Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday November 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Run the Jewels 2] Don't cry.

Run the Jewels Review

Latest News Headlines
Jesal's Artist of the Decade Series - Common


RapReviews.com "Artist of the Decade"
by Jesal 'Jay Soul' Padania


I have, realising that this decade is nearly up, decided to start a series of special features. The aim is simple: to find out precisely who the "RapReviews.com Artist of the Decade" is. And reward them, of course. Expect everyone else to follow our lead.

Why start the process so early? Well, there is an awful lot to get through. We won't just limit it to the Artist. There will be Album, Producer, Song, Live Act... And that is just the RapReviews staff. We will also have an open public vote like last year – except a LOT bigger this time.

Whilst some will always complain that it won't compare to the 1990's, this has still been a very busy decade. It started off in a blaze of glory for The Neptunes, who dominated the charts in a near-Motown fashion. Then came the Nas/Jay-Z beef, which also ushered in the production careers of Kanye West and Just Blaze. Outkast went crazy, and went diamond. 50 Cent translated his mixtape success into astonishing sales figures and a run of hits that is practically unrivalled in rap. Kanye then launched his assault on the throne with a sequence of LP's that would impress almost anyone. Last year, Lil Wayne took his messiah persona and made history once more, whilst practically tearing up the rulebook. This is all without mentioning 99% of the rappers out there, plus the highest-selling hip hop MC of all time, Eminem.

But, dear Reader, establishing ONE artist/group/album that defines the decade, that DESERVES the crown, that we will look back on in years to come and think, "Yeah, that was a worthy choice..." – this is going to be a difficult process. It could even hinge on an album released before the end of 2009. Imagine if "Before I Self-Destruct" has five mega-hit singles and is a stonewall classic. Imagine that the "Blueprint 3" is as good as the original one! Imagine that "Relapse 2" is another "Marshall Mathers LP" or that Kanye completes his "College..." sequence in stunning style. Hell, what if Nas did an entire album full of J Dilla beats and called it "Dillmatic" or something? Imagine that...

This was the opening decade of a roller-coaster 21st century. I am the proudest of Brits, but without doubt, America has been turned upon its head, the epicentre of global drama. The highest-selling rapper was white, traditionally Caucasian sports such as golf and tennis have been dominated by black athletes and, most astonishingly of all, there is a Black President in the White House. Some of my closest family friends had their house swept away in the Hurricane Katrina tragedy, whilst the then-President Bush did nothing. You might think those to be clichés, but this is a decade that our children will ask us about. "Really, Dad? You remember 9/11? You were out in the streets celebrating Obama's victory? Where were you when Michael Jackson died? What the hell is an iPod? What music did you listen to back then?"

When they ask that final question, you had better be prepared.

Artist of the Decade - Common

It all started so well for Common. His decade begins with an absolute classic – "Like Water For Chocolate" – that was so good, it is probably, along with "Illmatic" and more than the other heavy-hitters, the biggest influence on me, full stop. But Common developed a worrying trend, with his pantheon always sequencing disappointing LP/great LP. That continued into this decade, and, as such, being a Common fan is a lot like being a Nas fan. You know you will always love him as an MC, but you had better be prepared for some disappointment. Couple that with his growing obsession with Hollywood, and it seems that a complete move away from hip hop, in all but name, might just happen.

"For now I appreciate this moment in time
Ball-players and actors be knowing my rhymes..."

That line, from "The 6th Sense," was an unhealthy precursor to his career this decade. He seemed in awe that really famous people liked his music. Who the fuck cares? Nas knows that he influenced everyone, but he takes it in his stride. You almost get the feeling that if Common was ugly like the rest of us, he would progressed further as a rapper without the distraction of the silver screen and famous friends... Still, his voice – certainly one of the most naturally blessed voices in hip hop history – and his lyrics always tended to prevail. Let's look at his albums in the Noughties, with unofficial scores that have the benefit of hindsight...

"Like Water For Chocolate" (2000)
Such a stunning effort from start to finish, if a touch long. Lyrically, it is exceptional. Vocally, perfect. The combination of an emerging J Dilla (then known as Jay Dee), Questlove, the Soulquarians, DJ Premier... Needless to say, the music was incredible. But, perhaps, more importantly, the subject matter was interesting. He stuck to his guns, and delivered "knowledge" – but not in a cloying, preachy way. There is just so much depth to this album, and, if truth be told, this is probably Common at the absolute peak of his powers. Rap doesn't get much better than this, and this is the album that Jay-Z referred to in "Moment of Clarity" when he said that truthfully, he would like to rhyme like Common Sense. (10/10)

Cool Songs: The Light, The 6th Sense, Geto Heaven, The Questions, Dooinit

"Electric Circus" (2002)
Sometimes in music, the name of an album enters the rap dictionary, if you will. It can be a good thing, like "he was on that Ready to Die shit" – or it could, in the opposite sense, be more like an "oh dear, he has had an Electric Circus-moment". Needless to say, Common's hip hop fan base did NOT take kindly to this LP. Ironically, the hipster press liked it more. The truth lies somewhere in the middle, but there is no doubt that this was a disappointment. Musically, it signalled the end of the Soulquarians – it was all downhill from this moment on. Lyrically and conceptually, Common was, for want of a better phrase, led astray. It isn't a BAD album. It just didn't work very well. There is nothing wrong with an artist wanting to experiment, but be sure you can follow it through. (5.0/10)

Cool Songs: Come Close

"Be" (2005)
After his "Electric Circus-moment" a lot of people thought that Common was finished. But, to his credit, Kanye West was not one of them. He took hold of his former idol and together, they modelled a comeback album based on "Illmatic." With nine beats from West himself, and two from J Dilla, this was a short burst of sunshine and clouds. It also, thank goodness, happened to be practically perfect in every way. Lyrically, heads were initially disappointed but actually, Common was fantastic – it just took a while to sink in. Musically, this may well be Kanye at his soulful best, and the result flies by. Although not as fascinating or deep as "Like Water For Chocolate," this album was probably much warmer, more accessible and, in the end, easy for ANYONE to like. (9.5/10)

Cool Songs: Pretty much the whole album

"Finding Forever" (2007)
Artists like Common sometimes feel trapped by their success. After "Like Water..." – which was well-received critically and commercially – he tried to go completely the other way, and got bollocked. Then, after his return-to-form, he did the opposite. Common (and West) took the template of "Be" and, perhaps in fear of creating another "Electric Circus," just replicated it, almost to the letter. The end result is that, although it is a superficially likeable album with some good music and lyrics, it is, beneath the surface, a shallow, hollow even, and pale imitation of his previous effort. For an artist that trades in soulful, emotional music, this was empty, with Common on autopilot. Of course, the death of his close friend J Dilla could not have helped – and there were still a few moments of quality – but this was still a real disappointment to many. As another critic cleverly put it, this was a Be-minus. (5.5/10)

Cool Songs: The People, I Want You, Southside, The Game, So Far To Go

"Universal Mind Control" (2008)
A shocking abomination of an album that started life as an EP, and should have stayed as such. At least with "Electric Circus" Common thought he was doing the right thing. With "UMC" goodness knows what was running through his head. It wasn't even enjoyable as a meaningless experience. It was a groupie sex moment from a rapper that wants to be an actor now. "Disappointing" doesn't even begin to cover it. (3.5/10)

Cool Songs: None

Notable Guest Appearances:
"A Dream" (from Freedom Writers OST); "Love of My Life" (Erykah Badu); "Get Em High" (Kanye West); "My Way Home" (Kanye West)

OVERALL ALBUM AVERAGE: 6.7/10
The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #23!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "I really don't have anything fancy to say about this episode of The Adam B Experience other than it's freakin dope, so listen to it! All the cool people will be talking about it tomorrow. You wanna be cool, right? Then listen! Hit me up with feedback at AdamB@RapReviews.com." The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com - no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check out ABX right here at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Hip-Hop Shop #41 w/ Steve 'Flash' Juon


Hip-Hop Shop is the precursor to K4D every week on Sunday night. Episode 41 features new material from Mr. Dubblup, Soulico featuring Axum and Lyrics Born, the Brown Bag AllStars and more! If you would like to sponsor Hip-Hop Shop please send an e-mail to dj.flash@rapreviews.com for more information. The Hip-Hop Shop is 100% podsafe so distribute to your friends and tell them to visit RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Brown Bag AllStars - Get Ready
* iCon the Mic King f/ Awar - Fall From Grace
* Mr. Dubblup - Dismiss Yourself
* Pseudo Slang - Yes Doubt
* Random - The Bailout
* Ric Atari - Better Alone
* Soulico f/ Axum & Lyrics Born - Put 'Em Up

Trick Daddy f/ Ice Berg, Murk Camp - Why They Jock (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Trick Daddy f/ Ice Berg, Murk Camp
Title: Why They Jock
Label: Dunk Ryders Records

The only single released so far from the upcoming "Finally Famous: Born a Thug Die a Thug," Trick Daddy is back to his roots as the gangster poet of Florida. "What do the future hold? Man I don't know/I just do it keep it hood, and clean it for the radio/Keep on my hater shades, blockin out they hater ways/And keep gettin paid while them broke haters hate." Without Trick Daddy there'd be no Flo Rida, no Plies and no Rick Ross - that's just real talk. Trick moved the Florida rap scene beyond Miami bass and brought a country grammar to rap even Nelly could envy. He may not be as wild as when he first started out but he hasn't gone soft either, and Mizzle Boy's track would fit "Thug Matrimony" or any other album in Trick's catalogue. That catalogue is owned by Slip-N-Slide though, so it will be interesting to see if Trick can push this single and album to mainstream exposure on a much smaller label. Like an old pair of Timbs, Trick Daddy never wears out and just keeps on stompin'.

Streetz & Young Deuces - I Got Mad Flavor (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Streetz & Young Deuces
Title: I Got Mad Flavor
Label: EMP Entertainment

I have a lot of respect for Streetz & Young Deuces. This group started making noise three years ago out of Milwaukee, Wisconsin - not traditionally a town known for hardcore hip-hop - and have milked every little bit of publicty in trades like The Source and Ozone to inch their way towards the mainstream. S&YD are not overnight celebrities by any stretch - they've hustled HARD and put out a lot of singles to radio and club DJ's to get known. Unfortunately as much as I respect their DIY hustle "I Got Mad Flavor" just doesn't represent their best work. Instead of relying on their own unique sound, producer Young Nova borrows a page from the playbook of GS Boyz and Soulja Boy - a page that should have been torn out and shredded. The drum beat sounds incredibly computerized and fake and Atari 2600 games have had better melodies. Rhyming "altar" and "oughta" annoys me too, as does the unfunny line "you got Clay Aiken money - yeah yo' shit not straight." It would actually be more clever to say "get your money straight like Elton John" and let people ponder the obvious contradiction, but unfortunately for S&YD there's nothing clever, amusing or noteworthy about their "Mad Flavor" here. That's a shame because this group has much more to offer.

Lil Boosie & Hurricane - Bad Azz Hurricane (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Lil Boosie & Hurricane
Title: Bad Azz Hurricane
Label: Asylum Records

For a song that's only three minutes long to begin with, it's a shame that Lil Boosie and Hurricane waste the first 20 seconds with non-instrumental machismo that would have been more interesting to a beat. Speaking of beats, producer Gus (no first name or last name - just GUS) is competent here but by no means mind-blowing. His track treads the careful line between bounce, club and crunk without firmly commiting to any of them - keeping the melody to a few notes while adding enough extra layers of keyboard orchestration to keep it from becoming totally stale. The "money thang" here is nothing new though, nor is bragging about "canary and blue diamonds on me." Does anyone think there's a significant portion of today's "swagger" aritsts who are grossly out of touch with the real economy? If not they're just playing the stereotypical role the audience expects regardless of whether they have the wealth they're bragging on. Of the two featured here only Boosie has shown the potential to say and do more, but by sharing a track with Mr. Ay Bay Bay he seems to have been dragged down to the latter's mediocre and cliched level.

Hopie Spitshard - The Next Great Female Emcee


Great female emcees are hard to find. Actually great emcees, regardless of gender, are hard to find, but it’s always been especially tough to find a dope lyrical lady. Hopie Spitshard, who hails from the Bay Area, is one of the few I would put in that class. I was put on to her in a very roundabout way. Last month I did an Artist Of The Week feature on Kaz-well and when I was making sure his MySpace link worked I noticed Hopie as one of his top friends. The combination of her look, her name and her association with Kaz-well made me click on her and I’m really glad I did (hey, MySpace does still have a use!). We got to talking, and Twittering, and she sent me a copy of her full length album, The Diamond Dame, to check out. I was impressed, which is why this week I caught up with her to find out about the history of Hopie, how being a part of two minority groups in Hip-Hop affects her, and why what she does in the bedroom is a subject you’ll never hear her rhyme about.

Read the full interview at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/07/artist-of-week-hopie-spitshard.html

Braille - Back on the Saddle


Braille - Back on the Saddle

Hello universe!!!  I've spent the last couple months doing a lot of self evaluation and growth.  It was sparked due to some circumstances and trials I was facing but it ultimately ended up being beneficial.  With some situations in life, no matter how difficult they are, we either allow them to rob us of our purpose, passion and personality - or use it to strengthen the foundation of who we are.  I've found myself operating with more clarity then I've had in a long time.  I'm reading more, exercising more, being more patient and taking life one day at a time.  Below are some pretty exciting updates, check it out and hit me back with your feedback.

1. After being on hiatus for almost two full years -  I'm bringing back Hiphop IS Music!!!!  I had to close the first chapter, and I was literally considering closing down the label permanently.  The label was actually very successful right from the jump - but the surrounding circumstances in my life made it to much to handle.  As a 24 year old man who didn't graduate high school I was touring with James Brown, running a label, preparing for my first child, paying bills on my first home and managing an increased income of over 7 times what I made in any previous years all at the same time.  With a lot of things in my life, I"ve had to learn the hard way.  Just sort of jump in the deep end and starting paddling my arms until I learned how to swim.  I feel like I have the confidence and humility to continue approaching the record label, even if we remain operating on a small scale.  So with that... our next release is right around the corner!!!!  The first official solo album from Sojourn (of Future Shock) titled "Sojournalism: The Summer Articles" will be dropping September 1st.  Rather then giving you a bunch of info about the record, I'm going to provide you with a link that includes a free mp3 download of the single, the album cover and a text document with the track-list and press release.

www.hiphopismusic.com/uploads/SojournSingle.zip

Download the file, pass it to your friends, post it on your blogs and all that fun stuff.  For press, radio and tastemakers - email me directly and I'll provide you with a link for the entire advance!!!  The release date is September 1st 2009.  If you'd like to carry this album in your store then hit me up now so that I can prepare your order!!!

2.  I will be hosting and performing at the National Federation of the Blind Youth Slam on July 29, 2009.  The NFB Youth Slam is the most dynamic gathering of blind youth ever and the largest mentoring program for the blind in the country. This five day leadership academy inspires and engages blind youth in science, technology, engineering, and math subjects. On July 29, the event will feature a talent show with performances from NFB Youth Slam participants and a special guest MC--Braille! Learn more about the National Federation of the Blind at http://www.nfb.org and follow the NFB Youth Slam on Twitter http://www.twitter.com/NFBYouthSlam Location: NFB Jernigan Institute 1800 Johnson Street, Baltimore Maryland 21230

This is a huge honor for me and a step I'm excited to take as an ambassador for Braille literacy.  You can read more about the event at the link below.

http://www.blindscience.org/ncbys/Youth_Slam.asp

3. Blessed Man t-shirts!!!  I have a limited stock of brand new "Blessed Man" shirts.  You can view the shirt, as worn by Poems in my profile pictures at Myspace and Facebook.  www.facebook.com/braillehiphop, www.myspace.com/braillebrizzy


I have sizes S-XXL.  the cost is $20 (U.S. Shipping included) and you can pay using paypal to braillehiphop@hotmail.com or by sending check/money order to

Bryan Winchester
18485 sw stepping stone dr. #64
beaverton, or  97006

4. A quick CloudNineteen update.  I have continued giving out CDs at all my concerts and by the end of this month we will have reached 15,000 units given away so far.  This is halfway towards our goal of 30,000 total.  Pretty insane.  I definitely feel inspired to start working hard on my next album "Audibly Enhanced Dreams" right now.  Hopefully I'll have some new tunes to leak in the next month or so.

5. Two final notes.  Me and Nikki just celebrated our 7 year wedding anniversary.  We plan to start traveling together a lot more, and we both just got new 3G Iphones.  So yeah, cool stuff.  haha.  My tour schedule is rocking for the rest of this month and August.  Check out tour dates at braillehiphop.com

also, check me out on twitter.  www.twitter.com/braillehiphop - I don't really follow folks yet but if you wanna follow me I'll lead you down as many rabbit trails as possible.

Oh - and before I close out I want to say thank you to my local church community Solid Rock.  I feel more connected then ever before, they have walked with me through the last couple months and I'm excited to serve there.  You can check them out and even listen to some podcasts at www.ajesuschurch.org

Peace and GOD bless
Thank you, from Braille and the Hiphop Is Music team.
www.braillehiphop.com | www.hiphopismusic.com
Free Music Fridays: Two Burners Edition


Ladies and gentlemen, I apoligize for the delay. Last week was a mysterious miss, but no worrires, I have twice the heaters of free music for all y'all. Get ready, this one's a jiffy!

Atmosphere - Leak at Will EP
^ Earned 8 of 10 ratings on RapReviews!

[While this EP is an obvious jack to Ice Cube's "Kill at Will" EP title (pun intended for all Ice Cube fans), Atmosphere shows the world how he continues to bless the world with their fresh music, free or not. This one happens to be the former as they give you seven great tracks for you to listen to (including a brilliant remake/sequel of De La Soul's "Millie Pulled the Pistol on Santa" as the last track).]

Tracklisting:
1. C'mon
2. They Always Know
3. The Ropes
4. White Noise
5. Feel Good Hit of the Summer
6. Mother's Day
7. Millie Fell Off the Fire Escape



Derty Den and DJ Hitz - Southern Dynasty (Stall & Dean and Fluid Watches Edition)


[Carolina emcee Derty Den links up with DJ Hitz to release some of the bangin' fried Southern joints that's been heard all summer. They even had Stall & Dean and Fluid Watches as their sponsor, so you should know how legit this is]

Tracklising:
1. Derty Den - Intro
2. Derty Den - D.O.A.
3. Young Jeezy - Sunny Days
4. Rick Ross - Eternal Life
5. Gucci Mane ft. Busta Rhyms - Hood Up
6. Lil Wayne ft. Gucci Mane - We Be Steady Mobbin
7. T.I. - Make U Sweat
8. Soulja Boy - I’m All That
9. Soulja Boy - I Got Mojo
10. Yung Joc - Grind Flu
11. Derty Den Interlude
12. Ed Ruger - Ballin Like A Midget
13. Team Irac ft. OJ Da Juiceman - Put It On Me
14. Ace Hood - Loco With The Cake
15. Lil Wayne -  Told Y’all
16. Gucci Mane - Wonderfull
17. Killer Mike ft. Big Kuntry King - I’m A Fool Wit It
18. Rick Ross - Neverland
19. Gucci Mane - Running Back
20. Lil Wayne ft. Gudda Gudda, Mack Maine & Shanelle - Sacrifice
21. Plies - Becky
22. M.O.S. - Holla
23. Smallworld ft. Drake - Get Low
24. Derty Den ft. Gorilla Zoe - Fly Shyt
25. Rick Ross - Skyline
26. Derty Den - Outro



Drake - So Far Gone

[Ahem, just incase you've been wondering which album Drake's single "Best I Ever Had" is on, the answer is none. In fact, it was released on this free mixtape which became a breakthrough hit for this Toronto rapper/sainger. Here's the mixtape, in full, for you to hurry up and get before it becomes so far gone.]

Tracklisting:
1. Lust For Life
2. HoustonAtlantaVegas
3. Successful (feat. Trey Songz)
4. Let's Call It Off
5. November 18th
6. Ignant Shit (feat. Lil' Wayne)
7. A Night Off
8. Say What's Real
9. Little Bit (feat. Lykke Li)
10. Best I've Ever Had
11. Unstoppable (feat. Santogold and Lil' Wayne)
12. Uptown (feat. Bun B)
13. Sooner Than Later
14. The Calm
15. Bria's Interlude
16. Outro
17. Brand New


And here's a bonus Drake track for FREE:
"Congratulations:
http://www.zshare.net/audio/55794640bbc7c230/

DJ J-Ronin & DJ Snips with DJ Nino Carta: ALL ELEMENTS Freestyle Files Vol.1


[Three DJs, DJ J-Ronin, DJ Snips, and DJ Nino Carta, joined forces to collide some of the best emcess in the East, West, and Midwest to create this dope hip-hop mixtape of the summer. Be careful, your hard drive might combust into flames after d/l'ing this heater.]

Tracklisting:

1. Intro ft. DJ Nino Carta, DJ J-Ronin, DJ Snips, DJ Premier, DJ
Mister Cee, Kid Capri, Tony Touch and Doowop
2. Jaz-O - Black Republican Freestyle
3. Planet Asia - Fish Freestyle
4. Hell Razah and Killah Priest - Young Gifted and Black Freestyle
5. Ill Bill - ALL ELEMENTS 8 freestyle
6. Teflon from M.O.P. Sav Killz, Shabaam Sahdeeq and Steele from SmifN Wessun - ALL ELEMENTS Crooklyn Dodgers 07
7. Royce Da 5′9, AZ and Sav Killz - Success ALL ELEMENTS Blend Freestyle
8. Donny Goines - ALL ELEMENTS 10 Freestyle (prod. by DJ Snips)
9. Raze - ALL ELEMENTS 5 Freestyle (prod. by Magnetic)
10. Steele from Smif N Wessun - Who Shot Ya Freestyle
11. Timbo King - ALL ELEMENTS 9 Freestyle
12. Sav Killz ft. Spit Supreme - Hoodlums and Crooks Freestyle
13. Poison Pen - The Brooklyn Way Freestyle
14. Killah Priest - The Letter Freestyle Session
15. Mistah Fab - J-Ronin Freestyle
16. Strong Arm Steady - ALL ELEMENTS vol.10 Freestyle (prod. by DJ Snips)
17. Naledge of Kidz in the Hall - J-Ronin Freestyle
18. Hell Razah - Verbal Intercourse Freestyle
19. Phantasm of the Cella Dwellas - We Made It Freestyle
20. Killa Sha - Grimey Way Freestyle
21. Sav Killz - Danger Freestyle (prod. by The Molemen)
22. Famoso - Hardcore Freestyle (World Premiere)
23. Shabazz the Disciple - Children’s Story Freestyle (World Premier)
24. Gutta of the VietKong - This is My Life Freestyle
25. Miz - Hit Em Freestyle (World Premier)
26. Jeru tha Damaja - J-Ronin Freestyle
27. Skeem ft. Mz. Hustle and Paladino - Talk to Em Freestyle
28. Thirstin Howl III - Been Fresh Freestyle
29. Letia Larok - Rok Freestyle
30. J.ARCH - Staples Freestyle (prod. by DJ Snips)
31. Akir - Funk Died Freestyle (prod. by DJ Architect)
32. Outro ft. DJ Nino Carta, DJ Snips and DJ J-Ronin


DJ Noodles & Hunt - Pockets So Heavy Mixtape
[Tampa rapper Hunt and DJ Noodles creates "Pockets So Heavy," a mixtape full of head-noddin beats as well as rhymes of an emcee on the come up. Check it out!] 

Tracklisting:
1. Rising to the Top ft. Lee Wilson [prod. by Patrick Star]
2. Dum Dum Tress [prod. by Y.E.A. Productions]
3. Pockets So Heavy ft. Gucci Mane [Prod. by Grand Larceny]
4. Young Millionaire ft. 2 Pistols & Smitty [Prod. by Hustle Heart]
5. Show U How 2 Do It [Prod. by 76 Beats]
6. Talk it Over ft. Tyler Woods [Prod. by 9th Wonder]
7. Plaing By the Rules [Prod. by One Way Beats]
8. Microwave ft. Kocky, Ya Boy, Smitty [Prod. by Kocky]
9. I Had a Dream ft. J-Son [Prod. by Jaywon]
10. I'm Paid [Prod. by Hustle Heart]
11. If It Wasn't for my Paper [Freestyle]
12. Paper Touchin' [Freestyle]
13. Fuck Em All ft. Red Cafe & Fabolous [Freestyle]
14. Sunshine [Prod. by Ballistick Productions]
15. Breaktime ft. Nino Bless [Prod. by Hustle Heart]


J. Rawls - Hotel Beats Vol. 1 (Mixtape)
jrawlsfront.jpg

[Lone Catalyst's J. Rawls is no stranger when it comes to being a producer with classic beats (including on RapReviews' Nines acclaimed records, such as "Good Music" and "Hip Hop"). Rawls decides to release a beattape full of heaters that upcoming rappers can freestyle over or heads can just nod and relax to it. Here's a luxorious hotel quality music you could use for the night, without the expensive room prices.]

Tracklisting:
1. Intro/Peace
2. Red Peppers
3. Requiem for Brooklyn
4. Casina
5. Janea
6. A Game...
7. Michelle
8. Sunrise
9. Hotel Lobby Theme Music
10. Hold On To It
11. 4 A.M.
12. The Get Up
13. Light Shine
14. Together
15. Migrane
16. Feelin' Swell
17. The Go Between
18. Two Girls
19. Guess Who?
20. Equinox
21. Stand Down
22. Bonus Track: The Lee Morgan (Story by J Rawls & John Robinson Presents: JAY ARE)
23. American Idol (Alt Version) featuring L.e


K-Def - Beats from the 90's Vol. 2
kdefbf902.jpg
[Join K-Def as he goes back into time with his beats that sounded like they were crafted in the 1990s, without sounding dated. Armed with only Akai MPC 3000 and S-3000, retro tools of the trade, Def provides in-your-face beats that'll leave a Kool-Aid smile to ya face. Yeeeeeeeah boyyyyeee!]

Tracklisting:
1. The Magnum
2. Watch Out
3. Preying Mantis
4. Heaven Or Hell
5. Survive The Blast
6. Hey Funkbox
7. Bring The Gat
8. Having A Bad Day
9. Redcoats Are Coming
10. Mystery Man
11. Orig Blind 1995
12. He Is Waiting
13. Guitar Licking


Kenn Starr - It's Still Real...

[Kenn Starr has been one of D.C.'s hip-hop best kept secrets for a while now. It's about time for him to be heard with this soulful "It's Still Real..." mixtape. These beats have been crafted from 2006 to now, but can you tell that? You don't know which one is a newborn or three years old because his fresh music proves that there's no expiration date on it. Check it out!]

Tracklisting:
1. Let It Be Known (feat. Hassaan Mackey & Silent Knight) (prod. Analogic)
2. The Truth (feat. Kaimbr) (prod. RODDYROD & Kev Brown)
3. In Check (feat. Oddisee & Supastition) (prod. Oddisee)
4. DJ Flexx Freestyle (’01 Throwback) (Live on WPGC Washington, D.C.)
5. It’s Time (feat. Soulstice, Eternia & Tiffany Paige) (prod. M-Phazes)
6. Low Budget All Stars (feat. Kev Brown, Oddisee, Cy Young & Kaimbr) (prod. Marco Polo)
7. Represent (feat. Akir & Oddisee) (prod. Oddisee)
8. That’s How We Kick It (feat. J. Sands) (prod. Chief)
9. Price 2 Pay (feat. Asheru, Oddisee & Darien Brockington) (prod. Oddisee)
10. DJ Eclipse Freestyle (’04 Throwback) (Live on WNYU New York, NY)
11. Wonder Why (feat. Wale, Big Sean & Mike Posner) (prod. 9th Wonder)
12. Q&A (feat. Oddisee) (prod. Oddisee)
13. The Dropoff (feat. JLaine) (prod. JLaine)
14. Kemistree Meets Low Budget (feat. Hassaan Mackey, Kev Brown & Gut) (prod. Young Cee)
15. DJ K.O. Freestyle (’04 Throwback) (Live on WRSU New Brunswick, NJ)
16. Coming Of Age ‘09 (prod. Nick Tha 1da)
17. Hennessey Pt. 3 (feat. Kev Brown & Raheem DeVaughn) (prod. Kev Brown)
18. Sum Ish For Dave (feat. Haysoos) (prod. 9th Wonder)


Kid Cudi - RiCUDIculous [The Freestyle Mixtape]
CUDIFRONT.jpg

[Day and night, you've heard Kid Cudi's smash hit "Day N Nite" being played over the summer. In fact, most who have heard that song never heard how polite Cudi is on his mic skills. In other words, is he nice or not? Well, here's a new mixtape showing Cudi's freestyle in over 20 different tracks (along with a bonus track, as well)! Hear this dude out and you'll see that he ain't just another Kid on the block.]

Tracklisting:
1. Foggy Glasses
2. Sky High
3. Higher Up
4. Enough Freestyle Part I
5. Enough Freestyle Part II
6. On Da Spot Freestyle Part I
7. On Da Spot Freestyle Part II
8. Excuse My Hood (Kinda Like a Big Deal)
9. Who's Real Freestyle
10. Hottest In the Hood Freestyle
11. House Beat Freestyle
12. Too Short Freestyle
13. XXL Freestyle
14. Soundtrack to my Life Freestyle Bet
15. Respect My Conglomerate Freestyle
16. Paper Planes Freestyle
17. London Girls (Done Pimpin')
18. Drop (09) Freestyle
19. Cudi Spazzin'
20. Dose of Dopeness
21. Bonus Track: Off the Top Freestyle


Low Budget - Budget is Low Mixtape Vol. 1
budget-is-low-mixtape-cover

[Ah yes, the budget is indeed low. In a time where we're going through a recession that's been sucking our money dry, we'll appreciate any free music that's give our wallets a sigh of relief. We'll doubly appreciate it if the free music is DOPE! Well, I'm going to be the one to top it of by saying it's better than DOPE - it's nearly  DRUG PARAPHERNALIA! I'm surprised I'm not arrested for supplying this to you. Chocolate City's own Low Budget gives it to you raw and uncut. Yeah that's pure man.]


Tracklisting:
DJ RODDYROD & DJ Marshall Law present…
The Budget Is Low Mixtape Vol. 001
1. Kev Brown - Another Random Joint
2. Oddisee - Hip Hop Is Cool Again
3. Sean Born - Go Hard (prod. Kev Brown)
4. The Al Green Project (Kaimbr & Kev Brown) - Grits
5. Kenn Starr - Say Goodbye (prod. Black Milk)
6. Kev Brown & RODDYROD - Down By The Riverside
7. Grap Luva feat. Kev Brown - Git Mines (prod. RODDYROD)
8. Diamond District - I Mean Business
9. RODDYROD feat. yU & Finale - Neva Find Me
10. RODDYROD - Take In Stride (prod. JLaine)
11. RODDYROD feat. Phonte & Carlitta Durand - This Time Around
12. Kaimbr feat. Kenn Starr - The Truth (prod. RODDYROD & Kev Brown)
13. RODDYROD feat. yU & XO - UNI-VERSE
14. Sean Born - Take It & Run (prod. Kev Brown)
15. The Al Green Project (Kaimbr & Kev Brown) - Songs (Hands Up)
16. Oddisee - Camera
17. Critically Acclaimed - Appreciation (prod. Sean Born)
18. Kev Brown feat. yU - Marvelous
19. Isaac Jones (Sean Born & Kenn Starr) - Keep It Movin (prod. Kev Brown)
20. Kev Brown feat. Raheem DeVaughn & Kenn Starr - Hennessey Pt. 3
21. Critically Acclaimed - Triple D (prod. Kev Brown)


Max Minelli - Backpack Dreams & Hip Hop Wishes
max

[This Louisiana emcee has been in the game for a hot minute. From rapping alongside J-Von and producer Happy Perez on Concecration Camp to selling over 50,000 of his solo catalogue independently. Here's a new mixtape from Max Minelli a/k/a Max Pain titled "Backpack Dreams & Hip Hop Wishes." Give it a listen or two!]

Tracklisting:
1. Backpack Intro
2. Brain Distortion
3. Full Metal Jacket
4. In My Street Dreams
5. Fresh 2 Def (Remix)
6. Dead Rappers
7. Pirahnna Bait
8. Miss My Doggs (Prod. by The Alchemist)
9. Padded Room
10. It Ain’t No Secret
11. Like They Love B.I.G.
12. Show You How To Do This
13. T.O.M.S
14. Take The Money
15. SLFEMP Sixteen
16. Robot Army
17. I Still Love Her
18. Dear Streets


Pac Div - Church League Champions


[Califonia-bred rap group Pac Div have been known as the underdogs for a while. This year, they're claiming their status as the big top dogs. "Church League Champions" features original Pac Div tracks rapping over hip-hop beats. Lend them an ear, it might be the last time seeing them below before they ascend to the top.]

Tracklisting:
1. Dick Vitale
2. We The Champs (Duke v. Carolina)
3. Pac Div
4. Mayor
5. For You
6. No No
7. Knuckleheadz
8. Whiplash
9. Underdogs (interlude)
10 Shut Up
11. Young Black Male
12. Never
13. Back


Sophia Fresh - So Phreakin' Fresh [Hosted by DJ Lil Boy]


[OOH WHEE, NAPPY BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOY~! If you never heard that term, you'd might as well better start get used to hearing it. Because Sophia Fresh, the superladies of T-Pain's Nappy Boy Entertainment, has this free tape out entitled "So Phreakin' Fresh."]

Tracklisting:
1. Check Me Out
2. What it Is ft. Kanye West
3. Kid N Play ft. T-Pain
4. Something
5. I Need Autotune
6. Drop It
7. Doin Me Without You
8. Lives in the Club ft. J-Lyriq
9. Make It Hot
10. Stuck
11. Soulja Boy
12. Work For It
13. Forever ft. Akon
14. Feel Good
15. Hot
16. Go Green ft. T-Pain
17. There They Go
18. Thats Right
19. No Diddy Party
20. Do The Dance
21. Super Bad ft. T-Pain
22. Hurt U So Bad
23. Nicolette

[EDITOR'S NOTE: Yesterday's link for this mixtape is currently down. But you can find a working link in their official website below.]
Wyld Money - G-Spot Music


[Straight from the V-Dot, is Wyld Money makin' music for the "G-Spot". This one'll be the ladies pleaser, minus the batteries. Check this mix out, but if you have a lady, listen at your own risk.]

Tracklising:
1. Intro
2. Rockin' That Thang ft. Luke James XIII
3. Shout
4. What You Girls Like
5. Turning Me On
6. Virginia
7. Baby I See You ft. Owe & Smoke Official
8. Voicemail
9. Fuck Me Through The Phone ft. Luke James XIII
10. Downtown ft. Cali Stylz & Hollow
11. Intermission
12. We Run The Night ft. Junior Reid
13. Smoke With Me
14. Blame it
15. I'm That Nigga
16. Can I Get That ft. Delicia Gordon
17. Love In Lenox ft. Priscilla Polet
18. Fucking You Tonight ft. Luke James XIII
19. Fall Back ft. Marsha Ambrosius
20. Outro

This concludes a crazy week of Free Music Fridays. Again, I apoligize for such a delay. Hope this one is well worth it. If you have any free music you would like to be placed on this site, please e-mail me at kirenamloh@msn.com with the subject as "Free Music Fridays: {insert title here}". Thank you!
Young Money - Every Girl (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Young Money
Title: Every Girl
Label: Universal Records

Potentially the monster single for the summer of 2009, this is a song you simply can't avoid no matter how hard you try. Besides the fact Seattle production duo Tha Bizness provide an infectious musical backdrop with a whistling chorus, the supergroup lineup of Drake, Lil Wayne, Jae Millz, Gudda Gudda and Mack Maine take it over the top ON said chorus with the imitatible chorus "Cause we like her, and we like her too" ad nauseum complete with the too explicit screwed & chopped line "I wish I could fuck every girl in the world." Radio cleans it up though, and there's no shortage of that given every member of the group goes Autotune on the track. The lyrics are borderline retarded, but impossible to forget, especially when you hear Drake overpronounce "les-bi-an" and use it as double entendre for "let's be honest." That shouldn't work... but it does. It's fucking IMPOSSIBLE to get this song out of your head, and for what it's worth you have to admire their honesty - they're young, rich, and horny like a motherfucker.


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 28th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Black Milk's "If There's a Hell Below," Blu's "Good to Be Home," an editorial on Charles Barkley, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #297, Liotta's "Rap Music Heaven Is An Emcee's Hell," Logic's "Under Pressure," Rapsody's "The Beauty and the Beast," The Regiment x Random's "A Gamer's Anthem," Run the Jewels' "Run the Jewels 2" (our featured review) amd Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 21, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cornell's Adler Hip-Hop Archive. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive