger Pains is a major achievement that will solidify Bekay’s standing in the game as an artist dedicated to both the progression and preservation of this culture.

Neosonic Productions - U-Streaming


From K-Murdock:

Many of you all may or may not know about this dope site called UStream that allows ANYONE to broadcast from ANYWHERE live!  I got hipped to it this past summer and after months of having an account and i am gonna start streaming myself, beginning TOMORROW NIGHT (10/27)  from 9 - 10pm EST during the final hour of my radio show, Subsoniq.  Naturally i'm callin' my broadcast "Neo-sonix" as it'll be a platform for me to talk about/play some of my new music! It also provides a cool way for fans to ask any questions about the upcoming Panacea album as well as my solo projects too.  Whether you listen to me or not, i highly recommend checking Ustream out... and if you do wanna chat with me, here's the URL to tune in:  www.ustream.tv/channel/neo-sonix

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS

Seņor Kaos "Walk Softly & Carry A Big Brick"


From Dunn Deal PR:

Señor Kaos "Walk Softly & Carry A Big Brick"

Atlanta, GA US – Atlanta’s own, independent emcee Señor Kaos releases a new project titled, “Walk Softly & Carry A Big Brick.”
 
For Kaos, the project title means to stay focused, strong in one’s convictions and to do so without being seen as a threat. When it comes to music, Kaos is soft spoken about his emcee abilities, but his lyrics hit listeners square in the face and serve as a wake up call for all other emcees. Kaos uses the title as an announcement to any formidable opponents on the microphone to be prepared.
 
The project features guest appearances by Bun B, Wale, 4-Ize, Punchline, Jaspects, Stacy Epps, 4th Pyramid, John Robinson, Stahhr, Homeboy Sandman and many more. The project also includes production from Large Professor, DJ Spinna, 9th Wonder, Von Pea, Jake One, 2 Hungry Bros. and others.

The tracklist is as follows:

1. Walk Softly Intro
2. Wake Up Time TSS Remix
3. Wandering Soul (Produced By 2 Hungry Bros.)
4. Classic Example Feat. 4 Ize & Punchline
5. Mr. Hollywood Remix Feat. P.So (Formerly P.Casso)
6. Trap Door Remix Feat. KeiPH & S.O.U.L. Purpose (Produced By Jake One)
7. Fallin Remix w/ Jaspects
8. Best In Show Remix Feat. Binkis Recs (Produced By Deep of 2 Hungry Bros.)
9. Ignorant Shit (Produced By Von Pea)
10. Move And Shake Feat. 4th Pyramid (Produced By Squashy Nice)
11. Searching For An Outlet Feat. Young Chris, Wale, & Bun B
12. Summer Madness Remix Feat. Daniel Joseph (Produced By Dj Spinna)
13. Word Play Remix Feat. Wale & Curren$y (Produced By 9th Wonder)
14. Floatin' Remix w/ Stacy Epps (Produced By Apex)
15. The Anthem Feat. Mel Ink, Sl One, Cuts By Dj Razor Ramon
16. Foolish Remix Feat. Ozy Reigns & Mojo Swagger (Produced By Dj Shakim)
17. Slick Money Feat. P.So (Produced By Large Professor)
18. Flavor In Ya Ear 2009 Feat. 4 Ize, Punchline, & PH (Pumpkinhead)
19. 20 Years High & Rising (Homage To De La Soul) Feat. Von Pea & Homeboy Sandman (Produced By Dave West)
20. Carry A Big Brick Outro
21. BONUS: Million MC March Feat. J.Mill, Pgnut, Jax (R.I.P.), John Robinson, Trip, E Class, Flux, Wysztsk, Bambu, Melo, A.D., 4 Ize, Stahhr, Jawz Of Life, Rubix, Tone, &  Manchild aka (ATL Underground)

 

The project is available for free download beginning on September 30, 2009 from The Smoking Section (TSS) www.smokingsection.net

"Walk Softly & Carry A Big Brick" is the follow up project to "Swagger Is Nothing, Talent Is Everything" which Kaos released at the end of 2008. The first project features guests appearances and production by Kanye West, DJ Rasta Root, Johnny Euphonic, Illastrate, Collective Efforts and the late Jax of Binkis Recs and is available for free download from The Kaos Effect, www.thekaoseffect.com.

###

 
About Señor Kaos: Content, delivery and showmanship are the three core values for Atlanta emcee Señor Kaos, whose unique approach to Hip Hop has sent him around the globe. As an emcee, marketer and blogger, his persona and work ethic makes it hard to disagree with his self-proclaimed title as “Cultural Influencer.” Kaos got his start in the music business at just 15 years old. At the age of 20, he was able to finance, secure distribution and release his own record independently. In 2003, he founded Vintage Imperial, a lifestyle marketing company specializing in viral marketing, product seeding/placement, focus groups, web development and event coordination. He also runs a popular blog called The Kaos Effect.

 

More info: www.thekaoseffect.com or www.senorkaos.com

 

Neosonic Productions - Blog Interview on "SFCB"


Neosonic Productions - Blog Interview on "SFCB"

"SFCB" or SearchingForChetBaker(.com) is a blog run by a fan/friend i recently made named Gary Anderson.  GA was cool enough to wanna feature me in an interview after getting familiar with some of the past work i did for The Crossrhodes.  Naturally i obliged, and the result is definitely one of the most honest exchanges i have had in LONG time regarding the things i like most in life- music &videogames... CHECK IT OUT!

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
A-T-L Ready For a Brand New "Battle"


From Martin Kelley:

* http://battlethemovie.blogspot.com/ *
 
ATLANTA READY FOR ‘BATTLE’


Atlanta, August 10-- ReelOne Entertainment announced today that principal photography on BATTLE will begin in mid August, in Atlanta. Award winning director Laron Austin (BEAT MAKERS) will lens the production, based on a script by Martin Kelley and Eddie Singleton. Starring Chris Burns (THE LENA BAKER STORY, SOMEBODIES), Onira Tares (JACK SQUAD) and Introducing Hip-Hop producer turned actor Conrad "HeadRoc" Clifton (Battery Five), Cassius Weathersby (You Got Served) will serve as Executive Producer.  Kelley and Singleton along with Kenno Rixson and Bennie Swint will round out the producing team.

“Battle” is a coming of age drama about an unknown producer RIPPA (Clifton) who pursues his passion for composing music. He wants to produce music for the top rappers in the industry and be respected as a producer worldwide.

His fast–talking manager and best friend JAY (Burns) tries to help him get ahead despite Rippa’s often temperamental attitude. He introduces Rippa to strong-willed student filmmaker MONIQUE (Tares) who wants Rippa to appear in her Hip-Hop documentary. However, this too is met with resistance from Rippa.

He must find his way and his own soul to his creations before he faces off at the Iron Chef Beat Battle competition. 16 talented contestants compete but only one can be left standing at the end of this explosive producers “Battle”.

“ Battle ” blends the mood, vigor, and themes of “8 MILE” with the perseverance and edge of “HUSTLE & FLOW” with the old school vibe of “JUICE”

Taurean Blacque joins ‘BATTLE’

Atlanta, August 26-- ReelOne Entertainment announced today that Emmy Nominated Actor Taurean Blacque joined the cast of  “Battle,” the Laron Austin (“BeatMakers”) directed film stars Chris Burns (“The Lena Baker Story”, “Somebodies”) Onira Tares (“Jack Squad”) and Conrad “Headroc” Clifton.  Scripted by Martin Kelley and Eddie Singleton. Executive Produced by Cassius Weathersby (“You Got Served”) Produce by Kelley and Singleton along with Kenno Rixson and Bennie Swint.

Taurean Blacque is best known for his role as “Detective Neal Washington” on the cop drama Hill Street Blues.

“Battle” is a coming of age drama about an unknown producer RIPPA (Clifton) who pursues his passion for composing music. He wants to produce music for the top rappers in the industry and be respected as a producer worldwide.

“Battle” blends the mood, vigor, and themes of “8 MILE” with the perseverance and edge of HUSTLE & FLOW” with the old school vibe of “JUICE”

About Reel One Entertainment

Atlanta based multi-platform content provider and Production Company, specializing in entertainment content, online Marketing, and Sales/Licensing.  Reel One Entertainment creates and produces low budget, high quality, genre content that entertain, inspire and inform.

Producer "Battle" (follow the blog)
* http://battlethemovie.blogspot.com/ *

Co-President, Atlanta Screenwriters Group
* http://www.atlscript.org *

Editor-In-Chief, CinemATL
* http://www.cinematl.com *

Purchase "Beat Makers" HERE.


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 28th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Black Milk's "If There's a Hell Below," Blu's "Good to Be Home," an editorial on Charles Barkley, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #297, Liotta's "Rap Music Heaven Is An Emcee's Hell," Logic's "Under Pressure," Rapsody's "The Beauty and the Beast," The Regiment x Random's "A Gamer's Anthem," Run the Jewels' "Run the Jewels 2" (our featured review) amd Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 21, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cornell's Adler Hip-Hop Archive. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive