Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday August 23, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Preparanoia] ALL CAPS when you spell the man's name.

LMNO Review

Latest News Headlines
Arabian Prince - Let's Hit the Beach (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Arabian Prince
Title: Let's Hit the Beach
Label: Stones Throw Records

It's a bit unexpected to say the least. Arabian Prince, the rap artist perhaps best known as a spare tire in the trunk of N.W.A.'s legacy, is suddenly back in the spotlight. He's not releasing new material to get there; rather the Stones Throw Records camp are compiling together the best of his seminal rap songs from 1984-1989 for a new album titled "Innovative Life." The showcase single both parties are releasing from the album is "Let's Hit the Beach," which is a throwback single in every sense of the word. The electro-funk backdrop falls somewhere between Afrika Bambaataa and Newcleus, leaning more towards the latter, while the rap is a mixture of Melle Mel and Kurtis Blow but perhaps more simplistic than anything either spit. That's not necessarily a negative in this case as you wouldn't want a song about hanging out at the beach to be all that profound. Prince slowly and deliberately delivers lines like "Everybody goes there to lay in the sun/And if you are lucky, you can have some fun." This song is as retro-1980's as you can possibly get, so I recommend breaking out the ColecoVision and watching some old episodes of The A-Team to make the experience complete.

* http://www.stonesthrow.com/jukebox/arabianprince-beach.mp3 *

New Sticky Fingaz Video - "Debo The Game"


Parental advisory on this one, it's some seriously intense ish.


Sticky Fingaz "Debo The Game" Music Video from KB on Vimeo.

Prodigy Sends a Message Out to His Fans


This update comes to us courtesy of www.4sightmedia.com and Jackie O.

PRODIGY SENDS MESSAGE TO FANS
 
* http://www.zshare.net/audio/175677864f94fca3 *

Da Brat Sentenced to Three Years in Prison


Thanks to our friends at www.EURWeb.com for this update. Shawntae 'Da Brat' Harris, age 34, has been sentenced to 3 years in prison today resulting from hitting and slashing a women in the face with a bottle of rum last Halloween. Da Brat will also receive 7 years probation. The incident happened at a Halloween party at Studio 72 nightclub (owned by Jermaine Dupri) last year. The rapper got into an altercation with the waitress and was said to have picked up a bottle of rum and smashed it into the woman's face. The victim was taken to the hospital with cuts to her face and above her eyes, and she is reported to have suffered permanent facial scarring.
B-Real Preps New Album For Duck Down Records


B-Real, of Cypress Hill Preps New Album "Smoke N Mirrors"
In Stores January 27th, 2009 on Duck Down Records


In a continuing effort to expand their talented roster of artists, Duck Down Records has just announced a new album deal with B-Real, of Cypress Hill for his first solo album debut, "SMOKE N MIRRORS," in stores January 27th, 2009.

"Smoke N Mirrors" features SNOOP DOGG, DAMIAN MARLEY, BUCKSHOT, SEAN PRICE and SEN DOGG, of Cypress Hill. Production includes tracks from DJ Quick, Fredwreck, Scoop Deville, and B-Real himself for Audio Hustlerz Inc.

B-Real is currently on the ROCK THE BELLS Tour with Nas, Tribe Called Quest, Method Man, Ghostface, Immortal Technique, Kidz In The Hall and more.

B-Real is the latest addition to Duck Down Records, who just recently announced a group project with KRS-ONE & Buckshot, that will be in stores in 2009, along with upcoming projects from DJ Revolution, "King Of The Decks" (September 16th) and a re-united Heltah Skeltah, comprised of Rock and Sean Price, aka Ruck, who, after ten years, are releasing their third album, "D.I.R.T." (Da Incredible Rap Team), on September 30th. Following this project is Sean Price Presents Ruste Juxx "Indestructible" in stores October 28th.

These titles come on the heels of Duck Down's recent success with 9th Wonder & Buckshot's "The Formula" Album, and Kidz In The Hall's album, "The In Crowd," who recently filmed a video for their second single "Love Hangover" featuring Estelle.

Dru Ha, co-owner of Duck Down Records believes; "Adding another living legend in B-Real to our roster is really giving Duck Down a "dream team" line up for independent Hip Hop." Buckshot and I have been strategic with our label partnerships mixing the right blend of emerging artists with proven veterans.  When you add the upcoming Random Axe Project (Sean Price, Guilty Simpson and Black Milk collaboration set for a 2009 release) we're excited about our ability to continue contributing quality Hip Hop albums to the game."

RIP Sho' Nuff of The Last Dragon


According to published reports Julius Carry III, who is most known for his role as Sho' Nuff in the cult classic The Last Dragon, has passed away due to complications from pancreatic cancer. Let's remember him at his best:


The Sin That's Killing The Music Industry




There is an interesting story going around the net that Rihanna, despite having some of the biggest hits of the past half decade, only has 20G’s in the bank. Now, I have no idea if this story is true, but I can say I know this has happened to plenty of other artists in the past. Massive hits don’t necessarily equate to lined pockets. Why is this? For many it’s a result of signing bad recording contracts. Avoiding such contracts has been the reasoning behind more and more artists going indie. The problem is that while artists don’t deserve to be stripped of their earnings the record industry still has the correct model for putting out music; it just has the wrong people working within it. The model of record labels being one stop shops for everything an artist needs, from recording to touring to promotion, is exactly what every artist is looking for. The problem comes when there are too many of the wrong people in positions of power at those labels. That, in turn, makes the labels places no artist would want to be. Sadly, most record labels fall into that category in 2008 and there’s one reason behind it – Greed.

Read the full story at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/08/sin-thats-killing-music-industry.html
New Videos - Slim Thug, DJ Quik, Snoop, Dem Franchize Boyz


We're debuting more new videos on the RapReviews newsfeed this week! Our first clip is Slim Thug presents Boss Hogg Outlawz "Keep It Playa" featuring Ray J.

Next up is a video where hip-hop legend DJ Quik endorses "Murs For President."

Here's Snoop Dogg presenting Dubb Union's brand new song "Westurn Union!"

Dem Franchize Boys have a new song out called "Turn Heads" featuring Lloyd and here's the video for it.

Here's a feature on Madlib's the Beat Konducta's upcoming new album.

Last but not least is Grafh's "Like Ohh" featuring Busta Rhymes & Prinz. Thanks for checking out the new videos!

Joe Budden Broadcasting Live From the Studio at 4 PM EST


Amalgam Digital partners with UStream to broadcast Joe Budden studio session live, TODAY at 4pm

TODAY, hip hop fans will have the opportunity to chat with Joe Budden before watching the Grammy-nominated rapper live in studio as he puts the finishing touches to his highly anticipated album “Padded Room”.

Budden’s new record label, Amalgam Digital is responsible for launching Hip Hop’s first digital retail store and is recognized for employing highly innovative new media marketing initiatives.

Setting a new precedent Amalgam Digital will be teaming up with interactive broadcast company UStream, to broadcast three hours of Joe Budden’s final studio session for “Padded Room” TODAY.

The live webcast will air from 4-7 PM (ET) at www.AmalgamDigital.com/TV . Starting at 4:00pm, fans will have the opportunity to chat with Joe Budden online, ask him questions, and watch him respond live. After the Q & A, fans will be able to watch Joe recording songs in the studio, putting the finishing touches on his highly anticipated sophomore album “Padded Room” which will hit stores worldwide on Oct 28 2008 on the Amalgam Digital label.

* www.AmalgamDigital.com/TV *

* www.JoeBuddenPaddedRoom.com *

Joe Budden and Amalgam

Mr. Lif Reveals Ambitious Digital Music Project


MR. LIF UNVEILS PLANS TO RELEASE NEW MUSIC IN AN UNPRECEDENTED FORMAT!
1-2 NEW TRACKS CREATED, RECORDED AND DIGITALLY AVAILABLE EVERY THREE WEEKS
FIRST SINGLE, 'I HEARD IT TODAY', COMING 9/9! FOLLOWING SINGLES RELEASED ON 9/23, 10/14, 11/4 (ELECTION DAY). FULL ALBUM AVAILABLE 1/20/2009 (INAUGURATION DAY)

The voice of the people is back!!! Mr. Lif returns with more cutting edge political commentary in his new series titled I Heard It Today. Presented in a completely unprecedented manner, Mr. Lif will write and release 1-2 songs every three weeks until Election Day (November 4), following which Mr. Lif will release one more single based on his post electoral thoughts. This single will preface the release of the I Heard It Today (Bloodbot Tactical Enterprises) full length on Inauguration Day (January 20, 2009). The album will feature additional unreleased tracks and corresponding artwork.

Mr. Lif has his hands on the pulse of American society as he rhymes uncompromisingly about important issues that currently affect us. We are looking toward perhaps the most anticipated administration change in American history, and I Heard It Today boldly holds a mirror to the face of the society we have created and perpetuated. As one of the most versatile voices in the game, Mr Lif has enlisted some of hip-hops most talented producers (J Zone, Edan, and Illmind, among others) to create awareness on current political issues and agendas for Americans and the global community.

Mr. LifMr. Lif adds, "With a new administration on the horizon, many of us are hoping things will change for the better. We are all hoping our voices will be heard and our concerns met with solutions. This project allows me to voice and magnify the all too often ignored opinions of the American people. My research has led me to speak with so many citizens nation wide, and the stories of your struggles combined with the knowledge of my own struggles have given birth to the project now known as I Heard It Today. "

In addition, Mr. Lif will be issuing regular "Presidential Reports" commenting on recent events in national and world politics. "The Presidential Report, Vol. 1" tackles tension between Obama and McCain and the recently erupted conflict between Russia and Georgia, and can currently be heard on Mr. Lif's MySpace page (www.myspace.com/mrlif). Stay tuned as more "Presidential Reports" are sure to follow, connecting the dots between each new installment of I Heard it Today.

Tracks will debut on allhiphop.com and then become available to fans worldwide, via The Orchard, through hundreds of digital music store and wireless carriers, including iTunes, eMusic, Amazon, Rhapsody, Napster, Verizon Wireless, AT&T, Sprint and more.

* www.myspace.com/mrlif *

* www.theorchard.com *

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 19th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Apathy's "Connecticut Casual," Adam Bernard's Billy Danze interview, DJ Halo's Subways & Sidewalks #23 featuring Nackt, an editorial on the Ferguson cops, FlamesYall's "RaglandTape," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #284, Le1f's "Hey," LMNO's "Preparanoia" (our featured review), Trey Songz' "Trigga" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 12, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Hilltop Hoods - "Walking Under Stars". RapReviews.com also recommends AMP SummerSlam Recap from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive