Monday June 18, 2018

Free Music Friday: The Brakes Edition
Posted by eTMh at Friday, November 20th, 2009 at 8:30PM :: Email this article :: Print this article

A.K.I.R. :: The Secret

[Always Keep It Real, A.K.I.R. for short, has been making his marks major in hip-hop lately. Google his name and you'll see that his name is all over rap sites and this brand new DJ Static/Statik Selectah-helmed mixtape proves why you should check him out if you haven't yet. Don't let the title fool ya, this is the Secret you should holla to e'rrybody!]

Part 1:
1. The Secret (Inrtro)
2. A.K.I.R. Blog (Mayl 09)
3.Apocalypse (Remix) Ft. Immortal Technique & Pharoahe Monch
4. Epiphany
5. I Love My Life Ft. Bashir
6. Beatutiful Undressed
7. Far From Ordinary Ft. Ze & AR.chang.L
8. A.K.I.R. Blog (April 09)
9. Food 4 Thought...
10. Clock Ft. Shabaam Sahdeeq
11. BirthRite Ft. CF

Part 2:
12. Newport Sticks
13. Again Ft. John Legend (Unofficial Remix)
14. I Been Searchin
15. Diarreah
16. Lets Work It Out Ft. J-Ro (The Alkaholiks)
17. East Coast Collasal Ft. Ali Vegas, ENess & Spit Supreme
18. U Know
19. Blow In The Wind
20. Black Market Ft. Ras Fiyah
21. Recycle Ft. Mojo
22. The Secret (Outro)

Dominique Larue :: End of Regulation

[This one is especially dedicated to all those who complain that there aren't any real femcees out there anymore. Well, savor the last usability of your MC Lyte cassette no more! Dominique Larue comes with it as she brings true raps that are beyond the average titty-n-kitty raps. A diverse list of producers and rappers, including Wordsmith, who was interviewed on the Hip Hop Shop last week, co-signs her as they appear on the mixtape as well.]

01.) Epic Intro (Produced By Antman Wonder)
02.) The Best (Produced By Boonie Mayfield)
03.) Fall '96 (Produced By Ghost Rydah)
04.) Kill That Sh*t (Produced By Antman Wonder)
05.) Indian Movements (feat. Junclassic) (Produced By drielb)
06.) Where Are All The Female Emcees (Produced By Tye Hill)
07.) I'm In Love (Produced By Rashid Hadee)
08.) Take It 'Uh Over (feat. Prefyx) (Produced By Antman Wonder)
09.) Off It (Produced By Focus)
10.) Pose (Produced By Antman Wonder)
11.) Nothin To Me (feat. Wordsmith & D/Will) (Produced By Severe)
12.) He Got Me Like (Produced By T.Dragonette)
13.) Dope Sh!t (Produced By drielb)
14.) Longtime (feat. Cyrano Sinatra) (Produced By D/Will)
15.) Sassy (Produced By Rashid Hadee)
16.) You're A Star (Produced By Antman Wonder)
17.) We Keep It Movin' (feat. Savant) (Produced By drielb)

Hawdwerk & Jansport J :: High Power Moves


[Honestly, I don't know too much about the rap duo known as Hawdwerk & Jansport J. However, their music will be all the introduction you need for these two. Dope beats and rhymes that are on time are included here. Check it!]

1. Live From The 626
2. Rap Hustle 
3. Wow!
4. That Spliff feat. Poetik Force & El Prez 
5. All I Need 
6. She Smiles feat. J7 
7. Ride feat. The God Sincere
8. Throw The Bombs
9. Gremlins
10. High Power Moves
11. Believers feat. Prophit & Avi The Most Ill 
12. Hearin' Shit
13. Fly As Me feat. No One (Noni Spitz & Dae One) & Chevy Jones
14. Computer 
15. Change Your Mind
16. Season Finale


Although this mixtape is legally for free, they also have it for sale here:

No One (Noni Spitz and Dae One) :: The Pre-Substance

[Two young West Coast emcees, Noni Spitz and Dae One, decided to link into a group known as No One. As you might've guess, "The Pre-Substance" is the prequel mixtape to an upcoming 2010 album known as "The Substance." This mixtape includes many productions by Black Milk, J Dilla, Willie Brown, THX and others. Defintely something to check out!]
2. LIQUID SOUND feat. Shy But Flyy 
3. TURN'T UP feat. Geo Brown 
7. KEEP ON feat. Kes 
9. HOW DOES IT FEEL feat. Chevy Jones 
11. OUTSIDE WITH IT feat Balance 
12. OUTSTANDING feat Killa Krock & Alori Joh 
13. BE CAREFUL feat Mitchy Slick & Chevy Jones
14. WE DO IT 
15. ANYWAY feat Marleik
17. MICROPHONE MURDER feat Taje, Ace & Indef


Pill :: 4075 The Refill

[If anyone who thought that FMF would only include 'underground alternative backpack' rap is out they minds! Good music is good music and a dose of Pill to your hard drive won't turn it to a wackness overdose. If that wasn't enough, Pill was nice enough to give the DJ or non-DJ version of the same mixtape. Check it out!]

1. Intro
2. Hear Somebody Comin' (prod. Tha Bizness)
3. Pistol Packer
4. Trap Goin' Ham (prod. Grade A Muzik)
5. OK Dennn (prod. Grade A Muzik)
6. Pain in my Eyes (prod. Ced L Young)
7. Glass (prod. The Beat Chefs)
8. Run Up to Me (ft. Freddie Gibbs and prod. Ced L Young)
9. Pill Speaks
10. Gynastics
11. Dropped a Mick on Me
12. Afro-Sheen
13. Fossils (Tribute to B.I.G.)
14. Wreckage (Tribute to 'Pac)
15. Music (prod. Mick Vegas)
16. Lil' Shawty Dem (I Know Holmes)
17. Super Cool (prod. Ced L Young)
18. You're Nasty (prod. Ced L Young)
19. All I Can Say (prod. Ced L Young)
20. Let Me In (prod. Ced L Young)
21. Coastin' (prod. Mick Vegas)
22. Lil' Shawty Dem Pt. II (I Know Holmes)
23. Trap Jumpin'
24. We Outside (ft. Alley Boy and prod. Grade A Muzik)
25. Born With a Plug ft. Zay Cash (prod. J Plymp)
26. We Don't Even Know (prod. Illfonics)
27. Outro

DJ version:
No DJ Version:

Strange Fruit Project: M.A.S.K. (Making Art Sound Kool) EP


[In short, if you're a fan of Strange Fruit Project, this one is a must have. If you never heard of the Strange Fruit Project, then this will tell you why you should be the former.] 

1. M.A.S.K. Intro (prod by S1 & Caleb)
2. Crash feat. Thesis (prod by Picnic)
3. Home feat. Tre of Mojoe (prod by 9th Wonder)
4. Sepia Tone (prod by S1)
5. Day by Day (eat Supastition (prod by S1)
6. Fresh for Life feat Thesis (prod by S1 & Caleb)
7. Sunrays (prod by S1)
8. Why Does Summer Have to End (prod by S1 & Caleb)

Some of y'all are about to get ready for your Thanksgiving break this week. If not, these free music FMF got for ya will still be here. Check these out!

That's it for the "The Brakes Edition" of "Free Music Fridays." Check these out and let ya man know if they was fyah! If you have any free music you would like to share with the world, please e-mail me at If you're an artist with your free mixtape/album shown on this page and you want to send me a link re-up, corrections, and/or questions, e-mail me at, as well. Thanks for reading and enjoy y'all! Two fangas, one love....

Read 1,857 times:: Subscribe to News by Email

©, a Flash Web Design Exclusive