Monday February 19, 2018
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Culture II]

Bad and boujee.

Latest News Headlines
150th MySpace "Secret Show" to Feature Gnarls Barkley


LOS ANGELES - May 15, 2008- MySpace, the world's most popular social network in partnership with Samsung, today announced its 150th installment of the hugely popular Secret Show franchise (myspace.com/secretshows), an original concert series that fuses the online and offline music experience and further connects fans and bands through intimate, "friends only" performances. This landmark 150th Secret Show will feature Grammy award winning artist and fan favorite, Gnarls Barkley (myspace.com/gnarlsbarkley) who launched their US career two years ago with a MySpace Secret Show, their first live concert in the states.

The 150th Secret Show will take place in New York City on June 8th. The exact location is still a "secret" but fans can visit myspace.com/secretshows to learn more about the upcoming show.

"Music has always been a cornerstone of the MySpace culture and our users are incredibly passionate and involved in the music community online," said Josh Brooks, Vice President of Marketing and Content for MySpace. "With Secret Shows they can truly experience the music they love so much, live, in person and for free just for being a MySpace member. We've had 150 amazing shows and I can't think of a better way to celebrate than Gnarls Barkley in New York City."

Since the launch of MySpace Secret Shows in February 2006, the series has showcased some of today's greatest artists across all music genres in cities all over the world from The Cure in Sydney, Australia to Ice Cube in Virginia Beach to Justice in Hamburg to Slayer and Mastodon in Salt Lake City. The shows are exclusive to the MySpace community and once notified that a Secret Show is happening in their area, users can print out their personal MySpace profiles displaying Secret Shows in their top friends, and that serves as their ticket to the show.

Gnarls Barkley is the Grammy winning combination of artist and producer Danger Mouse and vocalist Cee-Lo Green. The duo recently released The Odd Couple which Entertainment Weekly hailed as "impeccably produced and impressively layered an esoteric love letter." The album, featuring the singles "Run" and "Going On" is the follow up to the group's platinum-plus selling debut album St. Elsewhere which was not only critically lauded but a chart-topping worldwide blockbuster. St. Elsewhere was nominated for seven Grammy Awards with band getting trophies for Best Alternative Album and Best Urban Alternative Performance.

# # #
About MySpace
MySpace, a unit of Fox Interactive Media Inc., is the premier lifestyle portal for connecting with friends, discovering popular culture, and making a positive impact on the world. MySpace has created a connected global community by integrating web profiles, blogs, instant messaging, e-mail, music streaming, music videos, photo galleries, classified listings, events, groups, college communities, and member forums. MySpace's international network includes more than 20 localized community sites in the United States, Brazil, Canada, Latin America, Mexico, Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Australia, India, Japan, and New Zealand. Fox Interactive Media is a division of News Corp. (NYSE:NWS - News, NWS.A - News; ASX:NWS - News, NWSLV - News).

(*) Among the top 2000 domains comScore Media Metrix, March 2008. For more information on comScore Networks, please go to http://www.comscore.com.

For further information on MySpace and MySpace Secret Shows please contact:
Jim Merlis
Big Hassle for MySpace
Jim@bighassle.com
(818) 445-3136
For further information on Gnarls Barkley please contact:
Sheila Richman
Atlantic Records
sheila.richman@atlanticrecords.com
(212) 707-3063
New Videos - Gnarls Barkley, Tech N9ne, Loud.com & More


Here are the latest videos to air on the RapReviews newsfeed, starting with "Going On" by Gnarls Barkley.

Here's the Loud.com music video for their $100,000 competition entitled "The Finalists."

We've also got a new video from Shad entitled "Brother (Watching)."

Jake Lefco performs "What It Is" live at Silk City!

Last but not least is Dirtball's "Crook County Chronicles" featuring Tech N9ne. Thanks for watching!

Remy Ma Sentenced to EIGHT YEARS in Prison


Thanks to our friends at www.udubnews.com for this update - Remy Ma was sentenced to eight years in prison today in a Manhattan courtroom for her conviction on assault charges. The sentencing comes a day after Remy and fiancee Papoose made headlines when their wedding was cancelled once authorities claimed they found contraband on Papoose as he entered Rikers Island to meet his bride-to-be. Prison reps say Pap was in possession of a skeleton key and now must stay away from Rikers until November. However, according to Miss Info, a source close to Papoose says the skeleton key he was wearing was the same charm he previously wore on visits to see Remy. During sentencing Remy told the judge: "I'm not a thug. I'm not a hardcore anything, I have feelings. I'm a wife, mother, daughter, big sister." It's rumored but not confirmed that Papoose loudly protested with a number of comments as the judge handed down the sentence.
The Game - Game's Pain (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: The Game
Title: Game's Pain
Label: Geffen/Interscope Records

Previous review: The Game - Big Dreams 

"I used to think LL stood for Love L.A./He from Queens, how the fuck he put that with Cool J?/Red Kangol hat, red sweatsuit to match/Red Adidas nigga, game is back." Now that Compton's finest seems to have put feuding with 50 Cent behind him, The Game is expanding on his already broad appeal with "Game's Pain" featuring Knobody behind the boards, Keyshia Cole on the hook, and lyrics that pay tribute to New York. "The Kool Hercs, DJ Red Alerts/Before I was born they was talkin' 'bout The Game." The bass thumps won't rattle your speakers as much as "Big Dreams" did but it's a pleasant heartbeat matched with tinkling ivories that's still loud enough to ride by to in your boomin' system.

DJ King Assassin f/ Snoop Dogg - Watching U (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: DJ King Assassin f/ Snoop Dogg
Title: Watching U
Label: East Coast Digital

I'm not sure what to make of Assassin when I visit his MySpace page and immediately get blasted with the large bold title TUPAC'S ORIGINAL OG PRODUCER. It's not even that I would like proof (I've never heard of this man mentioned in the same breath as Tupac Shakur, not even once) it's that I don't know why you would need such claims when you can make a song like "Watching U." Snoop is clearly inspired by the 1970's throwback funk track and even vows to put together "Uncle Snoop's Army", while the hook's singer is in turn inspired by Snoop's "Gin & Juice" for his delivery. "Rolling down the street, watching ladies, go by watching you! Walking down the street, watching ladies, go by watching you!" I can dig it. My advice to Assassin would be to drop the Tupac references because they're totally unnecessary - this is a pure party anthem and a perfect song to cruise to with the top down.

DJ Khaled - Out Here Grindin (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: DJ Khaled
Title: Out Here Grindin
Label: Terror Squad/Koch Records

Think about any previous chart-topping DJ Khaled single and you have a chance of answering the following questions correctly. #1: Who produced the single "Out Here Grindin?" #2: Which rappers make guest appearances on the track? #3: Who can be heard singing the hook? Write down your answers on a pad of paper or open up a blank text document on your PC, then when you're ready scroll this review down to see if you guessed correctly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#1. The Runners
#2. Rick Ross, Trick Daddy, Lil Wayne, Plies, Lil' Boosie
#3. Akon 

Give yourself credit if you picked any of the five men listed in #2, since other than Lil' Boosie at least 2-3 of them seem to be on every one of Khaled's hits. In fact Boosie's role on this song is to imitate his hit song "Independent" and turn it into a hook for Khaled: "W-E-T-H-E-B-E-S-T-D-J-Kha-led." He does have a verse afterwards but given he repeats his K-Solo-esque line multiple times that's what you'll remember. Akon vows to split "nuttin wit nobody" but considering Khaled would be nothing without his guests and producers he better be splitting that cheddar seven ways. In fact my only real knock on this song is Khaled makes hits simply by being the right guy in the right place who knows the right people, making him the 2008 Puff Daddy without Biggie to coach him as an MC.
Collie Buddz - Lost Mamacita in Love (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Collie Buddz
Title: Lost Mamacita in Love (DJ Topspin Remix)
Label: Sony BMG

In theory I ought to be sick of Collie Buddz by now since I've heard "S.O.S." every single week on ECW ever since the wrestler Kofi Kingston made his debut. "Lost Mamacita in Love" rocks though, and I mean that quite literally, since the song seems to be a fusion of smashing guitars and Jamaican riddims. I'm not sure if this is the result of DJ Topspin's remix since I haven't heard the original; in fact to be perfectly honest I'm not sure if this is a remix of "Mamacita" from his self-titled debut album last year or not. What I am sure of is the more I hear of Collie Buddz the more he grows on me, and I find myself wanting to bust a move to his groove. "Coulda dance all night if ya want ohh! Till de mornin light/Love how you feel in front a me so... gyal, let me hold ya tight!" Bogle in de dancehall, bogle in de party.
Alfamega f/ Busta Rhymes - Head Banger (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Alfamega f/ Busta Rhymes
Title: Head Banger
Label: Grand Hustle Records

Some parts of Alfamega's bio seem exaggerated, to put it mildly, such as the notion he wrote 1700 SONGS while locked up in prison. Nevertheless it's clear that T.I. felt the rapper had enough promise to not only sign him to his own imprint but to break off some cheddar in the recording budget and team him with hip-hop superstar Busta Rhymes. The pairing seems to have inspired Alfamega as the low voiced thick-tongued Atlantian speed raps like Busta with success: "The Grand Hustle muscle hit hard as a missile/Rip through your chest plate tear out your bone gristle/If the K don't hit'cha then Busta gon' get'cha/And any fuck nigga that wanna die wit'cha." With a catchy chorus and speedy swagger reminiscent of Busta's "Break Ya Neck," the only downside of "Head Banger" is that it's a reminder that BR's new album is long overdue.
Super King Armor and his Werewolf Lullabies


Super King Armor is everywhere. No, really, I swear I see him at every show and event in New York City. Recently he sent me his EP, The Werewolf Lullabies, and I suddenly realized why he is everywhere, it’s because he’s that freakin talented. A Queens native, Super King Armor grew up in the area where Francis Lewis Blvd. and Merrick Blvd. turns into 122nd Ave., a place he describes as “the center piece for all the surrounding neighborhoods.” This week I paid him a visit to find out more about his work, how he became “Super,” and the extreme differences between the personality he displays in his everyday life and the one he displays on record.

Read the full interview at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/05/artist-of-week-super-king-armor.html
Dirtball's New Video (SubNoize Press Release)


This update sent to us courtesy of James at Kerosene Media.

For Immediate Release:

Dirtball Posts "Mushroom Cloud" Video Online

***
Crook County Chronicles Volume 6 Online Featuring Tech N9ne
The Dirtball has posted his new video for the track "Mushroom Cloud"from his new album "Crook County" online at online at www.MySpace.com/TheDirtball .

"The Mushroom Cloud video was by far the most fun to film for me of any of the videos I have done thus far in my career," says Dirtball. "It dates back to numerous trips in my life and the environments in which I tripped. The crew was talented as hell and the direction was on point. Who would have thought you could re-enact a psychadelic mushroom experience like that. We did, and this timeless video will hopefully serve as one of the best replications of it around. Even some of my fellow Northwest mushroom-heads agree that the video puts you there in the moment of the madness."

Dirtball's upcoming new album, "Crook County",hits stores May 13th, 2008 through Suburban Noize Records. The album is a colorful blend of rapid fire hip-hop and rock infused beats that could easily find a home with hip-hop fans of Tech N9ne or the rap-rock fusion of Linkin Park.

Dirtball has also launched the sixth installment of his "Crook County Chronicles" video series featuring Tech N9ne online at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pz55Qk8x-6I. The video features behind the scenes footage from his recent sold-out performance opening for Kottonmouth Kings at the Grove in Anaheim, CA.

Dirtball will embark on the Jagermeister Born For Battle Tour starting May 9th, 2008 in Tempe, AZ alongside Big B, Potluck and DGAF.

JAGERMEISTER PRESENTS BORN FOR BATTLE TOUR
Featuring Big B, The Dirtball, Potluck and DGAF:

May 09 Tempe, AZ @ The Clubhouse
May 10 Farmington, NM @ Gators
May 11 Denver, CO @ The Marquis Theatre
May 14 St. Paul, MN @ Station 4
May 15 Omaha @ The Waiting Room
May 16 Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
May 17 Jackson, MI @ The Rocket
May 18 Buffalo, NY @ Club W
May 20 Virginia Beach, VA @The Peppermint Beach Club
May 21 Towson, MD @ Recher Theatre
May 22 Cleveland, OH @ Peabody's Down Under
May 23 Columbus, OH @ Al Rosa Villa
May 25 Kansas City, MO @ The Record Bar
May 27 Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
May 28 Ft. Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
May 29 Salt Lake City, UT @ Avalon Theater
May 30 Boise, ID @ The Big Easy Concert House
May 31 Seattle, WA @ El Corazon
Jun 01 Portland, OR @ Roseland Grill
Jun 03 Orangevale, CA @ The Boardwalk
Jun 04 San Francisco, CA @ Slim's

###

* www.MySpace.com/TheDirtball *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for Feb. 13th, 2018!! Please subcribe to this channel on YouTube to help support the website. This week we have TEN new items total for you to enjoy: a Jarren Benton interview, an editorial on the Olympics, Migos' "Culture II" (a featured review), MMA Mania interviews with Heather Hardy, and Matt Mitrione, the top 10 AVGN videos part 3, Emanuel Wallace's (W)rap Up for Feb. 6, 2018, WSIB #20 "Expo '83" Results, Z-Ro's "Codeine" (another featured review) and Z-Ro's "No Love Boulevard!" Incidentally you can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook to support the site.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Professional review writing services est. 1998. College students can now devote more time to rapping while an academic writing service 123writings.com works on their college papers. Write my paper 123 provides excellent help writing papers. Do not hesitate to order. In addition this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Impact Implosion from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive