Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Tuesday September 02, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
A German Hip-Hop Press Release


Continuing the global movement of hip-hop, we give you this German press release that just showed up in my inbox with an accompanying english translation. (As such all linguistic conversion errors are theirs and not those of me or Babelfish.)

Newsletter Massiv   KOZ   RapPack only Rapshow on TV

Los Banditos on the move...with  Kopf oder Zahl . Finally the moment has come, the first dates for the long-expected preview are set. On Friday the 5th December at 9 pm the movie runs on it's Germany-Festival preview at the 14. Filmschau Baden-Württemberg.

Tickets can be booked here:
http://www.filmbuerobw.de/typo3/Filmprogramm_fuer_die_14__Filmschau.321.0.html?&no_cache=1&L=0

As there are just 145 seats at the festival, you have to rush if you want to see the movie in advance. In March 2009  Kopf oder Zahl  will start with 50 cinema-copies via in all Multiplex cinemas.  Also there will be a team-preview sometime next year.
Other news and more festivals at  www.kopfoderzahl-derfilm.de

Los Banditos on the move...

...with Germany's most provocative rapper Massiv. We shoot for Massiv his first three Singles from his album, out in 2009. For one of his videos we need your help! Do you want to be in the video, send us an application and we will get you in Massiv's movement. At the weekend of the 5th 6th or  7th December, you can spend the day with the Banditen and Massiv and you will definetely be built into the video. Also send this mail to all your friends and acquaintances  The more people, the better. We show Stuttgart that Massiv also has his fans here. E-Mail to info@lbfilms.de


Los Banditos on the move ...

...with Germany's only Hip Hop TV show. Los Banditos and Yavido present with  Los Banditos RapPack  after the end  of MTV Urban and MTV TRL the only Hip Hop show in Gremany show on Television. Always Saturdays at 7 pm and Wednesday at 8 pm we give you a whole hour of German Hip Hop. In case you can't receive Yavido and have satellite or cable, go to the following link. Here you can see all adjustments to see   Los Banditos RapPack  on your screen.
Broadcaststation adjustments: http://www.yavido.de/frequenzen.htm
Official website: http://www.rappack.de

Your Banditen,
Timo & Benjo

Press Release On 'Biggie Smalls: Rap Phenomenon' Documentary


Sent to us by Stephen Bolles at !k7:

Live from Bedford-Stuyvesant, the livest one- representin' BK to the fullest.  Indeed.  The news of Gold Dust and Roc-Darling's upcoming documentary, Biggie Smalls: Rap Phenomenon has lit up the web lately, promising exclusive footage of the legendary rapper shot on-stage and behind the scenes on his early tours.  To give fans a taste, we'll be providing a series of clips from the film, updated regularly.  Hit up the link below for a one of a kind look at a hip-hop icon.  Biggie Smalls: Rap Phenomenon will be out January 27th on Gold Dust.

R.I.P. MC Breed


Breaking news this afternoon and the news is not good. BlackVibes.com is reporting that Eric Breed, better known as legendary rap artist MC Breed, passed away last night of apparent kidney failure and related heart problems according to various sources. TMZ.com had reported that Breed had been taken off life support in the hospital yesterday, and the rapper had been ailing since his kidneys failed a couple months ago. Our condolences to his family, friends and many fans around the world. The pride of Flint, Michigan may have left us but for now and forever more there will still be no future in yo' frontin'.
FREE MUSIC FRIDAY #4: BACK FROM VACATION EDITION


Free Music Friday is back after a long long break. What can I say...gas prices were high? Since the recession is still going strong and while Obama will bring change, he like won't be lowering the price of a CD you can look here for some free music sure to keep money in your pocket for the upcoming holidays:

Lil Wayne - Dedication 3: http://www.zshare.net/download/5133385736a01a9f/

Even the mixtape game is hurting as Lil' Wayne would rather give away his latest in the legendary Dedication series. Fans and haters alike should find some rewind worthy material on this one.

SOHH.com: Ludacris and ATCQ Mixes:

http://blogs.sohh.com/atlanta/2008/11/sohh_atl_mix_at.html

http://blogs.sohh.com/atlanta/2008/11/sohh_atlanta_mu.html

As a warm up to the Q-Tip and Luda albums, SOHH released a few mixes in conjunction with DJ Shakim. This is true mixing with one long track so you actually buy the album if you like the artist.

SoSouth.com presents F-Action 52 - OG Ron C: http://www.sosouth.com/detaildownload.php?ID=7116

We need to head down south for second and hit up my favorite southern rap store/site. Sosouth usually has something free for download to hear what's new in southern rap. All you Screwheads can check out the latest F-Action mixtape for free - R&B screwed and chopped is an acquired taste but for free it's worth a try.

DJ Geometrix - Live Mixes (VA): http://soundcloud.com/djgeometrix/dj-geometrix-live-the-park-11-15-2008

Coming back up to... the south? Never quite know what to classify the DC/VA/MD area. Either way, this man uploads his live sets from club night and it sounds pretty tight if you need some amped music mixes. Word to the wise though - you better LOVE it before you even think of putting a ring on it.

Wordsworth - Free Mixtape: http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/news/id.8000/title.free-download-exclusive-wordsmith-mixtape

Wordsworth has hooked up with HipHopDX yet again for another free mixtape. Will someone help this dude drop an album already?

Charles Hamiltion - FREE MIXTAPES: http://www.iamnotcharleshamilton.com/

This dude has tons of free mixtapes to go with the tons of buzz he's been developing lately. I've heard a lot of good, but along with guys like 88keys and Asther Roth he's been on my listen list for a while. Beat me to the punch and score some cool points.

B.O.B. - NEXT BIG THING!: http://www.bobatl.com/category/mixtapes/

Speaking of next big thing - THIS DUDE IS THE TRUTH! Seriously. If you heard him steal the show on T.I.'s "Paper Trail" you know this already, but if not go and download now! His CD isn't out until next year, but he's dropped plenty of free mixtapes which I have MADE the time to listen to. He's that tight. GO! NOW!

Coast 2 Coast Mixtapes - EVERY DAMN BODY: http://www.coast2coastmixtapes.com/

You might as well bookmark these dudes - they have weekly mixtapes with everyone, their mamas, and their mama's dead grandmother's cousin twice removed. Seriously, if you don't find something you like in the mix you probably don't like rap.

Nipsey Hu$$le - Bullets Ain't Got No Name Vol. 2: http://sharebee.com/59e3900c

This is a new West Coast cat co-signed by Koch. Yes, I am aware Koch has cosigned some wack stuff, but it's better than a new West-Coast cat cosigned by the block, the hood, and the streets. Heard he's kind of tight though - let me know.

Ca$his & DJ Noodles - All Eyez On Me: http://djnoodles.com/blog/index.php/2008/11/12/dj-noodles-cashis-all-eyez-on-me-mixtape/

Apparently Eminem isn't the only Shady/Aftermath fellow prepping a new album...or should I say prepping a first album? It's been a long time since that EP so hopefully the album will come out...soon.

Stat Quo - The South Got Somethin to Say: www.myspace.com/statquo

Speaking of Shady/Aftermath - or should it be shady Aftermath? All I know is that Stat was once the top prospect and now he's not even on the team. The man keeps hustling and keeps fans happy with free music.

Well that's it for now! 11 links with probably close to 30 mixtapes? I think that's enough til next week. If you digest that in a week I will personally shout you out and give you your own section in FMF - I can see it now:

Too Much Free Time's Recommendation of the Week

Til Next Week!

Kanye West Exclusively Premieres New Album on MySpace


From Jim Merlis and BigHassle.com:

***MYSPACE MUSIC ALBUM EXCLUSIVE***
KANYE WEST EXCLUSIVELY PREMIERES NEW ALBUM ON MYSPACE MUSIC


Fans Will Be Able to Stream Entire 808s & HEARTBREAK Album Before Official Release
kanyeMySpace Music, the world's premier online music portal, is pleased to announce an exclusive premiere of Kanye West's much anticipated forthcoming album, 808s & HEARTBREAK. Beginning on Friday, Nov.21 at 12:01am PT, fans will be able to stream the album in its entirety for free on MySpace Music. This official premiere comes days before the album hits stores on November 24. Be sure to check out Kanye West's MySpace profile for the latest music, videos, news and more at www.myspace.com/kanyewest .

808s & HEARTBREAK, Kanye West's fourth album, is set to follow the pace set by his first three land-mark #1 releases - 2004's The College Dropout, 2005's Late Registration and last year's Graduation (released 9/11/07). The first two albums generated a total of six Grammy Awards, including consecutive wins for Best Rap Album of 2004 and 2005, and Best Rap Song of 2004 ("Jesus Walks") and 2005 ("Diamonds From Sierra Leone"). Graduation debuted at #1 on 956,936 first week sales, the biggest Soundscan debut by any album since Kanye's own Late Registration two years before - and the biggest debut in Island Def Jam history. Graduation generated three Grammy Awards: Best Rap Album, Best Rap Song ("Good Life"), and Best Rap Solo Performance ("Stronger"). Check out more news at www.kanyeuniversecity.com .

MySpace Music revolves around the millions major, indie, and unsigned artists that use their MySpace music profiles to communicate and intimately connect with fans and friends. Each music profile empowers artists to upload video content, blog, post tour dates, lyrics, and make their music available to fans for stream or download. As one of the most popular and highly trafficked music platforms in the world, MySpace Music has evolved into an offline experience by connecting bands and fans around the world through various concert series and live events.

###

About MySpace Music:
MySpace Music is a landmark joint venture among MySpace, The EMI Group, SONY BMG MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT, Universal Music Group, Warner Music Group, and Sony ATV, and whose independent music distribution partners include The Orchard, IODA, Alternative Distribution Alliance, RED, Fontana, and Caroline. MySpace Music offers an ever-growing catalog of freely streamable audio and video content, user-friendly e-commerce solutions, personal music players, and user and artist playlisting. MySpace Music aims to empower major, independent, and unsigned artists to monetize their content through multiple revenue streams by allowing the MySpace community to freely stream premium content in an ad-supported environment, purchase MP3s and ringtones, create and share playlists, and ultimately buy merchandise, concert tickets, and other digital and physical goods. MySpace Music also connects artists and fans in the offline arena through various concert series and live events including Secret Shows, MySpaceLIVE!, Transmissions, The Release, Front to Back and The List.

Jake Lefco "Teeth Chatter" Video


Hey everyone,
We hope things are good.

The Phillies won the World Series and Obama made it to the White House, it's been a good month!

We want shoot you the link to Jake Lefco's brand new "Teeth Chatter" music video. Check it and please feel free to spread the word. Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1FCF5aMAss


Peace,

Justin "Happ G"
Karma Response Unit Records
www.krurecords.com

The Dumbest Rapper of All-Time


In my many years in Hip-Hop I have seen and heard a lot of fantastic artists. I have also seen and heard some real dolts. It takes a special kind of artist to earn the title of The Dumbest Rapper of All-Time, though, which is what makes Rico Todriquez Wright so extraordinary.

Read the full story at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/11/dumbest-rapper-of-all-time.html

The Fat Boys - Can You Feel It?


I've got no good reason for posting this other than I'm nostalgic for some music I heard while I was growing up, and I found this shit on YouTube. R.I.P. to Buffy the Human Beatbox. Enjoy this clip!

E-40 to Perform MySpace Music Release Show


Press release courtesy of Tito Belis and BigHassle.com.

E-40 TO PERFORM MYSPACE MUSIC RELEASE SHOW AT SOBE LIVE IN MIAMI BEACH, FL, ON FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 21

NEW ALBUM "THE BALL STREET JOURNAL" IN STORES AND ONLINE ON NOVEMBER 25 ON WARNER BROS./SICK WID' IT RECORDS

MySpace Music is proud to announce that E-40 will be performing a free show for his MySpace friends at SOBE Live in Miami Beach, FL, on Friday, Nov. 21, 2008 - a show being powered by AT&T. The Release Show will have 200 tickets available for the 21+ show, and admittance will be handled on a first-come, first-served basis beginning at 11 p.m., with the performance starting immediately after.

Known for his atypical, imaginative rhyming style and entrepreneurial spirit by way of his notable Sick Wid' It record label, the Bay Area's E-40 is the true definition of a scene pioneer. After releasing a number of regionally-received albums throughout the course of the '90s and '00s, E-40 is back with his latest album titled "The Ball Street Journal" on Warner Bros./Sick Wid' It Records. Featuring guest appearances from the likes of Snoop Dogg, Ice-T, Akon and The Game, "The Ball Street Journal" is another notch in this rap phenom's belt, and serves as yet another offering for the preservation of Bay Area hip-hop creativity and innovation.

SOBE Live
1203 Washington Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
305.695.2820
sobelivesouthbeach.com

Please visit E-40's MySpace page for the very latest news items, tour dates and media: http://www.myspace.com/e40 .

For more information on MySpace Music Release Shows, please visit: http://www.myspace.com/hiphop .

About MySpace Music:

MySpace Music is a landmark joint venture among MySpace, The EMI Group, SONY BMG MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT, Universal Music Group, Warner Music Group, and Sony ATV, and whose independent music distribution partners include The Orchard, IODA, Alternative Distribution Alliance, RED, Fontana, and Caroline. MySpace Music offers an ever-growing catalog of freely streamable audio and video content, user-friendly e-commerce solutions, personal music players, and user and artist playlisting. MySpace Music aims to empower major, independent, and unsigned artists to monetize their content through multiple revenue streams.by allowing the MySpace community to freely stream premium content in an ad-supported environment, purchase MP3s and ringtones, create and share playlists, and ultimately buy merchandise, concert tickets, and other digital and physical goods. MySpace Music also connects artists and fans in the offline arena through various concert series and live events including Secret Shows, MySpaceLIVE!, Transmissions, The Release, Front to Back and The List.

Murphy Lee - "My Shoes" Video


Press release courtesy of Audible Treats.

Murphy Lee - "My Shoes" Video

The Video:

Murphy Lee's makes his triumphant return to the center-stage of hip-hop with the video for "My Shoes" off his much anticipated and yet to be released album, You See Me. As if just Murphy Lee wasn't enough to get you clicking over to the video, you'll get a peek at Kanjia and a cameo from fellow St. Lunatic, Nelly. The video takes you right back to the glory days of the St. Lunatics and is a portent of the revival to come with Murph's new album. With honeys and whips aplenty, the boys show off their kicks and steeze in true southern style. Stick around 'til the end for a real drrty breakdown.

The Background:

Before being known as a hip-hop hitmaker, Murph joined his friends, including Nelly, to create the St. Lunatics when he was still in his teens. After appearing on Nelly's first release, the multi-platinum Country Grammar album in 2000, Murph went on to release his solo album, Murphy's Law, in 2003. He has worked with legends such as Jermaine Dupri and Lil Wayne and won a Grammy for the song "Shake Ya Tailfeather" featuring Nelly and Diddy. Look out for second solo album You See Me soon on Derrty Ent. / Universal Records.
Streams:

"My Shoes"
* http://umrg.edgeboss.net/wmedia/umrg/436-murphy_lee/token/murphy_lee_-_my_shoes_clean_96k.asx *
* http://umrg.edgeboss.net/qtime/umrg/436-murphy_lee/token/murphy_lee_-_my_shoes_clean_96k.mov *
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWKWh19ZzCY *

Murph or Die! You Choose hosted by DJ Sir Thurl
* http://www.zshare.net/download/50586709d4de6a81/ *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/MurphyLee *

MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/MurphyLee *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive