Friday June 22, 2018

PR: Hip Hop Pirates - Captain Dan & The Scurvy Crew
Posted by Steve Juon at Tuesday, June 7th, 2011 at 4:00PM :: Email this article :: Print this article

From Big Machine Media:

PR: Hip Hop Pirates - Captain Dan & The Scurvy Crew


Would The Real Captain Dan Please Stand Up?

Hip Hop Pirates- Captain Dan & The Scurvy Crew Release Double Single  "Would The Real Jack Sparrow Please Stand Up?" & "Rum & Juice" TODAY For FREE Download On Facebook

New York, NY – (June 6, 2011) – Hailing from the eastern seaboard, Captain Dan & the Scurvy Crew, the world's first rapping pirate troupe, featuring the rap skills of Captain Dan Dolan, Brad "Sea Dawg" Podray, Scott Free, DJ SyKo, ZealouS1, MC Treasure, and Admiralty are no strangers to success on the high seas or by land. Melding the sound of Top 40 Hip Hop with the classical pirates of 1630-1720 may seem a little out of left field at first, but Captain Dan & The Scurvy Crew manage to produce what is today's gold standard in pirate music.

Since launching the video for "Black Beard's Treasure", a single from the group's album -Authentic Pirate Hip-Hop, the clip has received over 310,000 views and has quickly become a favorite for pirate lovers worldwide.

Captain Dan and crew are thrilled to see the fruits of their labor "Rum & Juice" and "Would The Real Jack Sparrow Please Stand Up?" released today. The witty, swashbuckling parodies are available for FREE download here NOW: .

Additionally, the group has posted a brand new animated video created by animator Matt Beaudoin for their original song "Broadside". "Arrrr, the video captures the spirit of our song bringing it to life. Ye won't be disappointed!" says Captain Dan. The single "Broadside" is set to be released on the groups forthcoming full length album titled- Divide The Plunder: The Best of Pirate Rap (due out on iTunes July 19). See the "Broadside" video here: .

Captain Dan adds, "I be excited about the new upcoming album- Divide The Plunder. For years fans have loved me swashbuckling rap technique, but never before have they had all me best works on one fine release. Avast, Divide the Plunder will have something for old and new Captain Dan fans alike- we are releasing new unreleased tracks as well as remixes and live tracks! We are bringin' back the fan favorites like "Flintlock Glock", "Mutiny", "Sea Monsters", "Yo Ho Ho", "From the Seas to the Streets", and MORE!

At this time there are no other competing pirate rappers that can even come close to the Captain's genius. Using a unique slang, attitude, and lyrical style (as well as traditional Hip-Hop beats and melodies) Captain Dan & Crew stake a claim to bring something fresh and vibrant to Rap Music. The Scurvy Crew tackle all staples for rap culture with a slight twist- highlighting the similarities and appreciation rappers and pirates share for the love of bling on their chains, guns, booty, and oh yeah, some even walk with a limp!
Tracklist for Divide The Plunder: The Best of Pirate Rap (Due out July 19, 2011)
1) 7 Seas
2) Yo Ho Ho
3) From the Seas to the Streets
4) Broadside
5) Divide the Plunder (New Original)
6) Mutiny (Radio Edit)
7) Sea Monsters
8) Ninja Hater (New Original)
9) Pirates Code
10) Flintlock Glock (Radio Edit)
11) Broadside: Salty Sea Dawg Mix
12) Sea Monsters: Nautical Mobsters Mix
13) Live @ Nerdapalooza: Diggin For Gold
14) Live @ Nerdapalooza: Black Beard's Treasure
15) Live @ Nerdapalooza: It's All About The Booty

Read 907 times:: Subscribe to News by Email

©, a Flash Web Design Exclusive