Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Tuesday September 30, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Neverlove] Juno what I'm sayin'?

Buck 65 Review

Latest News Headlines
Cage Leaks New Track From Forthcoming Album


From Kimberly Trick:

People said his brain was infected by DEVILSCAGE LEAKS NEW TRACK FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM
Depart From Me

Cage – Depart From Me – Definitive Jux
Release Date: 07/07/09


Cage unleashed a new track on Twitter today from his forthcoming album, Depart From Me, due in stores on July 7th from Definitive Jux Records. The track “Look What You Did” is the third to surface from Cage’s highly anticipated follow-up to 2003’s Hell’s Winter and was produced by Hatebreed’s F. Sean.

Cage released the album’s first single “I Never Knew You” with a Shia LeBeouf produced video last month on MTVu along with a free EP by the same name.

Download and Share Cage “Look at What You Did” (Depart From Me)

* http://www.definitivejux.net/mp3/look_at_what_you_did.mp3 *

Pre-order Depart From Me
* www.departfromme.com *

Watch “I Never Knew You” video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4Sxm6zx4e8&feature=channel .

Get Cage’s I Never Knew You EP for free here:

MTV Subterranean: http://www.subterraneanblog.com/2009/05/18/download-cages-new-ep-in-full/ .

Shockhound: http://www.shockhound.com/albums/329335-cage-mp3s-i-never-knew-you-ep .

Limewire: http://www.store.limewire.com/store/app/pages/album/Album/productId/209533/ .

About Depart From Me

Definitive Jux is proud to present Depart From Me - the latest full-length album, from underground/indie-rap legend Cage, a/k/a Chris Palko. The follow-up to Hell's Winter, his 2005 critically-acclaimed LP, Depart From Me continues Cage's musical saga of a no-holds-barred, brutally autobiographical journey through his past and present. Cage explains, "The idea of making a positive change in my life and getting clean, that was Hell's Winter. Depart From Me is the struggle in implementing those ideas."

Cage began his career on the legendary Bobbito Garcia and Stretch Armstrong radio show and with the release of the single "Agent Orange" in 1997 on Garcia's label Fondle Em' Records. His talent led him to a deal with Eastern Conference Records, where he dropped his renowned full length LP, Movies For The Blind, one of the classic independent hip hop albums of this decade.

Plagued by abuse, institutionalization, drugs, and violence throughout his life, these nightmarish experiences have permeated his art and defined the music he makes today. Cage's music is truly reflective of a reality far stranger than fiction, he explains; "I want only to make music that is true to life, making a record that people can relate to.  This would prove harder than I ever imagined."

By 2005, Cage had paired up with rap legend El-P and his label Def Jux to produce Hell's Winter, a dark walk towards the light at the end of a tunnel. With the upcoming Depart From Me and I Never Knew You EP Cage illuminates the struggles he's faced upon entering a world that continues to be a source of loss and confusion. He's helped along in this task with production by El-P, F. Sean (Hatebreed), Aesop Rock, and the late, great Camu Tao (R.I.P.).

"Pain and loss, obsession and anger...  Love, depression and insecurities... Growth as well as failure and the ever challenging battle with addiction.  These things are the very soul of my record. Depart From Me is about knowing what is destroying you and struggling to get those things out of you.  This is my life.  This is my record.  I hope you enjoy it."

DEPART FROM ME out June 30th on Definitive Jux records

Plies to Drop New Single "Becky" Off "Goon Affiliated"


From Grubman PR:

Plies Releases Debut Single “Becky” this Friday June 19th, 2009
Creating National Discussion About Who Becky Really is…


NEW YORK, N.Y., June 19th, 2009 –Rap sensation and recording artist Plies is releasing his newest and most anticipated single “Becky” this Friday June 19th, 2009 from his 4th album titled “Goon Affiliated” after just a short six months after releasing his third album, Da REAList, which debuted at #1 on the Billboard Rap Charts Plies just can not get himself out of the studio, having released three best selling albums since just August 2007 all featuring chart-topping singles like “Shawty” featuring T-Pain, “Hypnotized” featuring Akon and “Bust It Baby Pt. 2” featuring Ne-Yo.

Plies’ forth album “Goon Affiliated” is slated to drop in September 2009 featuring this debut single “Becky”. Not only are we all waiting to hear the new sound of Plies, but another big question is, who is Becky? When asked, Plies responded, “Some of you all will be mad at me for saving this, but I’m in love with BECKY!” 

Another mystery leaving fans anxious for the release of “Goon Affiliated” is that Plies is not leaking the names of the top artists who have recorded rap features on the album as this will be Plies’ FIRST album to ever include a rap feature of a different artist.

When it comes to Plies, he knows how to keep it real, fresh and always current. “I’ve been blessed to be able to come back with three albums in 16 months,” “I feel like it’s something that hadn’t been done in the new era” states Plies. Now in his forth album “Goon Affiliated”, Plies promises yet another certified classic, full of new sounds, technology, and a new group of top notch producers that Plies himself hand-picked.

Plies forth album “Goon Affiliated” is anticipated to be his most celebrated album to date, which is hard to imagine after his success with previous albums “The Real Testament”, “Definition of Real” and “Da REAList”. “The Real Testament” and “Definition of Real” are both RIAA certified gold albums having sold over 500,000 copies each. Plies debut single “Shawty” featuring T-Pain peaked at #1 in Urban & Rhythmic Radio; “Hypnotized” featuring Akon  peaked at #3 on Billboard Hot 100; “Bust It Baby Pt. 2” featuring Ne-Yo also peaked at #1 on Billboard Hot 100. “Da REAList” debuted at #1 on the Billboard Rap Charts with the chart topping single “Put It on Ya” featuring Chris J.

ABOUT PLIES:

PLIES, born in the controversial streets of Ft. Myers, Florida, began his musical career in 2003 with the guidance of his older brother Ronell “Big Gates” Levatte.  Signed to Big Gates/Slip-N-Slide/Atlantic records, PLIES made an impressive national debut in August of 2007 with his certified gold album The Real Testament which spawned chart topping singles such as “Shawty” feat. T-Pain, “Hypnotized” feat. Akon and “I Am the Club” and sold over 3 million ring tones collectively.  The rapper has launched an interactive, dual purpose fan club, and kicked off a nationwide “Street Elections 08” campaign in preparations of his 3rd album Da REAList. Plies is currently preparing for the release of his 4th album “Goon Affiliated” set to release in September of 2009. To find out more information about PLIES and his movement visit www.PliesWorld.com, www.myspace.com/plies, or www.BigGatesRecords.com .

New Yak Ballz MP3 / EP Info


Download and Share Yak Ballz – Gas Galaxy - Definitive Jux
http://dailyrindblog.com/audio/yakballz_gasgalaxy.mp3

 

 

 

Yak Ballz Leaks First Track Off Forthcoming EP
And First Leak From Def Jux Presents 4 (Sept. 1st Release Date)
Gas Galaxy

 

Yak Ballzcid:image005.png@01C9EE83.7FF244C0

As he prepares for his nationwide tour with DJX recording artist and close friend Cage this summer, Yak Ballz is putting the finishing touches on his upcoming release, Gas Galaxy, and EP due out on Definitive Jux sometime in fall of 2009.

Queens-born and bred Yak has spent a decade in underground hip-hop making two promising LPs; 2004's My Claim and 2009's Scifentology 2 (Available for digital download from www.definitivejux.net).

Although a newcomer to some Def Jux fans, Yak Ballz has long been part of the DJX family and Weathermen crew (along with label mates and friends; Cage, El-P, Aesop Rock, Tame One, Camu Tao, and others). In fact, Yak's work with Aesop Rock, who did the production for his song Dirt Empire, has seen great success for both artists; proving once again Aesop's talents as a producer, and helping Yak's MTVu Freshman winning video to land over 40,000 views.

Yak's brand new website, yakballz.net is up and running now, cop the song Gas Galaxy today!!

And catch Yak Ballz and Cage in your home town this summer!!!

Thu    2-Jul    Brooklyn, NY    Southpaw
Fri    3-Jul    Brooklyn, NY    Southpaw  Southpaw
Sat    4-Jul    Toronto, ONT    El Mocambo
Sun    5-Jul    Cleveland, OH    Grog Shop
Tue    7-Jul    Chicago, IL    Reggies
Wed    8-Jul    Minneapolis, MN    Triple Rock
Fri    10-Jul    Denver, CO    Marquis
Sat    11-Jul    Salt Lake City, UT    Urban Lounge
Mon   13-Jul    Seattle, WA    Nectars    
Tue    14-Jul    Vancouver, BC    Richards
Wed   15-Jul    Portland, OR    Hawthorne
Fri    17-Jul    San Francisco, CA    Great American M Hall
Sat    18-Jul    Los Angeles, CA    El Rey Theater
Mon    20-Jul    San Diego, CA    Belly Up
Tue    21-Jul    Phoenix, AZ    Chasers
Wed    22-Jul    Albuquerque, NM    Launchpad  
Fri    24-Jul    Dallas, TX    Haileys
Sat    25-Jul    Austin, TX    Emo's
Sun    26-Jul    New Orleans, LA    Parish at  House Of Blues
Mon    27-Jul    Atlanta, GA    Masquerade
Tue    28-Jul    Carboro, NC    Local 506
Wed    29-Jul    Washington, DC    DC 9
Thu    30-Jul    Philadelphia. PA    First Unitarian Church
Fri    31-Jul    Boston, MA    Harpers
Sat    1-Aug    Providence, RI    Living Room

Yak Ballz on...

Myspace
YouTube
Twitter

E1 Music to Release Wu-Tang Clan's "Chamber Music"


Chamber MusicE1 MUSIC TO RELEASE NEW WU-TANG PROJECT
CHAMBER MUSIC ON JUNE 30TH, 2009

ALBUM FEATURES RZA, GHOSTFACE KILLAH, INSPECTAH DECK, U-GOD, KILLAH PRIEST AND MORE

NEW SONGS “HARBOR MASTERS” AND “ILL FIGURES” ALREADY HAVE THE STREETS BUZZING!


(New York, NY) - New York stand up! Staten Island put one fist in the air! On Tuesday, June 30th, 2009 E1 Music is set to release CHAMBER MUSIC, a brand new project from the Wu-Tang which pairs original Clan MCs with classics ‘90s rap veterans.

The project is Executive Produced by RZA.

CHAMBER MUSIC features: Ghostface Killah, Raekwon, RZA, U-God and Inspectah Deck, plus affiliate Killah Priest, alongside classic hip hop MCs such as AZ, Havoc (Mobb Deep), Cormega, Kool G Rap, Masta Ace, Sadat X (Brand Nubian) and Sean Price (Heltah Skeltah).

The return-to-form sound of CHAMBER MUSIC is the album hardcore Wu-Tang fans have waited years for.

CHAMBER MUSIC’s throw-back sound is inspired by classic soul and kung fu imagery.  It features a combination of new beats and live instrumentation by Brooklyn soul band The Revelations (all supervised by RZA) shaped in a classic vibe, reminiscent of the group’s 36 Chambers album but with a completely updated, modern twist.

Wu-Tang supreme architect RZA weighs in, “This album has a very live element of today’s musicians playing the vibe of Wu-Tang, know what I mean? The vibe we would normally sample, the vibe of things that we would accumulate through old soul songs, jazz songs, kung fu movies whatever, now you’ve got musicians that can play this vibe with Wu-Tang MC’s rapping over it. The goal of this album is definitely paying homage to our early sound. In the old days, we had to sample and find snares and things like that or chord changes just to make a beat. Now, this is being done it with a band. A lot of times, you hear rappers over a live band and that loses the hip-hop because a lot of those bands from the old days wasn’t from the hip-hop generation. On this album, we make it sound like it was in the 36 Chambers era. To me, what also adds to this album, you’ve got the Wu-Tang MCs but you also got your other favorite MCs from that era like Havoc, Cormega and others. This album can be played with a live band and it will sound BIG.”

The album’s first focus track “Harbor Masters” featuring Ghostface, AZ and Inspectah Deck brings back that gutter real hip hop from back in the day.

To listen, click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GS3AI92smT0 .

Also spreading now is “Ill Figures” featuring RZA, Raekwon, and Kool G Rap.

Click here to listen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yuI1Nj58zec .

The track listing for CHAMBER MUSIC is as follows:

1. Redemption
2. Kill Too Hard Ft. RZA, Inspectah Deck, U-God, Masta Killa
3. The Abbot Ft. RZA
4. Harbor Masters Ft. RZA, Ghostface Killah, Az, Inspectah Deck
5. Sheep State Ft. Rza
6. Radiant Jewels Ft. RZA, Raekwon, Cormega, Sean Price
7. Supreme Architecture Ft. RZA
8. Evil Deeds Ft. RZA, Ghostface Killah, Havoc
9. Wise Men Ft. RZA
10. I Wish You Were Here Ft. RZA, Ghostface Killah, Tre Williams
11. Fatal Hesitation
12. Ill Figures Ft. RZA, Raekwon, Kool G Rap
13. Free Like ODB Ft. RZA
14. Sound The Horns
15. Enlightened Statues Ft. RZA
16. NYC Crack Ft. RZA
17. One Last Question Ft. RZA

For more information, please visit www.myspace.com/rza or www.kochrecords.com .
New Videos - Tame One, Breez Evahflowin, Tanya Morgan & More


Time for some new videos to debut on the RapReviews newsfeed! This week we start with Tame One's "Anxiety Attacks."


Next up is Breez Evahflowin's lumberjack attack "When You Fall."

If you didn't hear Poison Pen on the latest edition of the Adam B Experience, (1) GO LISTEN TO THAT and (2) Check out "BK's Fat Boy" right here on Dollar Van Demos.

Eternia & MoSS are doing a web series on the road to their new album release, and the first episode is titled "Wrestlemania in Queens.

Last but not least here's Tanya Morgan performing "So Damn Down" live at Fat Beats.

Yung Ralph - Bought That D (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Yung Ralph
Title: Bought That D
Label: Money Maker/Big Cat Records

The title here is a little mystifying. On the song Ralph brags over and over again that he "bought that bitch," which makes me think the peeps who leaked this to me either made a typo, or the label decided that would be too explicit of a title for his single. The song isn't edited so it really doesn't make difference, as the only way this would get radio play is to be heavily cleaned up. My advice would be not to bother - it's another AutoTune chain swangah song with aspirations to be the next hybrid of Lil Wayne and Kanye. These songs aren't just a dime a dozen any more - they're a dime a thousand. Skip this one unless you're riding in the car, it comes on XM, and you can't take your hands off the wheel long enough to change the station.

Renz Julian f/ E-40, Twista - Pop N Lock


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Renz Julian f/ E-40, Twista
Title: Pop N Lock
Label: FOD Entertainment

Put two of my favorite rappers from V-Town and Chicago on a track and you're guaranteed to catch my attention. Unfortunately for Renz Julian that's ALL that is notable about "Pop N Lock." There's no reason to even listen to the second verse - you could cut it entirely and the song would be just as good if not a little better. 40's verse at the end is a little too short but he manages to outspeed Twista with the flow AND be twice as interesting as Julian. Obviously this is an up-and-coming rapper with a very big bankroll to spend on guest appearances but nothing about his rhymes on this song or the track that he flows on is worth mentioning again after this review. See you next time Renz, and come with some better ish.

Clipse - I'm Good (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Clipse
Title: I'm Good
Label: Columbia Records

"You can find me in the streets, even in a drought/My mattress is full, why shouldn't I be out?" Nothing has changed in 2009. Malice and Pusha T are still as braggadocious as ever, and to keep things even more familiar, Pharrell is on the track and the beat. You can't really blame Clipse though - there's no reason to reinvent the wheels they've been riding on when they've rolled this far to date. Far from hating, I'm happy to hear silly raps like "Cruisin' on them 22's got me sittin pretty/You should hear that engine purr - hear kitty kitty!" If Clipse suddenly decided to get profound, I'd get worried. This is a light track over a whistling electronic beat that as stated in song is "no offense to you" - it's just Clipse doin' what they do.

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #20!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "This show will be much loved by those who enjoy both underground Hip-Hop and listening to me fuck up on the mic. Seriously, it's a five star effort on both fronts. Enjoy!! Hit me up with feedback at AdamB@RapReviews.com." The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com - no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check out the freshness of ABX right here at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Hip-Hop Shop #35 - Del, Tanya Morgan, Pseudo Slang & More


Hip-Hop Shop is the precursor to K4D every week on Sunday night. Episode 35 features Del, Tanya Morgan, Pseudo Slang (with the surprising return of Grap Luva) and more! If you would like to sponsor Hip-Hop Shop please send an e-mail to dj.flash@rapreviews.com for more information. The Hip-Hop Shop is 100% podsafe so distribute to your friends and tell them to visit RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Featured tracks this week:

* Del the Funky Homosapien - Straight From the Big Bad West Coast
* Finale - Paid Homage (Tribute to Dilla)
* Tanya Morgan - Bang N Boogie
* Wordsmith - Twilight of My Arrival
* J57 f/ Mr. Porter - There's Only Hope
* Pseudo Slang f/ Grap Luva - Walkin'
* Trends - No


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 30th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you with more on the way! Check out All the King's Men's "All the King's Men," Adam Bernard' Adam B Experience #78, Buck 65's "Neverlove" (our featured review), an editorial for The War on Nostalgia, Zach Gase's Aahh Fest 2014 Recap, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #293, Madchild's "Switched On," Royal Flush's "Grand Capo," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 23, 2014 and Wara from the NBHD's "Kidnapped."

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like R.I.P. Praverb. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive