Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday September 22, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dark Horse] Never coming in last.

Twista Review

Latest News Headlines
Nu Jerzey Devil Debuts Art of the Devil March 3


For Immediate Release

Nu Jerzey Devil Debuts Art of the Devil March 3
New EP and Album Coming in 2009 on SoBe Entertainment
Currently with The Game on LAX Tour Nationwide

 
Miami, FL -- It is quickly becoming the standard for Hip Hop artists to be multi-faceted, taking their talent to the mainstream in creative ways. As a producer, DJ and now full-fledged recording artist, Nu Jerzey Devil is ready to pursue new endeavors at every turn. He set things off in 2009 with the self-produced hit single "Different Girls" featuring Lil Wayne, and is releasing the Art of the Devil mixtape on March 3. Jerzey is also currently on tour with The Game, opening shows across the country through the end of March.
 
Using Art of the Devil as a teaser for his fans, Nu Jerzey Devil will follow with his Heaven or Hell EP in May, and the Devil's Playground full-length album coming in Fall 2009. The projects will be released through Nu Jerzey Devil's own Livelihood Entertainment in conjunction with SoBe Entertainment and Universal Music Group / Fontana Distribution.  
 
Bronx-born and New Jersey-raised, Nu Jerzey Devil began his career as a child, aspiring first as a rapper and later as a DJ and producer. Before he even turned 21, Jerzey was working with famed producer Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins on music for major film projects like Honey and My Baby's Daddy. His associations in Los Angeles led him to a meeting with then up-and-coming artist The Game, and history was made as Jerzey joined the Black Wall Street team as an in-house producer.
 
Since he started with BWS in 2004, Nu Jerzey Devil has traveled the world as The Game's DJ, and has produced tracks for the likes of The Game, Fat Joe, Lil Scrappy, Busta Rhymes, Stack Bundles and scored QD3's Beef III DVD. He unleashed his own first official single "Different Girls" in late 2008, and will be debuting the video in March.
 
Art of the Devil includes original production from Scott Storch, Oddz&Endz and MegaMillz amidst a variety of industry beats. Additionally, Nu Jerzey Devil has enlisted some key artists for cameos on the project, including Young Buck, Maino, Urban Mystic, Ray J, Baby, Lil Wayne, Stack$, Trae, Ya Boy and Jay Rock.
 
"I was careful about collaborating with people who bring something to my personal sound," explains Jerzey. "This is my first official project as a rapper, and I'm definitely capable of doing so much more. I want the fans to know who I am as an artist."
 
Nu Jerzey Devil is continuing to develop the Heaven or Hell EP and Devil's Playground debut album, with production from the likes of Scott Storch, E.P. (Executive Producer for The Game’s LAX album) and LiveliHood Entertainment production team Surround Sound. The feature line-up thus far includes Reggae star Jah Cure, R&B sensation Raheem DeVaughn, Lil Wayne and The Game.
 
The young entrepreneur also diversified his career in 2007 by launching Heaven or Hell Clothing with Nish Bhargava. The edgy, vibrant line of hoodies, tees and sneakers is available at their retail store in South Beach, and distribution will grow in 2009. Jerzey also continues his work with Black Wall Street and The Game, and the duo are planning a new mixtape later this year.
 
As he prepares the March 3 release of Art of the Devil, Nu Jerzey Devil is confident in his transition to the front of the stage, and asserts that he will continue to evolve in his music. “I just want people to know that Nu Jerzey Devil is definitely a well-rounded artist. You never know what to expect from me. Today I might be on some hood sh*t, and tomorrow I can be on some pop record. I do music for the whole world, not just for one area or person. I don’t limit myself at all.”
 
For more information on Nu Jerzey Devil go to www.tygereye.net/nujerzeydevil, www.jerzmusic.com, www.myspace.com/nujerzeydevil and www.sobeentertainment.com .
 
For interviews and press information, contact dove@tygereye.net
 
Art of the Devil track list
 
1.   Intro
2.   Official Bloodline f/ Jay Rock
3.   Rapper Slash Rocker f/ Ya Boy
4.   Shyne Like Me (freestyle)
5.   Different Girls f/ Lil Wayne - prod by Nu Jerzey Devil
6.   Drink By The Pint f/ Josh Franks
7.   Rep Where You Stay
8.   Put My Flag On (freestyle)
9.   Somebody's Gonna Die 2nite f/ Viper - prod by Oddz&Endz
10. Do You
11. Hate f/ Young Buck
12. Meet The Devil (freestyle)
13. Jerzey: We Go Hard
14. How I Does - prod By MegaMillz
15. Jerz Is Nice (freestyle)
16. That's Me f/ Urban Mystic - prod by Scott Storch
17. So Wet f/ Ray J
18. Colorful Clothes f/ Lil Wayne, Baby, Maino, Trae, K.Dot
19. In My City f/ Stack$
 
LAX TOUR DATES
 
2/26  Portland, OR @ Roseland (8 NW 6th Ave, 97209)
2/27  Seattle, WA @ Showbox SoDo (1700 First Ave S, 98101)
2/28  Eugene, OR @ McDonald Theatre (169 W 6th Ave, 97401)
3/1    Medford, OR @ Main One Arts Center (821 N Riverside, 97501)
3/2    Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory (416 S 9th St, 83702)
3/4    Idaho Falls, ID @ Civic Auditorium (501 Northgate Mile, 83401)
3/5    Missoula, MT @ Wilma Theater (131 S Higgins, 59802)
3/6    Salt Lake City, UT @ Great Saltair (12408 W Saltair Dr, 84044)
3/7    Albuquerque, NM @ Sunshine Theater (401 2nd St NW, 87102)
3/8    Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre (935 E Colfax Ave, 80206)
3/9    Aspen, CO @ Belly Up (450 S Galena St, 81611)
3/10  Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre (1135 13th St, 80302)
3/12  Tulsa, OK @ Cain's Ballroom (423 N Main St, 74101)
3/13  San Angelo, TX @ San Angelo Coliseum (50 E 43rd St, 76903)
3/14  Dallas, TX @ House Of Blues (2200 N Lamar St, 75202)
3/15  Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live (813 St Emanuel St, 77003)
3/16  New Orleans, LA @ House Of Blues (225 Decatur St, 70130)
3/18  Norfolk, VA @ The NorVa (317 Monticello Ave, 23510)
3/19  New Haven, CT @ Toad's Place (300 York St, 06511)
3/20  Providence, RI @ Lupo's Heartbreak Hotel (79 Washington St, 02903)
3/21  New York, NY @ Blender Theater (127 E 23rd St, 10010)
3/24  Bloomington, IN @ Jake's Nightclub (419 N Walnut St, 47404)
3/26  Ft. Wayne, IN @ Piere's (5675 St. Joe Rd, 46835)
3/27  Minneapolis, MN @ Epic (510 1st Ave N, 55403)
3/28  Columbus, OH @ Red Zone (303 S Front St, 43215)
3/29  Chicago, IL @ House of Blues (329 N Dearborn, 60610)
 
About Nu Jerzey Devil

Nu Jerzey Devil is on track to epitomize the meaning of “jack of all trades” when it comes to music, and he’s focused on being the master of all that he does. His new single “Different Girls” featuring Lil Wayne has catapulted the established Black Wall Street producer/DJ to overnight recognition as a lyricist and songwriter, kicking of his bigger plan for 2009.

In addition to developing his own LiveliHood Entertainment label, Nu Jerzey Devil will be releasing his Art of the Devil mixtape project on March 3, followed by an EP of original work entitled Heaven or Hell in April, and his full-length debut album Devil’s Playground in August, all in association with SoBe Entertainment, Universal Music Group and Fontana Distribution.

Born Anthony Torres in the South Bronx, Nu Jerzey Devil lived on Cedar Avenue with his family. When he was four-years-old, his mother and six siblings moved to New Jersey. The youngest of the children, Torres emulated his older brothers every move and soon caught on to their influences in Hip Hop. By age seven, Nu Jerzey Devil began rapping, and when he was 18 he traded a friend a .45 caliber gun for DJ equipment. As the inspiration to make music overtook him, he procured a Dr. Rhythm beat machine and a Yamaha DJX keyboard to start his own production endeavors.

Within two years of his start-up as a producer, Jerzey was contacted by Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins of Darkchild Productions. Impressed by the budding artist, Jerkins took Jerzey with him to Miami for a few meetings. When they returned home, Nu Jerzey Devil immediately joined the Darkchild team, and scored the soundtrack for the 2003 Jessica Alba film Honey (Universal Pictures). The pair then moved to Los Angeles and worked on My Baby’s Daddy (Miramax Films) starring Anthony Anderson, Eddie Griffin and Method Man.

During his time in L.A., Jerzey linked with Darkchild team member Phat Rat, and was introduced to Dr. Dre protégé The Game. They immediately hit the studio and recorded “The Black Wall Street Anthem” – most notably heard as The Black Wall Street’s intro on their official website. The chemistry bubbled as the duo continued recording, as The Game was simultaneously creating The Black Wall Street label. Without hesitation, Nu Jerzey Devil was the first signee to the new company. He moved to Compton, California to Cedar Block, and history was in the making.

While Nu Jerzey Devil continues to produce and record with The Game and the rest of Black Wall Street, he is now taking the time to act on his aspirations for a solo career. “I always wanted to be an artist, but never really took it seriously,” he explains. “One day Game said, ‘You should start rapping since you already have a fan base’ and I was like, ‘You know what? Why not?’ And that’s when I went in and laid down some vocals.”

Nu Jerzey Devil’s first official rap venture is the single “Different Girls” featuring Lil Wayne, which has turned out to be an instant hit with fans. His new mixtape Art of the Devil will give the streets a solid taste of Jerzey’s lyrical and songwriting abilities.

Features will include a few artists including Lil Wayne, Maino, Ray J, Young Buck, Baby, Stack$, Jay Rock and Urban Mystic; however this is going to be a true testament to Nu Jerzey Devil’s own talent. "I was careful about collaborating with artists who bring something to my vision for the mixtape," explains Jerzey. "This is my first real presentation of myself on the mic, so I want the fans to know who I am as an artist."

The upcoming EP Heaven or Hell and full-length album Devil’s Playground will further the movement as he incorporates original production and well thought-out guest spots. Other producers already slated for these projects include Scott Storch, E.P. (Executive Producer for The Game’s LAX album) and Jerzey’s own LiveliHood Entertainment production team Surround Sound. The feature line-up thus far includes Reggae star Jah Cure, R&B sensation Raheem Devaughn, Lil Wayne and The Game.

As he develops his music, Nu Jerzey Devil will set aside outside projects for a while; however he is confident in his long term relationship with Black Wall Street being there as he grows. “Me and Game will always work together,” explains Jerzey. “He’s been my homie since day one, and will always be my homie no matter what. We are actually planning on dropping a new mixtape together really soon, so be on the lookout for that!”

While he reps New Jersey to the fullest, the young world-traveler is taking a universal approach to his music. “I just want people to know that Nu Jerzey Devil is definitely a well-rounded artist. You never know what to expect from me. Today I might be on some hood sh*t, and tomorrow I can be on some pop record. I do music for the whole world, not just for one area or person. I don’t limit myself at all.”
Yea Big & Kid Static Get Robotic w/ GZA & Mega Man


Yea Big & Kid Static Get Robotic w/ GZA & Mega Man

Howdy Friend!

Yea Big and Kid Static here.  We are sooooo excited to share with you some news about our forthcoming album, The Future's Looking Grim, and to offer for your listening and sharing pleasure, our first single - Bots!- our ode to our favorite 8 bit game hero MEGA MAN!!!!!!!!!!

DOWNLOAD BOTS (MP3)

That's right, We're back! We're back with 11 bangy glitchers, full of cacophonous synths, syllabic tumbling and enough boom-bap and flow for even the most staunch heads.  The blend of Static's old-schoolish narratives with Big's affinity for high-speed low-bits makes for quite the delicious, caffeinated beverage.  Grim gets all kinds of dark with themes of  death, nightmares, corporate greed, vehicular homicide, the Bible Belt, famous a-hole people, killer robots and...  sandwiches!!!! The future is indeed looking grim! But make no mistake, for all its ominous imagery, this is some poppy shitz for you to shake your ass up against the economic downturn!!!! Get Some. Oh, did we mention that our best buddy Brad Mae-Shi is all over this muvfukr? He is! Get Some more!


The Future's Looking Grim will be out digitally on our Jib Door imprint on April Fool's day.

EVENT

To celebrate, we'll be playing a gig in Iowa at the Mission Creek Festival in Iowa City with our best friend the GZA!!!!!!!!!! Broters and sisters who wanna get physical can look for a cd release early this summer.


Thanks a ton for your time!  And as always, for more info you can visit http://myspace.com/yeabigkidstatic or contact us directly at this email address.  We would love to hear from you because we LOOOOOOOVE YOU!

Yours,
YB+KS
Zion I Now on Tour


Press release courtesy Stephen B. and k7.com.

For Immediate Release:
-----
The TakeOver has finally landed!  With the new album being hailed as a gigantic leap forward, Zumbi and AmpLive are taking their show on the road.  Look for one of the best live shows in hip-hop coming soon to a city near you, with more dates to follow soon.  The TakeOver is out now on Gold Dust.


February 25 2009 San Francisco, California- The Mighty
February 27 2009 Escondido, California- Woodies Sports Bar
March 10 2009 Berkeley, California- UC Berkeley
March 12 2009 Tempe, Arizona- The Blunt Club
March 13 2009 Flagstaff, Arizona- The Green Room
March 14 2009 Durango, Arizona- The Abbey Theater
March 18 2009 Austin, Texas- SXSW The Back Alley Social Club
March 19 2009 Austin, Texas- SXSW The Marq
March 21 2009 Denver, Colorado- Cervantes Masterpiece Ballroom
March 22 2009 Fort Collins, Colorado- Hodi's Half Note
March 27 2009 Sonoma, California- Sonoma State University
March 28 2009 San Rafael, California- Dominican University
April 1 2009 Riverside, California- UC Riverside
April 3 2009 Santa Cruz, California- UC Santa Cruz
April 5 2009 Arcata, California- Humboldt Brew
April 7 2009 Eugene, Oregon- WOW Hall
April 8 2009 Seattle, Washington- Neumo's
April 9 2009 Portland, Oregon- Berbati's Pan
April 11 2009 Bellingham, Washington- The Nightlight Lounge
April 17 2009 Missoula, Montana- The Badlander
April 18 2009 Bozeman, Montana- Zebra Lounge
April 20 2009 Salt Lake City, Utah- Urban Lounge
May 8 2009 Madison, Wisconsin- The Orpheum Theater

...and if you missed them, check out:
"DJ DJ" Remix Contest • TakeOver TV
 The Search & The Seizure Mixtape • "Juicy Juice" video •

For More Info, Check Out:
* http://www.zioni-thetakeover.com *
* http://www.zionicrew.com *
* http://www.myspace.com/zioni *

Kottonmouth Kings and La Coka Nostra Unite For Bring Tha Noize Tour


Kottonmouth Kings and La Coka Nostra Unite Underground Hip-hop For Bring Tha Noize Tour

La Coka Nostra Consists of Everlast, DannyBoy,
DJ Lethal, Ill Bill and Slaine
***

California rip-hop hybrids the Kottonmouth Kings have again rallied the troops as leaders of a movement of underground hip-hop that unites fans of all genres and walks of life. The group has partnered with the hottest hip-hop super group La Coka Nostra - composed of members Ill Bill, Slaine and ex-House of Pain members Everlast, DannyBoy and DJ Lethal - to unite all facets of the underground for the Bring Tha Noize Tour. Joining the fight will be a collection of the underground’s rising stars in Blaze Ya’ Dead Homie, Big B, Potluck and Short Dawg Tha Native. The tour is proof that the underground musical movement spearheaded by its headliner’s can no longer be ignored by the mainstream.

"We plan on blowing doors down and raising the roof at every venue we step into. We will be bringing the noize and laying down laws," says Kottonmouth Kings frontman Daddy X. "If the music business is dying a slow death then we are the hands around the neck choking it out. We play by our own rules, always have and always will, and the Bring Tha Noize Tour will prove once again that the power is with the people."

"We're amped to be a part of the Bring Tha Noize tour and look forward to tearing it down each and every night,” adds La Coka Nostra’s Ill Bill. “We will be hitting the road for the very first time since the group got together two years ago. With our debut album 'A Brand You Can Trust' about to be released on Suburban Noize, who better to do our first full length US tour with than the Kottonmouth Kings. A special shout out to all the diehard Coka fans that have been patiently waiting for us to come to your town. The time is finally here!"

Kottonmouth Kings' Bring Tha Noize Tour comes on the heels of the group debuting at #1 on Billboard’s Independent Charts with their new studio album “The Green Album”. The group also headlined last summer's biggest underground music tour, The Strange Music Festival alongside Tech N9ne. The tour smashed all expectations with huge turnouts and over 90% of the two-month tour was sold out beyond capacity.

La Coka Nostra will release their upcoming debut “A Brand You Can Trust” through Suburban Noize Records in early 2009 packed with collaborations by Snoop Dogg, Cypress Hill, Bun B, Psycho Realm, Q-Unique, Immortal Technique and the Alchemist. The group will embark on the Bring Tha Noize Tour alongside Kottonmouth Kings, Blaze Ya’ Dead Homie, Big B, Potluck and Short Dawg beginning in late February through early April.

Blaze Ya' Dead Homie has been a fixture on the underground scene since dropping his now classic self-titled debut on the legendary Psychopathic Records back in 2000. His new album "Clockwork Grey" made the Billboard Top 100 a testament to his non-stop work ethic and relationship with his die-hard fans.

Big B is will release his highly anticipated new album "American Underdog" on March 24th through Suburban Noize. The album is his most eclectic and diverse album to date and propels Big B into the same league as eclectic contemporary alt-rock of artists like Everlast and Citizen Cope. Trading in his tried and tested hip-hop beats in favor the more earthly sound of the guitars and drums, Big B has embraced his melodic side and stepped up his songwriting sensibilities to produce a career defining album that takes his sound to new levels.

Humboldt’s hip-hop heroes Potluck is riding high off the success of their recently released new album “Pipe Dreams”. Bolstered by some sticky musical chemistry with guest appearances from Strange Music’s Krizz Kaliko, Cool Nutz, Tristate (One Session), counter-culture icons Kottonmouth Kings and Twiztid, the album is quickly becoming an underground classic.

Short Dawg Tha Native is ready to revolutionize the underground hip-hop world. After touring with acts like Akon, Missy Elliot, Tech N9ne and Three 6 Mafia, Short Dawg Tha Native is globally recognized for his grinding work ethic.

BRING THA NOIZE TOUR 2009:

Feb 25 Petaluma, CA @ Phoenix Theater
Feb 26 Chico, CA @ Senator Theatre
Feb 27 Portland, OR @ Roseland
Feb 28 Seattle, WA @ Showbox
Mar 01 Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory
Mar 03 Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Mar 04 Billings, MT @ Shrine Auditorium
Mar 05 Rapid City, SD @ Rushmore Hall
Mar 06 Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Mar 07 St. Paul, MN @ Myth
Mar 08 Fargo, ND @ Playmakers
Mar 09 Sioux Falls, SD @ Ramkota Exhibit Hall
Mar 11 Chicago, IL @ House of Blues
Mar 12 Milwaukee, WI @ Eagles Club
Mar 13 Detroit, MI @ Clutch Cargos
Mar 14 Cincinnati, OH @ Bogarts
Mar 15 Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Mar 17 Mokena, IL @ Pearl Room
Mar 18 Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
Mar 19 Cheswick, PA @ Gravity Nightclub
Mar 20 Worcester, MA @ The Palladium
Mar 21 Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head
Mar 22 Philadelphia, PA @ Theater of Living Arts
Mar 23 New York, NY @ BB Kings
Mar 26 Fort Lauderdale, FL @ Revolution
Mar 27 Saint Petersburg, FL @ Jannus Landing
Mar 28 Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
Mar 29 Sauget, IL @ Pops
Mar 31 Tulsa, OK @ Cains Ballroom
Apr 01 Kansas City, MO @ Beaumont Club
Apr 02 Wichita, KS @ Cotillion Ballroom
Apr 03 Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
Apr 04 Magna, UT @ The Great Salt Air

Super Mario Bros Gets Finale


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

Interdependent Media Release Online Video Game Super Finale in Support of Finale's A Pipe Dream And A Promise      02.25.2009

Fans Receive FREE Download Of "One Man Show Remix" Upon Completion Of The Game, An Exclusive Track Not On Finale's Upcoming Debut Album

The Videogame:

Fresh off his grimy single "Motor Music" Finale is back with something completely different for our ears, eyes, and fingers. In the style of the original Nintendo classic Super Mario Bros., Interdependent Media, in celebration of Finale's upcoming album A Pipe Dream and a Promise, is introducing Super Finale. Created in an easily embeddable format, Super Finale lets fans and video game junkies alike steer Finale through an obstacle course of pipes and brick boxes using their computer's arrow buttons. Although this version doesn't let you win the heart of the Princess, you do receive an exclusive FREE download of the Black Milk produced "One Man Show Remix." In keeping with the era of the game, players are accompanied by a specially commssioned 8-bit (read 1980's video game soundtrack) version of the track, also available here: http://media.audibletreats.com/Finale-One_Man_Show-A_Rival_8-Bit_Remix.mp3 .

Play the game: http://www.imculture.com/_superfinale .

The Background:

Before making his entrance into hip-hop, Finale worked as an automotive engineer promising to one day follow his dream of becoming a rapper. Making the rounds at local Detroit open mics and emcee battles, Finale began to mingle with local talents like Guilty Simpson and One.Be.Lo. After emailing some joints back and forth with J Dilla, Finale finally met him backstage at the DEMF (Detroit Electronic Music Festival), where Dilla introduced him to Madlib, saying that he was one of the best in the game. “It was an honor and definitely a defining moment," says Finale. After realizing his passion and talent for hip-hop, Finale decided to finally quit his day job, follow his true passion, and make music a full-time career. After a handful of Fat Beats released singles, an album released with European producer Spier 1200 as a part of The Rawkus 50, and numerous appearances on independent releases from Invincible, eLZhi and others, Finale's official debut LP, A Pipe Dream & A Promise, will be released in stores and online on Aptil 7th via Interdependent Media.

Web editors contact Nora for interview requests. Print editors contact Michelle.


About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2009, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Finale, Canibus, K'naan, Truthlive, and Tanya Morgan. For more information, please visit http://www.imculture.com .

Streams:

Super Finale Video Game
* http://www.imculture.com/_superfinale *

"One Man Show" prod. by Black Milk 8-bit Videogame Version
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Finale-One_Man_Show-A_Rival_8-Bit_Remix.mp3 *

"Real Hip-Hop Don't Die"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Ilyas-Real_Hip_Hop_Don't_Die.mp3 *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/Finale/ *

MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/finale *

Slim Thug "Boss of All Bosses" Album Promo Tour


From Nancy B:

As Slim Thug's single, the Jim Jonsin produced I Run, approaches 2,000 spins and counting and his video enjoys national rotation on MTV2 (debuted at #15 on Sucka Free) and BET (#8 on 106 & Park countdown), the "boss of all bosses" is getting ready to hit the road on a 24 city promo tour, dropping another bangin' mixtape along the way. I Represent This Pt. 2; 10 Years Later, a play on the title of Slim's very first mixtape, I Represent This, is packed with 28 reasons why Slim Thug has been able to stay in the game for the last 10 years and includes features from H-town favorites Trae Tha Truth and Chamillionaire. This will be followed by the March 24th release of his album, Boss of All Bosses on E1 Music (formerly Koch Records.)

Slim Thug is a reluctant celebrity if ever there was one. The Houston-bred rapper who pushed his towering frame through hip-hop’s heavy doors in the late ‘90s never envisioned himself as a rap star. “I didn’t come in the game wanting to be a rapper,” he explains. “I wasn’t like a kid saying I wanna be a famous rapper, I wanna be like Tupac. I was from the ‘hood. We didn’t believe in none of that shit. I’m 6’6 tall and I never played basketball because I never believed in going to the NBA. That was just too far fetched for me and being a rap star was too far fetched for me.”

But it wasn’t long before an eye-opening encounter with Swisha House’s Michael “5000” had Slim singing a different song. “I was at a party freestyling and he invited me to his house to do a mixtape,” he recalls, adding that Watts “showed me the hustle of it, how it all worked. As soon I saw that, I started making money.” WattsAlthough he has only one major label release to his credit – 2005’s Already Platinum, Slim Thug has the swagger and the fanbase of a more seasoned rapper. His new CD, Boss of All Bosses (Boss Hawg Outlawz/E1 Music), is a testament to his independent spirit both as an artist and an entrepreneur. It is a testament, he says, to the ‘reality music’ that has made his native Houston a hotbed for hip-hop over the years.  “This album is me doing what I wanted to do. I put it together the way I wanted without being influenced by any other people – no A&Rs, none of that. What people are gonna get from this album is Houston. I have all the artists out of Houston on it: UGK, Scarface, Lil Keke, Z-Ro.”

As he cites appearances on his CD, Slim Thug gushes with pride. “These are the people I listen to all the time all day,” he proclaims, “and I just wanna give the world that, let the world know the type of stuff that we’re on because I don’t see too many people outside the southern region catching on to how we do our stuff out here. There’s still a whole other side of Houston that hasn’t been displayed so I’m still trying to bring it out to a broader audience.”

After one CD, several mixtapes – including Serve and Collect: Volumes 1 and 2 – and a number of appearances on other people’s projects (Mike Jones’ ‘Still Tippin’ Gwen Stefani’s “Luxurious" and Beyonce’s “Check On It”), the original boss man from Houston is back in the mix, still calling the shots, still doing things his way. “It’s always been like that,” he says confidently. “I was always in control of whatever I did. That’s why when I got with the majors I wasn’t comfortable because I wasn’t calling the shots. I’ve always been a boss in this music game. Now, in my mind, I’m starting over from scratch. I’m just hitting the reset button and start from there.”

PROMO TOUR ROUTING:

February 25th - Montgomery, AL
Feb 25 – Tallahasee, FL
Feb 26 – Gainesville, FL
Feb 27 – Jacksonville, FL
Feb 28 – Tampa, FL
March 1 – Orlando, FL
March 3 – Birmingham, AL
March 3 – Memphis, TN (night)
March 4 – Nashville, TN
March 5- Lexington, KY/Louisville,KY
March 6th- Louisville, KY
March 7th- Cincinnati, OH
March 8th – Chicago, IL (off)
March 9th – Chicago, IL
March 10th- St. Louis, MO
March 11th- Wichita, KS
March 12th- Oklahoma City/Tulsa, OK
March 13th – Dallas, TX
March 14th – Houston, TX
March 15th – Corpus Christi, TX
March 16th – Baton Rouge, LA
March 17th – Lafayette, LA
March 18th- New Orleans, LA
March 19th- Beaumont, TX/Home

DOWNLOAD LINKS:

Slim Thug I Run clean - http://latiument.com/slimthug/irun_clean.zip .
Slim Thug I Run explicit - http://latiument.com/slimthug/irun_dirty.zip .
I Represent This Pt. 2; 10 Years Later Tracklisting:

1. Intro
2. AJS
3. Still Got Money
4. Self Made
5. I Run The Streets
6. Halle Berry
7. Never Forget
8. "G"
9. The Bizzness
10. Ain't I
11. Show Me Love
12. Turn Me On
13. Swang
14. Boss Iz Back
15. Interlude
16. Please Don't
17. Make me
18. Cake
19. Pop Champagne
20. Boss Life
21. F U Pay Me
22. Just Another Day
23. Still On Da Grind
24. H-Town ft Trae & Chamillionaire
25. Lost
26. Time
27. Kicking
28. Outlawz In Da Building

Y-Love Change


This is Yishai from Shemspeed just touching base with you regarding the upcoming DeScribe/Y-Love 4 song "Change". Y-Love, the Brooklyn based MC featured in XXL Magazine and the BBC for his multilingual approach to hip hop has teamed up with Crown Heights soul rapper, DeScribe to give a fresh musical take for Change in 2009. One song will be released per month beginning with "Change", whose music video is already out. The full EP comes out April 28th.
The music video was directed by Hip Hop superstar director, Lenny Bass who has worked with Timbaland, De La, Fantasia and Will Smith.
 
to watch the music video, click http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=whLYM9o946w&fmt=18 
How to Approach a Working DJ


In all of music there is only one performer people feel they can walk up to, talk to and even make requests of while they're performing — and that's the DJ. While it's all well and good to say hello or put in a request, there are right ways of doing these things and wrong ways.

Check out the full feature at:  http://www.fairfieldweekly.com/article.cfm?aid=11890

Twista Plans Streaming Video Shoot Online Live!


Twista to Stream Video Shoots Live Online: Giving Fans a Quick Escape from Work

Tuesday February 24, 2009 (Chicago, IL)- Chicago emcee, Twista, is offering his fans a little break from work on Friday February 27th. Starting at 8:45 am CST, Twista will be filming his video shoot for the Traxster produced “Wetter” from his upcoming album, Category F5.

A second video shoot for “Birthday” will be filmed Saturday February 28th starting at 8:45 am CST as well. “The fans love online videos and video shoots,” shares Twista. “So I thought it’d be cool to give all my fans a chance to see a video shoot live online.”

Category F5 features production from the likes of Traxster, Jim Jonsin, and in-house producer Toxic and will be in stores June 2009.

Both streams will be available to all fans on http://www.justin.tv/twistatv .
Debut Album Ridin High From Keelay & Zaire


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

Debut Album Ridin High from Production Duo Keelay & Zaire Features Phonte, Blu, Supastition, and More      02.24.2009
MYX Music to Release First Album in Ambitious 2009 Release Schedule


(February 24th, 2009 - Brooklyn, NY) The bi-coastal production duo Keelay & Zaire will release their debut album Ridin High on March 10th via the newly imprinted MYX Music Label. Featuring a classic hip-hop and R&B production aesthetic and an all-star lineup of guest artists, the album brings a new breed of polished production to the forefront of hip-hop.

Featuring an impressive guest list of both established artists and newcomers, the album showcases Keelay & Zaire’s ability to fuse their production savvy with the subtleties and personality of the artists they work with. With guest stars ranging from Phonte of Little Brother to Blu to Supastition, the talent pool exhibited on the album allows Keelay & Zaire to display their refined versatility. The album's lead single "The Times feat. Blu, Fortilive and Nino Moschella," currently in rotation on MTV, BET, and MTVU, is a motivational call to arms that shows us the vibrancy of San Francisco with Keelay & Zaire's signature soulful soundscape providing our musical backdrop.

With Keelay out west in the Bay Area, and Zaire currently residing in Newport News, VA, the innovative producers each worked on their own independent production projects before ever meeting. Keelay produced tracks for Cali Agents, Fortilive, and Saafir while Zaire flexed his prowess with Norfolk's emcee/songwriter Khizman and Newport News' bluesy singer/songwriter Jonathan Moore. Although living on opposite coasts, both Keelay & Zaire were frequent users of online production message boards and used them to share beats and ideas with other producers. After exchanging beats back and forth on the ughh.com message board for about a month, it became clear that Keelay & Zaire needed to meet face to face. Zaire flew out to meet Keelay in the Bay and the duo found that their individual skills complemented each other. They decided to embark on a full-length project that eventually became Ridin High. Ridin High will be released on March 10th on newly formed MYX Music Label. Check out the album sampler mixed by DJ Mere for Ridin High to get a taste for what to expect:
http://media.audibletreats.com/Keelay_and_Zaire-Ridin_High_Sampler_by_Dj_Mere.mp3

Keelay & Zaire also produced the intro track for the Wake Up Show, featuring Supastition and DJ Revolution:
http://media.audibletreats.com/Keelay_and_Zaire_Supastition_DJ_Revolution-Wake_Up Show_Anthem.mp3

The Prelude to Drive EP is now available to download for FREE at the freshly launched MyxMusicLabel.com.

Please contact Michelle or Nora if interested in talking with Keelay & Zaire

About MYX Music:

MYX Music Label began in 2007 by industry veteran Karim Panni of the Boom Bap Project (Rhymesayers Entertainment). MYX Music Label is under the umbrella of MYX TV, which is the only music and lifestyle channel dedicated to the Asian American community. Distributed nationally, MYX TV showcases the hottest major label and independent content as well as dynamic original programming that fuses fashion, comedy, and culture. MYX Music Label integrates the newest technology while developing innovative digital distribution and promotion strategies to service their artists. The MYX Music Label was created for the sole purpose of using the MYX TV visual network platform to promote the finest independent hip-hop and urban music. MYX Music Label's ambitious release schedule for 2009 includes groundbreaking works from production duo Keelay & Zaire, Jern Eye, Fortilive (producer Illmind's hip-hop crew) and exclusive music from the best Asian MC's, DJ's and producers in the compilation 20 C Energizers. Also, adding to their versatility as a label, MYX Music Label DVD releases include The Nutshack, Built From Skratch, Str8 Laced and Slanted Comedy, which features today's top Asian American comedians. For more information on MYX Music Label, please visit http://www.myxmusiclabel.com .

Streams:

Keelay & Zaire - Ridin High sampler by DJ Mere
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Keelay_and_Zaire-Ridin_High_Sampler_by_Dj_Mere.mp3 *

Keelay & Zaire - Wake Up Show Anthem w/ Supastition
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=McL217A8Nuk *
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Keelay_and_Zaire_Supastition_DJ_Revolution-Wake_Up Show_Anthem.mp3 *

Keelay & Zaire - Sole Ides commercial (St. Ides spoof)
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhvIuGpqkcw *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 16th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TWELVE new items for you: Amp Live's "Headphone Concerto," an editorial on Adrian Peterson, Ensemble Mik Nawooj's "Hip-Hop Orchestra," Has-Lo and Castle's "Live Like You're Dead," the "Illect Recordings: Mind the Rap Volume 3" compilation, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #291 and R.I.P. Praverb a/k/a P the Wyse, Mirandom's "The Otherworld EP," Sonnyjim & Leaf Dog's "How to Tame Lions," Twista's "Dark Horse" (our featured review), Ugly Heroes' "Ugly Heroes EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 9, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Jay Burna - "Snakes". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive