Thursday April 19, 2018

PR: El Da Sensei & The Returners Announce New Album
Posted by Steve Juon at Monday, September 13th, 2010 at 2:45PM :: Email this article :: Print this article

From Melanie J Cornish:

El Da Sensei & The Returners Announce New Album

Revered lyricist and New Jersey Hip-Hop veteran, El Da Sensei, has aligned himself once again with Polish production team, The Returners for the second chapter of their Global Takeover series, GT2: Nu World. The fifteen-track opus will be available on October 12th through New York label Coalmine Records.

After the unanimously positive response to the 2008 project Global Takeover: The Beginning, the trio consisting of founding member of the Artifacts El Da Sensei, Lil and DJ Chwial felt a continuation of the series was inevitable. Showcasing the talents of this musical combination from a lyrical and production standpoint, GT2: Nu World allows us to reminisce over the fundamentals of true Hip-Hop sounds, while displaying the growth of each component individually.

The lead off single from the album ‘Knowledge be the Key’, featured Rakaa Irisciene of Dilated Peoples and has received a positive response from tastemakers, DJs and online. The songs dirty loops, scratch hooks and abundance of witty metaphors indicating what the remainder of the album holds in store.

"In today's climate of music, GT2 is a very important album that lives up to the title by demonstrating how globalized hip-hop has become as a culture. The Returners and I made this record for all those who wish to be taken away for an hour and just reconnect with the vibe of what good hip-hop is all about,” explains El Da Sensei.

“We worked very hard molding a sound and seeking out the most suitable features to please our fans and really make this album stand out from the first Global Takeover...and I think we succeeded at that,’ he concludes.

GT2: Nu World sees a supporting cast made up of Treach (Naughty By Nature), Rakaa Irisciene (Dilated Peoples), Sean Price, Akrobatik, Bekay, John Robinson, Reks & Tiye Phoenix join El Da Sensei and the Returners on this ground breaking project.

With the bulk of production being handled by Lil and DJ Chwial, Australian producer M-Phazes takes on the role of guest producer. His remix of the song ‘2 the Death’, which is accompanied with the unique vocals of Brooklyn songstress Mela Machinko following the consistent commitment to Hip-Hop ever present throughout the album.

Hailed as being as ‘progressive as it is classic’ the release of GT2: Nu World will coincide with an extensive tour in the US and Europe. In addition to the various global dates, El Da Sensei will be carrying out an intensive radio campaign nationwide which will help convey the message they are delivering with GT2: Nu World.


   1. We R Back
   2. Goin To War feat. Treach
   3. On the Street feat. Sean Price and Bekay
   4. Nu World
   5. Blow Up
   6. 2 the Death
   7. Knowledge be the Key feat. Rakka Iriscienc
   8. Pain
   9. Toxic Words feat. John Robinson & Reks
  10. Live Noize feat. Akrobatik
  11. Good Time
  12. Right Move [No Mistakes] feat. Tiye Phoenix
  13. They Don’t Know
  14. Can’t You See?
  15. 2 the Death feat. Mela Machinko (M-Phazes Remix)

Read 823 times:: Subscribe to News by Email

©, a Flash Web Design Exclusive