Friday June 23, 2017
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

THIS WEEK'S FEATURE

Faith & B.I.G. review

Latest News Headlines
Free Album! Mick Boogie & Little Brother's "And Justus For All"


Mick Boogie & Little Brother: And Justus For All

 

 

 

Since when are you going to turn down some free music, especially from uber-popular North Carolina hip-hop group Little Brother? RapReviews.com has your hook-up courtesy of www.MickBoogie.com and their partner site RappersIKnow.com. There's no strings attached, you can download this entire album ABSOLUTELY FREE. Get your summer off to a hot start early with some of the hottest straight out the NC. Thanks to Greg M for the tip and to Mick Boogie & Little Brother for proving yet again that the revolution may not be televised, but it will be digitized! (download link)
Planet Asia Prepares New Album


Planet Asia; Jewelry Box Sessions

Planet Asia's coming back one mo' gen with "Jewelry Box Sessions: The Album" on Gold Chain Music. Quoth the rapper: "I call my label Gold Chain Music because it represents the Golden Era," he says. "It's not necessarily about jewelry, but jewelry just symbolizes what is going on inside your mind. So Gold Chain Music represents a chain of artists from the Golden Era. Anybody that's down with me or in my circle, it means that you understand the culture and the history of the music." We're down Asia. You can check out his new video "Havin' Thangs" through the player below with thanks to BB for the information and link! Be on the lookout for "Jewelry Box Sessions" on June 26th; www.RapReviews.com will have a review up before release date with all the details.


The Source Bankrupt? Hard Times for Legendary 'Zine


The Source Magazine and its affiliate Source Entertainment Inc. have reportedly filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy. According to the Associated Press, the aforementioned parties filed for bankruptcy on April 27th, 2007 in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court in Manhattan claiming that dishonest business practices by former management has caused the magazine's advertisers to flee. Jeremy Miller, president and chief executive of Source Entertainment, said the company is struggling to recover from a cloud of negative publicity brought by former managers that misused company funds several years ago. Both Dave Mays and longtime president/rapper Raymond 'Benzino' Scott were fired after the magazine lost advertisers and newsstand sales. Former editor-in-chief Kim Osorio also successfully filed suit against The Source for sexual harassment and in November 2006 a judge would award her $8 million. This is not the first time The Source declared bankruptcy. Last July three creditors filed an involuntary Chapter 7 bankruptcy petition for Source Enterprises Inc. claiming the company owed them $562,693. Source Enterprises' bankruptcy was converted to Chapter 11 in September. One has to imagine it's only a matter of time before the magazine could disappear from newsstands completely. For more information on this developing story visit Yahoo! News, who we'd like to thank for their assistance with this article.
DipSet May Be a Done Set


This just in from www.str8hiphop.com - Jim Jones apparently told Miss Info from New York's Hot 97 radio station that he and the rest of the Diplomats crew, or the Dipset 300 as he put it are collectively "putting Cam'Ron on punishment." Jones says they are ex-communicating Cam'Ron from the crew in part due to this past week's incident in which Tru Life allegedly punched Cam'Ron outside of Club Stereo with no repercussions. Cam's camp has nonetheless denied this happened. Jim says that he blames Cam's manager Big Joe, who was with Cam at the time. And he even insinuated that Big Joe set up Cam. RapReviews.com will bring you more as the story develops.
Busta Rhymes Arrested for Drunk Driving


www.Billboard.com - news source.

Busta Rhymes Arrested For Drunk Driving

Busta Rhymes was arrested on a drunken driving charge early this morning (May 3) in New York, police said, marking the latest in a series of recent legal troubles for the rapper.

Officers stopped Rhymes at about 12:40 a.m. because the sport utility vehicle he was driving had overly tinted windows, Sgt. Mike Wysokowski said. He said officers then smelled alcohol on the rapper's breath.

Rhymes, 34, was taken into custody on a charge of driving while impaired, Wysokowski said. An arraignment was expected later today. A lawyer for Rhymes, Scott Leemon, declined to comment, saying he would address the charges in court.

Rhymes, whose real name is Trevor Smith, has had several law enforcement run-ins since last year. He is tentatively scheduled to go to trial Tuesday on two assault charges.
Missing Girls - Claudette Ortiz, Christina Milian & Charli Baltimore


Sometimes I look at the landscape of the music industry and can’t help but scratch my head and wonder why certain people haven’t made it. Some artists seem to have everything going for them but for one reason or another it just doesn’t happen for them. The list of artists that fall under this heading goes on for quite a while, but today I want to focus on three women in particular, three very fine women in particular, who I cannot for the life of me fathom why they aren’t bigger than their current standing in the industry; Claudette Ortiz, Christina Milian and Charli Baltimore.

For the full commentary check out: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2007/04/missing-girls.html
Queen Latifah to Release New "Hip Hop Project"


"The Hip Hop Project" is the compelling story of Kazi, a formerly homeless teenager who inspired a group of New York City teens to transform their life stories into powerful works of art, using hip hop as a vehicle for self-development and personal discovery.

Kazi challenges these young people to write music about real issues affecting their lives as they strive to overcome daunting obstacles to produce a collaborative album. Russell Simmons, hip hop mogul and long-time supporter of the project, partners with Bruce Willis to donate a recording studio to the Hip Hop Project. After four years of collaboration, the group produces a powerful and thought-provoking CD filled with moving personal narratives and sharp social commentary. In contrast to all of the negative attention focused on hip hop and rap music, this is a story of hope, healing
and the realization of dreams. Inspired by Kazi's work, 100% of the net profits from this film are being donated to youth organizations.

OFFICIAL SITE - www.hiphopproject.com for more info.

(Thanks to AS for the news!)
Camp Lo Set to Release New Album


Camp Lo Releasing New Album "Black Hollywood" in July

They've delivered classic tracks like "Luchini" while helping to propel long-time producer Ski to the platform he has now. Camp Lo, consisting of Sonny Cheeba and Geechi Suede, is making a return to the game with their new album "Black Hollywood," dropping July 24 on Good Hands Records, which is distributed through Traffic Entertainment.

The album is entirely produced by Ski. "I feel like I got the same energy as Uptown Saturday night on Black Hollywood," Ski said. "We're about to introduce Camp Lo to a whole new generation of listeners who are going to be blown away."

Camp Lo is excited about working with Good Hands Records. "I know we're in good hands with Good Hands," Ski said. "It's hard to find music people that have open minds to put out this kind of music. They believe in keeping good hip-hop alive."

The lead single, "Black Hollywood," will be released in June.

(Thanks to JP at Underdog for the info!)
X-Clan Joins Insane Clown Posse Tour


File this one under the "believe it or not" department - Brother J and X-Clan are linking up with the resident clown misfits of hip-hop to go on tour. Insane Clown Posse's "The Tempest" Tour will feature them, Twiztid and X-Clan and kicks off April 26, 2007 in Grand Rapids, MI. The tour will stretch through June 8th, 2007 in Fargo, ND. "This tour is a perfect proof that real hip-hop reaches all barriers. ICP and X-Clan would have been the furthest thing from anybody’s mind as a tour combination," said X-Clan front man Brother J. "I am excited to make history with one of the wildest crews in the game. I’ve seen some of the Juggalos at our previous tours, and now we are stepping into their house as a guest of ICP. We are looking forward to tearing it down." Here's a list of upcoming dates:

Thu 04/26/07 Grand Rapids, MI Orbit Room
Fri 04/27/07 Cleveland, OH Agora Theatre
Sat 04/28/07 Chicago, IL Congress Theater
Sun 04/29/07 Maplewood, MN Myth
Tue 05/01/07 West Des Moines, IA Val Air Ballroom
Wed 05/02/07 Sauget, IL Pop's
Thu 05/03/07 Wichita, KS The Cotillion
Fri 05/04/07 Denver, CO Fillmore Auditorium
Sat 05/05/07 Magna, UT The Great Saltair
Tue 05/08/07 Spokane, WA Big Easy
Wed 05/09/07 Portland, OR Roseland Theater
Fri 05/11/07 Chico, CA Senator Theater
Sat 05/12/07 Sparks, NV New Oasis
Sun 05/13/07 Las Vegas, NV Fort Cheyenne Casino
Mon 05/14/07 Anaheim, CA Grove Of Anaheim
Tue 05/15/07 Anaheim, CA Grove Of Anaheim
Wed 05/16/07 Tempe, AZ The Marquee Theatre
Fri 05/18/07 Tulsa, OK Cain's Ballroom
Sat 05/19/07 Dallas, TX Palladium Ballroom
Mon 05/21/07 Saint Petersburg, FL Jannus Landing
Tue 05/22/07 Atlanta, GA The Masquerade
Wed 05/23/07 Charlotte, NC Tremont Music Hall / The Casbah
Fri 05/25/07 Philadelphia, PA Electric Factory
Sat 05/26/07 Worcester, MA The Palladium
Sun 05/27/07 Worcester, MA The Palladium
Tue 05/29/07 Norfolk, VA The NorVa
Wed 05/30/07 Baltimore, MD Sonar
Thu 05/31/07 Buffalo, NY Town Ballroom
Sat 06/02/07 Louisville, KY Expo Five
Mon 06/04/07 Lawrence, KS Granada Theatre
Tue 06/05/07 Sioux Falls, SD Sioux Empire Fairgrounds
Fri 06/08/07 Fargo, ND Playmaker's Entertainment Complex

For more information visit www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com or www.kerosenemedia.com.

Thanks to Kerosene Media for the info!

50 Cent to Lead Mayweather to Ring Against De La Hoya


Rap artist 50 Cent (a.k.a. Curtis Jackson) will lead "Pretty Boy" Floyd Mayweather into the ring for his WBC super welterweight championship fight against "The Golden Boy" Oscar De La Hoya on May 5 at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas and live on pay-per-view.  50 Cent will be performing his new song "Straight to the Bank," for the very first time ever in front of a live audience.

Mayweather, the recognized "pound-for-pound" best fighter in the world, and 50 Cent are good friends and were recently seen together in the premiere episode of HBO's "De La Hoya/Mayweather 24/7," a four-part series currently running Sunday nights at 10:30pm on HBO, which takes an inside look at the fighters and their backgrounds.

"50 Cent is a great friend of mine and it means a lot to me to have him walk me in to the ring and debut his new song," said Mayweather. "With this fight being the Super Bowl of boxing, the fans and celebrities coming out to the fight and everyone watching around the world will see the greatest show ever."

(Thanks to RH for the info!)

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of June 20th, 2017!! Please support us at our Patreon page and we can go 100% ad free when we hit our goal. Pledge today! You can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook. This week we have EIGHT new items for you: an editorial on the Xbox One X, the Faith Evans & Notorious B.I.G. album "The King & I," Kool G Rap's "Return of the Don," a MMA Mania interview with Ryan Bader, some unfortunate news about Prodigy (Mobb Deep), a new edition of Who Sampled It Better, the top 15 Busta Rhymes videos and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for June 13, 2017!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Thursday Night AMP from the AngryMarks Podcast Network! We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive