Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday November 24, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Ruane Maurice] Dark and grimy!

Ruane Maurice review

Latest News Headlines
Braille Update - Back Home With Stories to Tell


Hey world, this is Bryan "Braille" with a new update.

First of all, I've been home from the road for a week.  When my wife and daughter picked me up at the airport my daughter was in awe of me.  haha.  She stayed up till midnight the first couple nights and just wanted to play.  It was a blessing for us both.  Gabriella (my daughter) is only 2 years and 4 months old.  She is already singing songs with me - which is amazing because she was diagnosed with mild brain damage at birth.  For the first 6 months her arms were stuck behind her back and she didn't start making noise until 7 or 8 months.  After much prayer and physical therapy she was healed and it blows me away how smart she is.  I was away from my family for 3 weeks but the fruit (the results) of this tour were worth it.  God's timing has been so amazing for us.  My wife is a stay at home mom - so typically the idea of me leaving for 3 weeks wouldn't be very fresh.  But God has prepared us for this time and also provided things in our life that makes this season less intimidating.  Our best friends live next door, we have a great church, we live close to both our families and all those things together helped make this tour possible.

In total - me and S1 did 29 shows in 27 days.  There are so many people to thank and I've done my best to thank everyone in person.  We only stayed in hotels 3 or 4 nights the whole tour.  Every other night someone was opening up their home to us.  During the tour we gave out nearly 5,000 CDs!!!  We performed at prisons, cafes, community centers, churches, bars and shelters.  Needless to say, there are so many people to thank.  I want to take a moment to specifically recognize the promoters, the host homes and everyone who invested into us so that we could print these CDs.  We received so much positive feedback during this trip.  It was such a blessing to be able to give away this new album.  Nearly every show had over 100 people in attendance and we would hand out each CD one by one.  We saw the smiles, we got the hugs and we've heard stories from people who were touched at the shows.  Me and S1 both grew tremendously in our own spiritual lives.  We had no idea what it would be like touring together but we are like family now.  I'm really glad S1 was able to go with me and hopefully we can do some more runs (and some more music) together in the future.

At this point we only have enough CDs for one or two more events.  April is pretty mild but we will be performing at the Peanut Butter and Jelly Party in Nashville, TN.  This event is thrown by Syntax Records and is expected to have over 500 people in attendance during GMA week.  Starting in May the tour schedule picks back up so we plan on printing more CDs in two weeks so that we have them ready for all our shows.  We already have around $3,000 saved up but we are trying to double that number and press a full batch of 10,000 CDs at a cheaper price per unit.  If your interested in getting involved then just hit me up.  Honestly, no pressure at all.  This is something we are willing to put our own money into as well when we can.  By partnering with others who believe in the vision as well - we are able to accomplish more together.  But this is never intended to be a burden on anyone - this is meant to be a blessing for everyone involved.

A few more quick notes and then I'm going to close this out.

1. I want to encourage everyone to check out www.itsnineteen.com.  There is a video player with concert footage from the tour.  There are also some good interviews and reviews that you can check out, as well as a list of stores that carry the album for people who haven't been able to attend a show yet.

2. The "CloudNineteen" album is now on Itunes.  For those of you who already have the record, could you visit Itunes and leave your own personal review of the album?  I'd like to get 30 or 40 reviews at Itunes over the next week.  So yeah... head over there when you get time and drop your thoughts about the record.  The direct link is below, or you can just type "Braille and S1" in the search section of the Itunes stores.

http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?id=307954377&s=143441

3. I hit the jackpot and received a box full of records that I thought were extinct.  My management company was changing locations and found a stack of "Hiphop Music" 12 inches and "Box of Rhymes" 7 inches.  These have both been sold out for over two years, so I was pretty excited to get some copies back.  If your interested in getting a copy of either then just hit me up.  I only have about 20 of each.

4. New tour dates have been added to www.braillehiphop.com.  I will be in Texas and Nashville in April.  I will be in Oregon, Cali, Oklahoma, Kansas, Indiana, Chicago, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh in May.  If you'd like to set up a show in your area then we can make it happen.

Much love - hope everyone is doing well.  A lot of people have hit me up personally who have been going through some struggles.  I just wanted to let everyone reading this know that I am here for you.  If you ever need someone to talk with or pray with then feel free to hit me up.  One friend lost his step father and we've been talking.  Some guys have been struggling with lust and we've been talking.  It's not just all about the music for me so if you ever want to pick my brain about anything then I'm available.  Peace and GOD bless
Thank you, from Braille and the Hiphop Is Music team.
www.braillehiphop.com | www.hiphopismusic.com
Italian Producer Fabio to Release "Passport" on Babygrande


From Babygrande Records:

ITALIAN PRODUCER FABIO MUSTA
SET TO RELEASE SOLO DEBUT
"PASSPORT" ON BABYGRANDE
RECORDS - MAY 12, 2009


For Immediate Release
March 31st, 2009

Babygrande Records is pleased to announce the signing of Italian producer
Fabio Musta, for his debut album "Passport," due out on May 12th, 2009.
Fabio is a veteran of the hip-hop scene in Italy, and has spent years
working with MCs from all over the globe. A truly international effort,
"Passport" features guest appearances from Jeru The Damaja,
Termanology, T3 of Slum Village, Guilty Simpson, Reks, Strong Arm Steady,
Mainflow & many many more. "With this release, Babygrande will have
released projects with artists and producers from France, Germany and
Italy. This project is a natural extension of the international partnerships that
Babygrande has been exploring over the last 5 years, and Fabio is a perfect
candidate for such a partnership," says Chuck Wilson, Babygrande's CEO.

With his finger on the pulse of the local Italian scene, and never more than a
few "clicks" away from the U.S. indie hip-hop scene, Fabio Musta is perfectly
positioned to push the borders and boundaries of hip-hop, with "Passport."

For More information, click here - http://www.ihiphop.com/fabiomusta .

Fabio Musta
"Passport"
In Stores May 12th, 2009
Babygrande Records

Big Pooh - Delightful Bars LP Comes in 4 Flavors


From Matt at MAC Media:

Big Pooh’s Delightful Bars Will Be Available In Four Different Versions And Features Guest Appearances By Jay Rock, Justus League and Production From Khrysis, Jake One, Illmind, 9th Wonder, Young RJ and OhNo

Big Pooh’s latest vehicle is a street-LP entitled, Delightful Bars, and there will be four different versions of Delightful Bars made accessible, including a special iTunes only version (referred to as the Candy Apple version), which was released on 3-24-09 and the North American retail version of Delightful Bars (referred to as the North American Pie Version) will be released on 5-5-09.

Tracklisting and credits for Big Pooh’s Delightful Bars:

North American Pie Version

1.) North American Pie Intro
2.) The Comeback (produced by Khrysis)
3.) Its A Go f/Torae (produced by Dae One)
4.) Nothing Less f/Ab Soul, Jay Rock & K Dot (produced by Young RJ)
5.) C.O.D. (produced by Mickey Free)
6.) Move f/ Darien Brockington (produced by Phonix)
7.) Something Like Stars f/ Big Treal (produced by Jake One)
8.) Step Up (produced by D.R.)
9.) Reality Check f/ Big Dho, D. Black & Mykestro (produced by Khrysis)
10.) Problems f/ Jozeemo (produced by Illmind)
11.) AMO A SU PAPI DE LA BARRA skit
12.) Roll Call f/  Jozeemo, Chaundon & Joe Scudda (produced by The Co-Op)
13.) The Life f/ Mushinah (produced by Khrysis)
14.) Rearview Mirror (produced by 9th Wonder)
15.) EMPANADA NORTE AMERICANA OUTRO

New Camp Lo Video "On Smash"/"89 of Crime"


From Christian Mariano:

NEW VIDEO
CAMP LO feat. STYLES P
"ON SMASH"/"89 OF CRIME"

prod. SMOKING APPLES / APPLE JUICE KID
dir. COURT DUNN for RESTLESS FILMS

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHvE2DSul3c .

from STONE AND ROB: CAUGHT ON TAPE
AVAILABLE NOW
* http://tinyurl.com/camplo-stoneandrob *

* www.myspace.com/therealcamplo *
* www.twitter.com/camplo *
* www.camplo.net *

Keelay & Zaire - "Alright With Me" f/ Phonte & Dminor


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Keelay & Zaire - "Alright With Me" feat. Phonte & Dminor      03.31.2009
Kee & Zee Team Up With Phonte and Dminor For Latest Single From Ridin High


The Song:

In an effort to spread the message of uninfluenced and unconditional love, Keelay & Zaire bring us "Alright With Me," the second official single from their debut album, Ridin High. Kee & Zee's smoothed out keys and bouncy bass provide the perfect backdrop for Dminor to spread his wings and take off. A hip-hop/soul vocalist from Los Angeles, Derek "Dminor" Young started his recording career at the age of 7 and has since produced or been featured on projects with artists such as Othello, Supastition, Styles of Beyond, Lovespirals, Muneshine, Emilio "Raks One" Rojas, MF Grimm, Louis Logic, and many more. His soul-filled voice dominates the first two-thirds of the track, as he sings passionately of the feelings he has for his lady, and the lack of interest he has in hearing what anyone else has to say about it; he knows they dig each other and to him that's all that matters. The song concludes with a special cameo from Phonte of Little Brother. Phonte describes his relationship by using the phrase "punch-drunk love;" the type of love where you can't even think straight when you're in the presence of your significant other. Phonte plays on this phrase when he says, "...Punch-drunk love we stay liquored up / 151 proof shining through the sunroof, let your hair down, girl, I gotta give it up to you."

BONUS: Check this video of Keelay & Zaire live from SXSW: http://vimeo.com/3870697 .

The Prelude to Drive EP is now available to download for FREE at the freshly launched MyxMusicLabel.com.

The Background:

Keelay & Zaire are a bi-coastal team that operates with only one concrete rule; creating music with unlimited range. Complementing each other's styles with precision, Kee & Zee work as a sole production machine that spawns gritty classic hip-hop, soulful R&B, and any other medium that requires an exclusive sound from the team. With Keelay out west in San Francisco, and Zaire in the east, holding it down in Virginia, the two have almost unlimited resources from which to draw talent and inspiration. In their debut LP Ridin High, the pair's versatility takes center stage, backed up by a talented cast of emcees and singers including Phonte of Little Brother, Supastition, Blu, Cali Agents, Darien Brockington, Tash of Tha Liks, Saafir, Fortilive, The Park, Emilio Rojas, Surreal ,Slo-Mo, Mario Dones, The A.V.E., J.Fish, Jony Fraze, Whooligan, and Tiffany Paige. Keelay & Zaire's Ridin High will be released on March 10th by MYX Music Label.

About MYX Music:

MYX Music Label began in 2007 by industry veteran Karim Panni of the Boom Bap Project (Rhymesayers Entertainment). MYX Music Label is under the umbrella of MYX TV, which is the only music and lifestyle channel dedicated to the Asian American community. Distributed nationally, MYX TV showcases the hottest major label and independent content as well as dynamic original programming that fuses fashion, comedy, and culture. MYX Music Label integrates the newest technology while developing innovative digital distribution and promotion strategies to service their artists. The MYX Music Label was created for the sole purpose of using the MYX TV visual network platform to promote the finest independent hip-hop and urban music. MYX Music Label's ambitious release schedule for 2009 includes groundbreaking works from production duo Keelay & Zaire, Jern Eye, Fortilive (producer Illmind's hip-hop crew) and exclusive music from the best Asian MC's, DJ's and producers in the compilation 20 C Energizers. Also, adding to their versatility as a label, MYX Music Label DVD releases include The Nutshack, Built From Skratch, Str8 Laced and Slanted Comedy, which features today's top Asian American comedians. For more information on MYX Music Label, please visit http://www.myxmusiclabel.com .

Streams:

Keelay & Zaire - "Alright With Me"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Keelay_and_Zaire-Alright_With_Me.mp3 *

Keelay & Zaire - Live at SXSW
* http://vimeo.com/3870697 *

MYX Music Label and Hip Hop DX Present: The MYX Label Mixtape Mixed by DJ Mere of the Oakland Faders
* http://sharebee.com/cbf40c30 *

Keelay & Zaire - Behind The Scenes of the "Alright With Me" Video Shoot
* http://vimby.com/video/music/us/all/detail/9621 *

Keelay & Zaire - Ridin High sampler by DJ Mere
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Keelay_and_Zaire-Ridin_High_Sampler_by_Dj_Mere.mp3 *

Jill Scott's New Show - No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency


You may have heard our friend The Cancer talking about this on the latest edition of his K4D radio show. Now thanks to the Unsigned Man PR people we've got some more details and a clipping of an article from People Magazine!


From Unsigned Man:

Check out Jill Scott, star of the hot HBO series, the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, being named one of TV's Breakout Stars in the new People Magazine!!

Here's a clip of the breakout show, the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vdee9507YVM .

Courtesy Unsigned Man 

Bubba Sparxxx & Greg Street New Compilation


From Koch Records:

BUBBA SPARXXX & GREG STREET IN CONJUNCTION WITH NEW SOUTH ENTERTAINMENT ARE PROUD TO PRESENT

THE NEW SOUTH -- A NEW COMPILATION ALBUM FEATURING SOME OF
THE HOTTEST NEW RAP TALENT FROM ACROSS THE U.S.

ALBUM ALSO FEATURES SUPERSTARS RAY J AND JIM JONES

THE NEW SOUTH IS SET TO BE RELEASED MAY 5TH, 2009


(New York, NY) — New South Entertainment in conjunction with E1 Music (formerly KOCH Records) is proud to announce the release of The New South, a Bubba Sparxxx/Greg Street compilation album, on May 5th, 2009. For the past 2 years, Bubba Sparxxx, one of the most forward thinking rappers to bless the game, has been scouring the U.S. for some of today’s hottest up-and-coming new rappers. His unique style and incredible ears will help make New South one of the freshest compilations in a long time. Bubba has also brought on some special reinforcement by partnering up with Greg Street, one of America’s most influential urban radio personalities.

Along with 7 tracks of his own, including the first single “Beatin’ Down Da Block,” The New South is set to represent hip hop from every major U.S. region, along with some other International surprises.

To hear “Beatin’ Down Da Block,” by Bubba Sparxxx featuring and produced by Dirt Reynolds, please click here:

Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/qtime/kochent/bubbasparxxx/beatindowndablock.mov .

Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/wmedia/kochent/bubbasparxxx/beatindowndablock.wvx .

“She Got Me Like (Ah S***),” the Bubba Sparxxx track feat. Ray J, got 1.8 million online video views its first weekend online, and can be heard here: 

Download URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/download/kochent/bubbasparxxx/ahhshit.mp3 .

Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/qtime/kochent/bubbasparxxx/ahhshit_broadband_aud_stream.mov .

Highlights from the new compilation include bangers from J. Money, one of the hottest artists in the clubs in Atlanta (“First Name Last Name,” currently exploding at WHTA / WVEE), and Kenny Knox , the in demand street artist from St. Louis (“Git Ghetto,” which has been getting regular airplay on WHHL).

Additional tracks on The New South represent the ‘hoods all across the U.S, including the infectious track “Up To No Good” by hot new artist 6’6” 240 feat. Playboy, the underground Atlanta smash “Dump Dat,” by Tight, “Bo Fum” by Hustle Boy feat. Jim Jones, “Caramel Sunday” by Dallas native Dorrough and “Against Da Wall,” a new track by Fatigue (who won B.E.T.’s Freestyle Friday competition).

Producers like the Super Daves, Chason Dreamz, Basement Beats, DJ Monstalung, 95, Aktual, Poli Paul and Shuko are also on board with crazy new beats. 

Sparxxx says, "I know everybody thinks I've just been out getting’ that show money for the past 2 years, and they are right about that. But I've been keepin’ my ear to the streets as I'm hittin’ these cities and connecting with who's hot. Everybody on board for this project has been on the grind for a minute. Me and Greg Street have been talkin about giving independent artists a chance to shine in a major way and this project accomplishes that. This is only the beginning- Street and Bubba gonna keep these comin’. If you got hot music, holla at us. We getting’ Volume 2 ready now."

Bubba first hit the scene in 2001 with his Gold certified album, Dark Days, Bright Nights (which yielded the monster hit “Ugly”), Sparxxx followed up with his genre-bending Deliverance, an album that took many fans by surprise and earned the rapper much critical acclaim for being well ahead of his time thanks to its ground-breaking sound. Bubba’s last album The Charm (released in 2006) spawned the massive hit “Ms. New Booty” which became one of the biggest Ringtones of all time and hit well over 12,000 spins per week at Radio and peaked at #1 at Rap Radio and #7 on Top 40 radio.

Together, Sparxxx’ 3 albums have collectively sold over 1.3 million albums in the U.S. alone. When Sparxxx is on the road, he is checking out what’s bumping in Georgia; what’s banging in the Lou; finding the flow from Florida. With his help, along with New South Entertainment, they have been gathering the hits from East to West!  More info will follow, please book mark www.myspace.com/bubbasparxxx for all the latest announcements.

Bubba is also hard at work on The Impolite Gentleman, his fourth full length album to be released later in 2009 through New South Entertainment/E1 Music.

For more information, go to: www.kochrecords.com or www.myspace.com/bubbasparxxx .

dead prez & Green Lantern Join Forces For New LP


From Kimberly Trick:

dead prez AND THE EVIL GENIUS DJ GREEN LANTERN
JOIN FORCES FOR POWERFUL NEW LP
- Pulse of the People Hits Stores June 23, 2009 - 


New York, NY (March 2009) Stic.man and M-1, the revolutionary duo that comprise dead prez, combine forces with DJ Green Lantern for Pulse of The People, a new LP and third installment of their critically acclaimed independent series, Turn off the Radio Vol. 3. Due in stores June 23, 2009, Pulse of The People will be released through Green Lantern’s new label, Invasion Music Group/Boss up Inc.  Pulse of The People features appearances from Styles P, Bun B, K’Naan, Chuck D, and Invasion Music Group’s own Johnny Polygon.

Highly acclaimed DJ and producer, The Evil Genius DJ Green Lantern, reached out to dead prez for contributions to his mixtapes in the past.  Although respect was always mutual between the camps, the timing was not yet ripe for a full album collaboration. After the success of the Rock the Bells Tour, featuring both Green and dead prez, they decided it was time to make it happen. The three hit the studio in February to create Pulse of The People, “an album with all original songs written by dead prez and produced entirely by DJ Green Lantern”, explains Stic.man. “Pulse of The People is presented in a format that reps the streets and what’s happening in the hearts and minds of the people that don’t get represented in the mainstream.” With dead prez’s respect for DJ Green Lantern’s work as a producer/tastemaker and his new label, Invasion Music Group, distributed by The Orchard, on board, Pulse of The People came to life just in time to bang out for the summer and beyond.

In addition to going “Green” with this album musically, the politically active dead prez chose sustainable packaging for the effort. This revolutionary move not only breaks ground in hip-hop, but shows that they stand by what they speak.

About dead prez:

dead prez has been crafting revolutionary gangsta hip-hop since the late 1990s.  Having previously released two major label albums, two volumes of their independent Turn off the Radio series and two solo albums, the dead prez way-of-life brand is an international symbol of substance within the genre, connecting hardcore hip hop heads with the growing movement for liberation, social justice and grassroots empowerment in the scene.

About DJ Green Lantern:

Named by MTV as 2008’s Mixtape and Radio DJ of the year, this succinct summation hardly does justice to the magnitude of DJ Green Lantern’s accomplishments last year. He put together Nas’ Nigger Mixtape, a rare official mixtape from the Queensbridge king, that served as a middle finger to all those who opposed his controversial Untitled album. Having worked on the Barack Obama: Yes We Can mixtape as well as Royce Da 5’9’s Bar Exam 2 and Immortal Technique’s 3rd World cemented the fact that DJ Green Lantern doesn’t chase the biggest checks but works with artists he respects.

J*DaVeY Video - Slooow


From Audible Treats:

Video: J*DaVeY - "Slooow"      03.30.2009
Contest on MTVU Freshman Starts Today, Winner Receives Rotation On MTV    

While we eagerly await material from J*DaVeY's upcoming full-length album, the Los-Angeles based new wave-electro-sex-punk duo are trying their best to tease us mercilessly. This time around, J*DaVey bring the sultry track "Slooow" from their double EP Beauty in Distortion / Land of the Lost, to life through a video that subtly melts into our speakers and our eardrums. Set behind a quivering red and black backdrop that oozes, bends, and spreads across the screen, the video takes us into an abstract dream-like world that lets us see what J*DaVeY's understated and suggestive bleeps and coos look like in the visual realm.

The video, directed by up and comer Tomas Whitmore, has already premiered at #8 on BET JAMS and is up for MTVU's The Freshman Contest. Starting this today at 11am EST until Friday at noon, J*DaVeY babies can vote for "Slooow" as many times as they want. If "Slooow" beats out the competitors, the video will be placed in permanent rotation on MTV.

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1UYv8NWMU4 .
Vote: http://www.mtvu.com/category/music/the-freshmen/ .

The Background:

With production ranging from the spastic, space-age drums of "Mr. Mister" to the celestial keys of "Might As Well," The Beauty In Distortion plays with the variance and depth of a polished, full album. On The Land of the Lost, producer-extraordinaire ?uestlove and Renaissance emcee Phonte of Little Brother contribute in an equally holistic compilation of futuristic records. Throughout the 23 tracks, two constants bind the project together in a mystical fashion: the steamy vocal musings of Jack Davey and the bleeps, drums, and melodies of Brook D'Leau.

Heralded as a cross between Prince and the B-52s, J*DaVeY is in fact influenced by too many genres to count. A fusion of funk, surf, soul, hip-hop, and electronic secret sauce, the J*DaVeY EPs will satiate starving fans from all ends of the musical spectrum. Already featured everywhere from Fader to Allure to CSI: New York, Jack and Brook are prepared to smoothly swagger into the limelight with their first major release. All ears not finely tuned to the freshly paved street will ring come July. The Beauty In Distortion / The Land of the Lost EP is in stores now.
 
Slooow Video
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1UYv8NWMU4 *

No More
* http://media.audibletreats.com/JDavey-No_More.mp3 *

Mr. Mister Future Screw Remix
* http://media.audibletreats.com/JDavey-Mr_Mister_Future_Screw_Remix.mp3 *
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28Xfxu1itbI *
 
Slooow
* http://media.audibletreats.com/JDavey-Slooow.mp3 *

New El Michaels Affair Album - Enter the 37th Chamber


From Audible Treats:

Surging Retro-Soul Movement Stings The Killer Bees      03.30.2009
El Michels Affair Interpolates Classic Wu-Tang Songs On New Album, Enter The 37th Chamber

El Michels Affair Career Highlights:

• Horn line written and performed by Leon Michels (for Menahan Street Band) lifted by Jay-Z for "Roc Boys," the lead single from his Grammy-award winning, platinum album, American Gangster.

• Produced track "Right As Rain" from singer Adele's Grammy-award winning, debut album, 19.

• Produced officially commissioned remix of Amy Winehouse's "Love Is a Losing Game" from Grammy-award winning, multi-platinum album, Back In Black.

• Worked with super-producer Just Blaze on song included on forthcoming Saigon album, The Greatest Story Never Told.

• Produced cover song featuring Iggy Pop and Australian rock group Jet for Johnny O'Keefe tribute album.

• Produced officially commissioned remix of Dinah Washington's "Cry Me A River" as part of the Verve Remixed Series.

(March 30, 2009 - Brooklyn, NY) New York-based vintage soul instrumental group, El Michels Affair are proud to announce the release of their highly anticipated upcoming studio LP, Enter The 37th Chamber. The album, full of adaptations of classic Wu-Tang Clan songs, will be available April 21st via Truth & Soul / Fat Beats Records.

At the core of a movement that includes Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, Amy Winehouse, Mark Ronson, and The Budos Band, El Michels Affair are among the leaders of a retro-soul and funk movement causing a stir both in the streets and on the charts. Led by saxophonist/organist Leon Michels and producer/engineer Jeff Silverman, El Michels Affair comprises a collection of other musicians from The Dap-Kings, the Budos Band, and Antibalas. Although sharing similarities with these groups, the El Michels' sound is its own - versatile enough to span genres including soul, funk, hip-hop, and punk rock. Always hard at work in the studio, El Michels Affair looks forward to stepping back into the spotlight to display that versatility on their new album, Enter The 37th Chamber.

For Enter The 37th Chamber, a name that pays homage to the title of the Wu-Tang Clan's historic debut album, Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers), El Michels Affair, took the time to interpret fifteen of some of the most legendary and well-known Wu-Tang Clan songs, including "Can It All Be So Simple," "Protect Ya Neck," "Cherchez La Ghost," and "Incarcerated Scarfaces." Also included on the album are the El Michel's interpolations of Wu-Tang Clan anthems "C.R.E.A.M." and "Bring Da Ruckus," two songs fans will undoubtedly remember from their previous release as 7" singles through the Truth & Soul label. Similar to the sounds found on those two records, on Enter The 37th Chamber El Michels Affair are able to bring their own astute musicianship, artistic touch, and soul vibe to each instrumental, breathing new life into already classic songs. It was that musicianship and versatile sound that led to El Michels Affair joining the Fat Beats family, and now, two years later, the album is finally ready for the masses.

El Michels Affair began as a series of informal collaborative sessions with musicians from top-selling acts Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, The Budos Band, and Antibalas. In 2005, the group released their debut effort, Sounding Out The City on Truth & Soul, a label co-founded by Silverman and Michels. Since the album's 2005 release, the El Michels sound has been prominent, even when the group's name has not. A successful tour with Wu-Tang Clan member Raekwon led to the recording of two widely successful 7" instrumental singles for "C.R.E.A.M." and "Bring Da Ruckus." Later, in 2007, Wu-Tang Clan member, Ghostface Killah sampled a track from Sounding Out The City, and most famously, in 2007, a horn part written and performed by Leon Michels was lifted and used for Jay-Z's "Roc Boys," the lead single from his wildly successful American Gangster album. Elsewhere, the Truth & Soul duo was enlisted by Amy Winehouse to remix her hit, "Love Is A Losing Game," has played on sessions produced by Mark Ronson, Just Blaze, and Iggy Pop, and were hired by British singing sensation Adele to bring the patented Truth & Soul sound to her Grammy-award winning album, 19. 2009 plans to be a big year for El Michels Affair, as they prepare the release of Enter The 37th Chamber, available April 21 via Fat Beats Records.

Streams:
 
"C.R.E.A.M."
* http://media.audibletreats.com/El_Michels_Affair-CREAM.mp3 *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/elmichels .
 
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/truthandsoulrecords .

Truth & Soul: http://www.truthandsoulrecords.com/ .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of November 18th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have ELEVEN new items for you! Check out Admiral Crumple's "Cryptkid," Donnie Propa & Scor-Zay-Zee's "Best of Scorzayzee Volume 1," an article on the ten rap songs with DOPE game samples coinciding with our interview with Random a/k/a Mega Ran, Kingpin's "The Initiative," Micall Parknsun's "I Should've Done This Time Ago," Ruane Maurice's "Ruane Maurice" (our featured review), Skrein's "The Eat Up," Verb T's "Verbs With a Vengeance," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for November 11, 2014 and Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #24 w/ Uncommon Nasa.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like R.I.P. Big Bank Hank. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive