Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday October 31, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Run the Jewels 2] Don't cry.

Run the Jewels Review

Latest News Headlines
Top $ Raz - Hip-Hop's New Heir to the Throne


Growing up in Far Rockaway, Queens, Top $ Raz knew how to rap before he even attended his first day of school. “My brother used to blast Hip-Hop music all day long,” he remembers, “and if I didn’t learn the words to Biggie I would be exiled out the room.” A pretty rough sentence for a kid who was only six at the time, but it was that influence that not only led him to Hip-Hop, but to some very specific types of Hip-Hop. Top $ Raz explains, “my brother made sure I valued and understood the essence of the music and never let me get into the cookie cutter stuff.” While in second grade, when he was just learning how to write, Top $ Raz penned his first rhyme and he hasn’t looked back since. This week I caught up with him to find out more about the depth and diversity of his work, where he gets his incredible stage presence, and the inspiration behind his video for “King.”

Read the full interview at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/03/artist-of-week-top-raz.html

Bronze Nazareth Given WWE-Style Release From Babygrande


From Babygrande Records:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
March 13th, 2009

BABYGRANDE DROPS WU-TANG AFFILIATES BRONZE NAZARETH, ALMIGHTY & THE WISEMEN

After many years of working with Wu-Tang affiliates Bronze Nazareth, The Wisemen and most recently Almighty, Babygrande has chosen not to exercise its contractual options with these respective artists for future albums.  "All of those artists made great records but unfortunately sales were below expectations and none of their projects were profitable. I wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors," says Chuck Wilson, Babygrande's CEO.

Attn. Artists - Who Do YOU Make Music For?



I recently completed Troma Entertainment co-founder Lloyd Kaufman’s book Everything I Need to Know About Filmmaking I Learned From The Toxic Avenger and I want to share a short passage from it about art that really struck me.

The artist who says, “I don’t really care what other people think, I only create art for myself,” isn’t really an artist at all...

Read the full story and share your thoughts at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/03/who-do-you-make-music-for.html

Tanya Morgan - So Damn Down


From Audible Treats:

Tanya Morgan - "So Damn Down"      03.11.2009
“I used to get paid by the week, never got paid by the streets, now I get paid by the beats and that's a fancy way to say I'm broke as hell."

The Song:


There's a city far off; it only takes a few seconds to get there though. A place you could only imagine; yet, somehow it's one of the realest places you've been. That place is Brooklynati, a virtual city reachable by one click of a mouse. Listen to the soundscape of Brooklynati, USA by exploring the sights and sounds of the song "So Damn Down," by city architects Tanya Morgan from their upcoming sophomore LP of the same name. Surrounded by a deceptively cheery orchestral blend of melodic bass lines, soft French horns, and slow pulsing synths, the song has that comforting classic hip-hop feel to it.

However, don’t let the title of the song fool you into thinking this upbeat sounding song is full of hip-hop clichés about lyrical braggadocios; listen carefully to pick up on clues about the unspoken gritty truths of being an indie artist. Read between the lines and hear the word painting; if you don’t catch the underlying meaning on the first listen, give it another spin. Don't let it spoil your mood though, as Tanya Morgan's lesson is in perseverance, despite tough times. There’s no need to pack a suitcase because Brooklynati is as familiar to you as home.

The Background:

Tanya Morgan is back with their third project, Brooklynati, following the success of Moonlighting and The Bridge. Since Von Pea, Ilyas, and Don Will formed Tanya Morgan in 2003, they have received high praise from media elites such as Spin, The Source, XXL Magazine and a resounding seal of approval from the blogosphere. Considered by many to be our generation's torchbearers for De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest, Tanya Morgan will once again put their skills on display with the unique hip-hop Americana sounds of their Brooklynati album this spring. Based on the fictitious city of Brooklynati, this release pushes the boundaries of a concept album by incorporating not only lyrical imagery but also cultivating a culture and mindset, which can be experienced through the City of Brooklynati Chamber of Commerce website: http://www.brooklynati.com/home.html. The sites, sounds, memories, and events of Brooklynati will be unleashed on May 12th through Bay-Area based record label Interdependent Media, the architects behind the funding and development of Brooklynati. Wanderlusts can feed their souls at http://www.Brooklynati.com .

About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2009, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Finale, Canibus, K'naan, Truthlive, and Tanya Morgan. For more information, please visit http://www.imculture.com .

Streams: "So Damn Down" http://media.audibletreats.com/Tanya_Morgan-So_Damn_Down-DJ_Mix.mp3 .

Bio, pictures, and streams available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/TanyaMorgan/ .

Offical site: http://www.tanyamorgan.com .

Kero One - Welcome to the Bay


From Audible Treats:

Video: Kero One - "Welcome To The Bay"      03.11.2009
No matter how long I can stay / I'll be here / No matter how long I'm away / I'll be there

The Video:


Long awaited by fans from across the globe, Kero One's upcoming album, Early Believers has received significant pre-release buzz. Will.i.am even YouTube'd props to Kero for his artistry and solicited him for a possible collaboration: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vD_M395n1f8 As the accolades continue to pour in before the album reaches the market, Kero One whets our appetites with his new video, "Welcome to the Bay," where he guides us through his hometown of San Francisco. Kero shares an honest view of his City By the Bay by touching down on subjects such as the homeless, the Great Quake of ’89, his sneaker addiction, and on a more personal tip, his experience growing up as a second generation son of Asian immigrant parents. Directed by Phil Velasco, Kero One walks us through the streets, beaches, and high-rises of America's most visually stunning city.

Take a deep breath as you check out the video; smell the fresh salt air. We wouldn’t blame you if this video makes you feel the urge to move to The ‘Sco.

The Background:

Former web designer by day and rapper/producer/DJ by night, Kero One, stands as a true testament to the do-it-yourself success story. His early career was marked by endless hours of researching, cold calling, and networking to gain exposure for his debut, self produced project Windmills of the Soul. Persistence paid off with a little help from fate when one of the 50 copies of his album was picked up in a tiny record store in Tokyo, Japan. Success was immediate, as Windmills of the Soul became a hit overnight, which opened the floodgates for international touring and performance opportunities. Three years later, after a Best Hip Hop Album of 2006 award and collabos with Talib Kweli and Mark Farina, Kero One is back with his sophomore album entitled Early Believers, via his label, Plug Label. Modulating from soulful jazz tinged tracks to upbeat synth-driven party bangers, Kero One features some his favorite vocalists such as Giles Peterson protégé UK singer Ben Westbeech, Finland's own modern day "Stevie Wonder," and Portland's Ohmega Watts. Early Believers will be released in April 2009, just in time for spring cleaning and summer fun.

"Welcome to the Bay"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fY39XNcXFKM *
* http://media.audibletreats.com/KERO_ONE-Welcome_to_the_Bay.mp3 *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/KeroOne/ .

Big B 'Criminals' Video Available Online


From Kerosene Media:

For Immediate Release:
Big B Arrested By FBI During ‘Criminals’ Video


***

Las Vegas heavyweight Big B has posted his new video for the track “Criminals” online at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GvRn3sJaSM&feature=channel_page . The video features Big B involved with a seedy auto-body that ends up being busted by the FBI. The video is the prequel to his upcoming video for the track "Sinners", which features an appearance from features freestyle motocross champ Carey Hart (who owns Hart & Huntington Tattoo) and Unwritten Law frontman Scott Russo.

Big B’s new studio album “American Underdog” capitalizes on over five years of grinding road work that has made him an underground sensation in the same scene that birthed artists like Tech N9ne and Kottonmouth Kings. Taking a cue from the roots of punk-rock, Big B earned each and every fan the old fashioned way by touring non-stop opening for everyone from Tech N9ne to Blaze Ya' Dead Homie, (Hed)p.e, and Shaggy 2 Dope.

“American Underdog” finds Big B venturing into the same league as eclectic contemporary alt-rock of artists like Everlast and Citizen Cope. Recorded in the sunshine of California with the powerhouse production team of J&A Productions (Dumbluck, OPM), on “American Underdog” Big B has embraced his melodic side and stepped up his songwriting sensibilities to produce a career defining album that takes his sound to new levels. The album is slated for release on March 24th, 2009 through Suburban Noize.

Big B’s new single “Sinners, featuring a guest appearance from Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo, is currently making a huge impact at radio, already garnering massive spins and even more requests from fans who love the track’s melodic feel good vibes. The track has earned rotation at KCXX in Riverside, KTEG in Albuquerque; KIWR in Omaha and X107.5 XTreme Radio in Las Vegas amongst others.

Big B is currently on tour Kottonmouth Kings and La Coka Nostra on the Bring Tha Noize Tour along with Blaze Ya’ Dead Homie and Potluck. In April B Big is set to join Pennywise and Pepper for The Jagermeister Music Tour from April 13th through the end of May.

BIG B ON BRING THA NOIZE TOUR 2009:

Mar 11 Chicago, IL @ House of Blues
Mar 12 Milwaukee, WI @ Eagles Club
Mar 13 Detroit, MI @ Clutch Cargos
Mar 14 Cincinnati, OH @ Bogarts
Mar 15 Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Mar 17 Mokena, IL @ Pearl Room
Mar 18 Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
Mar 19 Cheswick, PA @ Gravity Nightclub
Mar 20 Worcester, MA @ The Palladium
Mar 21 Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head
Mar 22 Philadelphia, PA @ Theater of Living Arts
Mar 23 New York, NY @ BB Kings
Mar 26 Fort Lauderdale, FL @ Revolution
Mar 27 Saint Petersburg, FL @ Jannus Landing
Mar 28 Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
Mar 29 Sauget, IL @ Pops
Mar 31 Tulsa, OK @ Cains Ballroom
Apr 01 Kansas City, MO @ Beaumont Club
Apr 02 Wichita, KS @ Cotillion Ballroom
Apr 03 Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
Apr 04 Magna, UT @ The Great Salt Air

###

* www.FeedBigB.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

3rd Annual State of the Black Student Summit to Include Sha Money XL


From Fabiola:

The Florida A&M University Student Government Association and Hip Hop Grub Spot Presents the 3rd Annual State of the Black Student Summit with Panelists to Include Chuck Creekmur, Sha Money XL, and Donna Brazille Among Others

TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA, March 10, 2009 - Florida A&M University's (FAMU) Student Government Association (SGA) along with the Florida State University Black Student Union will present the Third Annual State of the Black Student Summit on April 2 through April 3, 2009 in Gaither Gymnasium. This year’s theme is “The Pursuit: How Obama and Hip-Hop Can Renew America’s Promise.”

The two-day event will feature workshops and two panel discussions ranging in topics from Hip-Hop’s influence on politics to the business of Hip-Hop and its economic impact on entrepreneurship and pop culture. Confirmed panelists include Chuck Creekmur, Co-CEO of AllHipHop.com; Ryan Ford, Director of Creative Strategy at the Cashmere Agency; Joshua Fahiym Ratcliffe, President Hip Hop Grub Spot and Former Editor-in-Chief of The Source Magazine; Donna Brazille, Democratic Strategist; Sha Money XL of G-Unit; Tony Shellman, Co-founder of Parish Nation clothing (Enyce and Mecca); 25-year old Tony Payton, Jr., Democrat Pennsylvania House of Representatives; Amy Andrieux, General Manager of The Source Magazine; Woodie White, Global Brand Manager for LRG; Jacques-Philippe Piverger as Principal Investor at AIG Investments and Co-Founder of The Council of Urban Professionals; Corey Boddie, Entertainment Attorney (Jermaine Dupri and Beyonce); and Lee Hawkins, Journalist for CNBC and the Wall Street Journal.

“The State of the Black Student Summit was first presented to the campus community by SGA in 2005 as a vehicle by which our students could access the wisdom and unique experiences of accomplished intellectuals, artists, and innovators,” says Andrew Collins, FAMU’s student body president and university trustee.

Hip-Hop Grub Spot, the title sponsor for the event and the first hip-hop themed healthy food franchise, expressed their excitement about their involvement with The Summit. Joshua Fahiym Ratcliffe, president of Hip-Hop Grub Spot and former editor-in-chief of Source Magazine states, “This is a great opportunity for everyone involved, because it will show how Hip-Hop can be a tool of progress for its most important stakeholders, the students.” Other corporate sponsors include Red Bull, Myspace, and The Source Magazine.

“This is the first time the two universities have come together for an event of this magnitude. We are really excited about the event,” Marcus Winder, Florida State University Black Student Union co-chair for the Summit.

“We are very excited for a chance to partner with SGA to bring an array of distinguished guests that can not only speak, but deliver real opportunities for our students in the forms of internships,” says Sean Mitchell, Florida A&M University Student Government Co-chair of The Summit.

The event is free and open to the public, but seating is limited. For more information, contact Co-chair, Kianta Key at sbss08@gmail.com. For corporate sponsorship or guest information, contact Co-chair, Sean Mitchell at sbss.sponsorship@gmail.com.

Fabiola Fleuranvil
Principal, N.Y.L.A. Entertainment Group

John Forté Plays With The Roots, Sets Sights on SXSW


From Girlie Action:

John Forté Plays With The Roots, Sets Sights on SXSW

Since returning home from prison just ten weeks ago, Grammy-nominated singer, songwriter and producer John Forté has wasted no time satiating his hunger to make music.  This past Thursday, John was among several surprise guests including Talib Kweli, Chrisette Michelle, and Pharoahe Monch, to join The Roots onstage at Highline Ballroom in NYC.  He will be making his first live public performance in eight years for Kweli's SXSW Blacksmith Records showcase on Thursday, March 19th at Scoot Inn.

Best known for producing and co-writing tracks for The Fugees' multiplatinum album "The Score" as well as his two solo albums, "I, John" and "PolySci," John is back in the studio, working on his highly-anticipated new full-length album.  He recently released a new song "Life Has Just Begun (Returning Home)" and appeared with Kweli on a remix of Kanye West's "Homecoming."  To hear about John's release from prison and subsequent new beginnings in his own words, be sure to check out his bi-weekly column over at The Daily Beast.

In addition to getting back on track with his own music, John will be working with In Arms Reach, a program committed to promoting a positive environment for children of incarcerated parents and at-risk youth.  Beginning on March 31st, John will teach a twelve-week music course to students aged 12-15 years old at The City College of New York.   Designed to use music as a therapeutic means of addressing anger, stress, and pain John hopes that the catharsis of song composition will help children deal with the stigma of having a family member who is incarcerated and rebuild the spirit of those who have been traumatized or abandoned.

For more information, please contact Girlie Action.

GenAudio Launches Version 1.2 of AstoundStereo Expander


From GenAudio:

GenAudio Launches Version 1.2 of AstoundStereo Expander Software for Macs and PCs

Latest Update to Popular Audio Enhancement Software Improves Upon Performance and Usability 

GenAudio Inc., developer of AstoundSound™ 4D sound localization cue technology, has released Version 1.2 of its revolutionary AstoundStereo Expander software for both Macs and PCs. The new software version improves upon system performance when running the AstoundStereo Expander by lowering the application’s CPU usage and enhancing its overall performance. AstoundStereo Expander Version 1.2 also enhances the usability of the application by incorporating hotkey functionality for adjusting the intensity of the application’s effect on the audio and correcting minor bugs discovered in the last software version. AstoundStereo Expander for Windows version 1.2 also includes Windows Vista 64-bit compatibility.

“The positive response we have received to our AstoundStereo Expander software has been incredible, and we are continuing to see more and more people download our product to experience AstoundStereo first-hand,” said Jerry Mahabub, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of GenAudio. “With our latest software update, we have improved upon the AstoundStereo experience by giving user’s easy control of the AstoundStereo Expander with hotkey options and improving the overall performance of the software. We are constantly striving to build the best product available and this is the first of what we anticipate to be many enhancements we will develop for the AstoundStereo Expander.”

The AstoundStereo Expander is derived from GenAudio’s proprietary AstoundSound 4D technology, which draws on years of audio perception research to immerse listeners in a 360 degree, spherical soundscape that mimics the sound of real life. The AstoundStereo Expander allows users to apply this enhanced audio processing technology to their existing digital audio for a heightened, deepened and widened listening experience through as little as two audio channels, such as any headphones, home theater speakers or laptop speakers.

            The AstoundStereo Expander software processes audio files on the user’s desktop or laptop computer in real-time. This enables the listener to hear their music, movies and video games in a richer, fuller way.

Consumers who wish to experience digital audio in AstoundStereo, including movies, music and games, can now download a free 30-day trial of the new AstoundStereo Expander software for Mac or PC by logging onto www.astoundstereo.com. Following the free trial, consumers can purchase the software for $39.95.

About GenAudio

GenAudio, Inc. is headquartered in Englewood, CO.  GenAudio’s mission is to provide a true 4D sound solution for the entire entertainment industry — AstoundStereo, the next dimension in audio. AstoundStereo is a 4D software based sound solution that integrates seamlessly with consumer electronics and software applications, as well as provides professional audio production solutions through a minimum of two speakers or headphones. AstoundStereo is the most accurate and intense 4D sound localization cue technology available today.  The technology works with most consumers existing equipment and no special hardware or decoding devices are needed.  For more information visit: www.genaudioinc.com .

AstoundStereo official site: http://www.astoundstereo.com .
AstoundStereo link to free tracks: http://www.AstoundStereo.com/freetrack .
GenAudio official site: http://www.genaudioinc.com .

Trends Offers Free New Mixtape Download


From Trends:

Hey Beautiful People. I would like to present to you the one of the Best Mixtape Albums you will ever hear in you life.
 
This is my new mixtape called "Dirty Little Secrets" which is for Free download. This is my most personal piece of work. Make sure you download it and pass it on to a friend. All hip hop websites and blogs please post this and spread the word. I drop one or two mixtapes a month and my and the music is the S#IT!!!!!!!!!
 
Do your self a favor and download this. Don't Front
 
Here is the link - http://www.sendspace.com/file/yv6nz0 .
 
Tracklisting
1) Intro (produced by Ramon Mendigorri)
2) Far as my eyes can see ( produced by Beat Conector)
3) Take on Me ( produced by Beat Conector)
4) She Took my soul (produced by Beat Conector)
5) It Aint Simple ( produced by Beat Connector)
6) Across The Sky ( produced by Brainbug)
7) Bang!!! (produced by Szmytko)
8) Had a lot of Girls (produced by Flawless)
9) Dumb Bitches (produced by Steelwaterz)
10) Switch (produced by Reggie D)
11) I owe you (produced by Arkreatek)
12) Dirty Little Secrets (produced by Szmytko and Small Fortune)
13) Outro ( produced by Ramon mendigorri)

Thanks again to everyone who downloaded The Inauguration Mixtape. Its been getting really great responses. If you haven't downloaded it make sure you make it happen.

Here is the link - http://www.sendspace.com/file/eormqp .

Tracklisting
 
1) Inauguration Intro
2) Mr. President (produced by Kajmir Royale)
3) My First Lady (produced by Biggz the Producer)
4) Must be Something More (produced by Beat Conector)
5) My Experience (produced by Beat Conector)
6) Nothings Going to Stop Me!! (produced by Kajmir Royale)
7) We're Flying (produced by Kajmir Royale)
8) Dear Obama (produced by Steelwaterz)
9) NWO Interlude)
10) What's Really Real (produced by Smooth Beats)
11) Cold Winter (produced by Beat Conector)
12) Inauguration Outro (produced by Szymto)
 
Thanks for the Support
 
Trends
* www.myspace.com/trendsitakks *
* www.youtube.com/trends *
* www.trendsblogs.blogspot.com *
* www.youtube.com/mrlocario *
* www.youtube.com/therealtrends *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 28th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Black Milk's "If There's a Hell Below," Blu's "Good to Be Home," an editorial on Charles Barkley, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #297, Liotta's "Rap Music Heaven Is An Emcee's Hell," Logic's "Under Pressure," Rapsody's "The Beauty and the Beast," The Regiment x Random's "A Gamer's Anthem," Run the Jewels' "Run the Jewels 2" (our featured review) amd Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 21, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cornell's Adler Hip-Hop Archive. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive