Tuesday April 24, 2018

O.C. & A.G. Team Up to Release Long-Awaited New Album
Posted by Steve Juon at Tuesday, November 3rd, 2009 at 6:00PM :: Email this article :: Print this article

From Tonia at The Orchard:


New collabo LP, OASIS, featuring production from fellow D.I.T.C. members Show & Lord Finesse, set to drop Nov. 24th on  Nature Sounds / D.I.T.C. Records

Release Date:

November 24th, 2009

Legendary New York MCs, O.C. & A.G. return from a brief hiatus to quench the thirst of hip-hop fans worldwide.  The album, refreshingly titled, OASIS, is executive produced by Show (of Showbiz & AG fame) and features stellar production by Show, Lord Finesse, E. Blaze, and Statik Selektah.  O & A, longtime friends and crewmates, first collaborated together on the classic track “Weed & Drinks” and ever since then talked about doing a whole album together.

“It was organic cause the chemistry was also so crazy,” explains OC. “The whole process was really pure and from the heart and hip-hop fans are gonna love it!” says AG about their new album.

Born in Brooklyn and raised in Queens, O.C grew up across the street from another lyrical legend, Pharoahe Monch of Organized Konfusion.  That neighbor spawned O.C’s recording debut, which was in 1991 on Organized Konfusion’s classic “Fudge Pudge.”  O.C. was tour when he first ran into D.I.T.C. members Lord Finesse & Buckwild.  After the tour, Buckwild and O.C worked on a demo that would eventually become the Wild Pitch Records classic, Word…Life which contained the classic lyrical assault Time’s Up, later featured on Eminem’s biopic, 8 Mile.

Andre the Giant, better known as A.G., began his rise to acclaim the day Lord Finesse showed up at his school to challenge any lyricist that dared to battle. AG stood up to Finesse line for line and Finesse couldn’t help but take notice of the hungry rapper.  While in the studio contributing to Lord Finesse’s upcoming LP Funky Technician,  AG met Showbiz for the first time. The bond was instant and the newly formed duo began their career by selling the self-financed Soul Clap EP out of the trunk of Show’s Acura Legend coupe. Their first LP, “Runaway Slave", put the spotlight back on the Bronx and heavily influenced the whole modern East Coast style of rap. Their sound was a combination of mobster influence, thoughtful lyricism, and amazing production that became synonomous with the D.I.T.C crew.

With a combined 10+ albums under their belt, it’s amazing how the guys stay relevant after all these years. A.G. explains, “For me, it’s the passion, when you’re passionate about something, you stay inspired, through the good and the bad”. When speaking about the significance of the album title OASIS, O.C adds, “It’s 2009 and both AG and myself have something new and fresh to offer. Fans have been searching for something like this for a long time and finally here it is.”

Tracklist w/ producers:

1. Oasis – Produced by Statik Selektah
2. Keep It Going - Produced by E Blaze
3. Give It Back - Produced by Lord Finesse
4. Alpha Males - Produced by Lord Finesse
5. Young With Style - Produced by Show and KC
6. Every Day Life - Produced by E Blaze
7. Think About It - Produced by E Blaze
8. Against The Wall - Produced by E Blaze
9. Put It In The Box - Produced by E Blaze
10. Boom Bap - Produced by Show
11. Reality Is - Produced by E Blaze
12. Contagious - Produced by E Blaze
13. Supreme Squad - Produced by Show
14. God's Gift - Produced by E Blaze
15. Get Away - Produced by Lord Finesse
16. 2 For The Money – Produced by Show
17. Pain – Produced by E Blaze

Read 816 times:: Subscribe to News by Email

© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive